We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Group Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bay Leaf Restaurant

The Bay Leaf Restaurant
Horkan's Lifestyle & Garden Centre | Turlough, Castlebar 1111111, Ireland
353949289743
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 38 Restaurants in Castlebar
Price range: $7 - $17
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Western Ireland, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Group Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

great menu food fantastic great space to accomadate buggies and children nothing too much trouble!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012 via mobile

We went for Sunday lunch & I was very disappointed. The beef was the fattiest beef I have ever been served & the broccoli was hard! Although the portion was massive I think it was just to cover up that I didn't get one slice of proper beef.

I got a half portion dinner for my 3.5 yr old & was charged €8.95 which I thought was ridculous.

Dessert of pavola was very nice but overall we were very disappointed.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul O, Public Relations Manager at The Bay Leaf Restaurant, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Hello Caoimdee,

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor. We were also disappointed to see you didn’t have an enjoyable dining experience with us on your recent visit. The matters that you raised have been addressed and we would be delighted to say “hello” to you, should you wish to stop by and eat with us again. We are certain that your next experience will be “pavlovaesque.”

Paul O Neill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bay Leaf Restaurant also viewed

Castlebar, County Mayo
Castlebar, County Mayo
 
Castlebar, County Mayo
Castlebar, County Mayo
 

Been to The Bay Leaf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bay Leaf Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.