We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Lunch in a long time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rua Deli

Rua Deli
Spencer Street, Castlebar, Ireland
094 9286072
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 39 Restaurants in Castlebar
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Lunch in a long time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Myself and a couple of friends had lunch in "Rua" on Wednesday on the advice of a Mayo friend. We were very glad we took the time to find this restaurant and deli. Their take on a mezze plate was delicious and their "sausage" panini very tasty. The service was very good, staff so friendly and helpful. Will definitely return and will pass on the good word.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    13
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great food in the cafe and great stuff to take home in the deli love the cake bites and salad. Can't believe that so much is made inhouse. The staff know their products too, they answered all my questions. Will be back for a lot more soon

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A chance stop for lunch but what a find.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We had an unplanned stop in Castlebar and decided to look for somewhere to have lunch. We could not have found a better place for lunch. The restaurant is situated on the upper floor above the deli and was very busy but we got a table and placed our orders. The staff were very attentive and the menu was ideal for us and very good value for money. The decor was very bright, fresh and airy.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great deli, great cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I have eaten here many times and my family all love it. I has the best deli I can find in Co Mayo and the cafe upstairs has great food and good service. I am very fussy about my food and give Rua top marks. Please open a branch in Westport, they have nothing that comes close to this level of quality! The only area that I think they can improve on is their monthly evening dinner, it is on the expensive side and has 3 courses. It would be better to offer also two courses and open fortnightly if possible, perhaps even weekly during the Summer.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar, Mayo, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“excellent breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

good food, very good service, not the cheapest, but great value when you consider the quality of ingredients, skill and service.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rua Deli also viewed

Castlebar, County Mayo
Castlebar, County Mayo
 
Castlebar, County Mayo
Castlebar, County Mayo
 

Been to Rua Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rua Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.