We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar One

Bar One
Rush Street, Castlebar, Ireland
094 903 4800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 39 Restaurants in Castlebar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $25
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Best Gastro Pub Mayo 2011, 2012 and 2013 & Best Gastro Pub Connaught 2012 at the RAI awards.Awarded Best Chef Connaught by Good Eating Guide 2013.
Claremorris, Mayo, Ireland
2 reviews
“food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

the food just melted in your mouth and it was great value the place was clean and spotless and even though there is a bar you could still talk

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    52
    16
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
cbar
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great range of food on menu, something for everyone - pizza's, burgers, pasta's, fish, salads. Great service, fantastic atmosphere and decently priced.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Outstanding! Informal atmosphere with restaurant quality food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

After finding muself in Castlebar for the night, I stumbled upon Bar One while looking for somewhere to have an early, inexpensive bite to eat. I had previously eaten in The Voyage Restaurant (also very good) but they were booked out. The Olive Tree is only open during the day and the restaurant in The Harliquin seemed a bit cold and impersonal.

I can really see how this place has been awarded the best gastro pub in Connaught. It's cosy, lively, friendly and generally just somewhere you want to stay for a while. Staff were great and you can tell immediately it's a nice place to work and people get on. It was full at 19:00 but I managed to get a table fairly quickly. I had the tasty (but slightly small) tiger prawns with mango sauce (€7) followed by the best hake I've ever had (with caramelised onions in a Thai coconut sauce - €14) and strawberry cheesecake and white chocolate ice cream. They have a decent wine menu with 500ml carafe options and the French Sauv Blanc was great.

All in all a really good place to eat and best atmosphere in town I'd reckon. Don't let the fact that it's a bar put you off eating here. It's definitely not a pub grub affair.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best place to eat in castlebar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Staff are lovely and helpful. Service is quick and efficient. The place itself is relaxed with lovely decor. I go for lunch here to meet friends when Im home and there is never much debate about where to eat! The Caesar salad is gorgeous and the spicy wrap is also a popular choice. Highly recommend this place!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar, Ireland
1 review
“wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

i ate out in castlebar on Friday. i am a local that returns to bar one on a weekly basis.The decor is nice and staff extremely friendly. On this visit it was myself and my wife. We both ordered the slow cooked pork belly, its was unbelievable. the meat was melt in your mouth and the crackling on the top was to die for.I have never wrote on this before but i had to this time out. i would highly recommend this establishment.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar One also viewed

Castlebar, County Mayo
Castlebar, County Mayo
 
Castlebar, County Mayo
Castlebar, County Mayo
 

Been to Bar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.