We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely church and chapel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Shrine of Our Lady of Knock

National Shrine of Our Lady of Knock
N17 Galway rd. | Knock, Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 169 things to do in County Mayo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Lovely church and chapel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The Blessed Virgin Mary appeared at the church gable in 1879. A million pilgrims and invalids come to the Shrine annually. I know my grandmother (in the early 1900's) and her family would travel to the Shrine yearly. Pope John Paul visited in 1979. Stations of the Cross is said daily, and there are gifts shops to buy bottles to take home the holy water that comes out of the stone walls. Wonderful spiritual experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    18
    5
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Normal, Illinois
Top Contributor
397 reviews 397 reviews
199 attraction reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“good for pilgrimage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Lesser known shrine of the Blessed Virgin Mary along the line of Lady of Lourdes (France) and Fatima (Portugal) where Mary mother had made apparition. This one witnessed by many people telling the same story even years after the fact.
Quite modern with nice chapel and church.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Do not miss this amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Knock was put on the map by the shrine and events that lead to its birth. A visit is a must the place is just awesome and a very special place to come to.
If you come by car don't try to park in the street outside as just past the shrine on the right is a very large car park with toilets.
Everyone who come to Knock will have a different experience but i cannot imagine anyone saying anything other than I'm glad I came.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north of ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Knock Shrine........Shops......Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Myself and 3 ladies went on pilgrimage to Knock Shrine for the mini Vigil on the First Friday
in June, and spent the Sunday there also. We have been going to this holy shrine for the past 20 years, and really enjoy the spiritual experience. We particularly enjoy the PRAYER Guidance sessions given by the Nuns. The Mass in the Basilica and Blessing of the sick, and the procession, and rosary are all very beautiful.

However, I was very annoyed with the shops, and their greed.
My friend spent 60 euro in a shop, and as she is from Northern Ireland, she had only Sterling
with her. Shop refused to allow her anything on the Sterling, despite the fact that is worth
15 to 20% more than the euro. Next year we will go to the Shrine, BUT we will NOT go to the shops, on principal.

Then we went into a cafe. My friend asked for a ham sandwich and cup of tea, and I had cup of tea only. The Ham sandwich consisted of 2 slices of pan bread and half a slice of ham.
So for 2 cups of tea and one "HAM SANDWICH" they charged euro 8.45.
It was the worst sandwich ever, and overpriced. You would get a dinner for that money.
Then we went to look for the toilet. It was out a back door and down a yard.
Enough said, we walked out. You have been warned..................

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“A serene shrine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We visited as part of our tour of all Ireland. Arrived around 11.45am on a Monday. Plenty of free parking and toilets handily in the car park. We went to the basilica first, where 30cents gets you a very useful guide to the shrine, fairly essential. The usual devotions are all available and well done, but the casual visitor or non-catholic would also be able to enjoy the story of Knock without any pressure at all to join in. The cafe sells excellent fare at very competitive prices and caters for breakfasts, lunch, cream teas and dinners. Extensive grounds where it is possible to take in the atmosphere in peace.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Shrine of Our Lady of Knock also viewed

Claremorris, County Mayo
 
County Mayo, Province of Connacht
 

Been to National Shrine of Our Lady of Knock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Shrine of Our Lady of Knock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.