We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Clothes and raincoats a must” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bru na Boinne

Bru na Boinne
Drogheda, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 attractions in Drogheda
Type: Ancient Ruins
Attraction Details
Sunbury, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Warm Clothes and raincoats a must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is an incredibly old site. We were impressed.
On a wet and miserable day there was no problem with getting a ticket. Believe me you need warm clothes and raincoats as most of the tour is outdoors.
When you do go into the passage of the tomb/temple it is very tight - not for claustrophobes!
The guide was informative although a little difficult to hear over the noise of the rain on umbrellas and the wind!
We visited in Sept and (surprise) it was wet in Ireland. It is a fair walk from the car park to the visitor centre and then you have to ride one of their busses to the site itself.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    42
    12
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“can't miss a UNESCO site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Friends of mine said this was the highlight of their Ireland trip. And since it's a UNESCO World Heritage Site (and I kind of "collect" those sites), I had it on my itinerary to visit. I guess I wasn't as amazed as my friend. But we did have a very good tour guide. I'm glad I'd read more about it before coming, to understand its significance even more. I actually was hoping to see Loughcrew Cairns as an even more remote, extensive passage tomb, but that never happened, so I'm glad I saw Newgrange.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Scenic and amazing history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

A wonderful day excursion from Dublin. You can get a tour ticket from the visitor's bureau in Dublin. It's a quick ride out to the site that was settled in 4 B.C. The temple was built in 1 B.C. Anyway, it's amazing. And there's a nice cafe at the center while you wait for your tour guide.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“This place is a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Steeped in battle of the Boyne history and only a few miles from the most impressive archaelogical site in the world. Newgrange.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The No 1 Irish destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Amazing what these guys did, way back then, before computer, cranes and machines. This burial chamber was built by hand and it's still standing. The sun does light up the chamber on the shortest day of the year - incredible

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bru na Boinne also viewed

Drogheda, County Louth
 
Donore, County Meath
Drogheda, County Louth
 

Been to Bru na Boinne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bru na Boinne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bru na Boinne to your Saves list