We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bru

Bru
Haymarket | Dyer Street, Drogheda, Ireland
+353 41 987 2784
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 88 Restaurants in Drogheda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $39
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Family Fare, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Doing business, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Came here for a birthday meal. We went for the Bru 22 menu which is really good value considering the good quality of food in which the restaurant use. Chicken wings are to die for! The surf and turf was delicious, cooked to my liking which came with garlic butter and onion rings on the side. After we had paid the bill the waitress brought over a two free drink coupons to use in the upstairs bar, this was very much appreciated and a nice touch. Cocktails are good quality. Will be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    61
    36
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dundalk, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sunday evening let down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My self and my fiancée had a meal in here recently and we both left slightly disappointed. the fish cakes for starters were very small, two pieces about half the size of a gold ball. The chicken wings however were nice, but nothing about them that you couldn't get anywhere else. We both had the Rib eye steak, which was served with onion rings, and a choice of sauce and side dish. The Onion rings seemed to be frozen, and the pepper sauce was very runny with no real taste. The Steak wasn't seasoned before cooking and went cold rather quick.We seemed to be waiting a rather long time for desert (chocolate brownie) which also wasn't anything spectacular. vanilla ice-cream, a small piece of brownie and topped with lashings of whipped cream. I wouldn't recommend Bru, as there are nicer restaurants in the town.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mid-week lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We'd read about Bru in a Drogheda tourism guide and decided to have lunch there in a recent visit. First impressions are very good - modern decor and layout and plenty of space between tables. The food doesn't disappoint either! I had a chicken and sweet chili wrap and my husband had the Thai vegetarian curry. We both really enjoyed our meals and afterwards we shared a warm scone with jam and cream - delicious!! Portions were just right and overall excellent value for money. The service from the staff could not be faulted. We'll be back again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“birthday treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Very tasty food. The staff are very friendly and fast at doing their job. Plates taken away soon after finishing. Great prices and a lovely menu too.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a gem !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Found this restaurant by fluke we were parked in the multi story carpark and were making our way down to the street when we came across this place, so we decided to try it. It was fantastic, great selection of lovely food at a really great price. I could not believe it when I saw the bill. Great job by all means.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bru also viewed

 

Been to Bru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.