We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful decor, lovely staff, nice food, great value, some nightclub noise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westcourt Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Westcourt Hotel to your Saves list
Westcourt Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Street, Drogheda 041, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful decor, lovely staff, nice food, great value, some nightclub noise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

My group availed of an offer of €65 for bed, breakfast and dinner. My room was booked after the rest of the group, but there was no question of a more expensive price for the single room I was allocated: I only paid €65 like everyone else.

The hotel is beautifully decorated, whether in the restaurant, the bedroom, or the bathrooms. Bed was very comfy and the bathroom was very spacious with a combo bath/shower.

The dinner was plentiful and delicious. The set menu was a far cry from tired, dry hotel carvery, offering a wide variety of delicious starters and mains... All dishes were tried by someone or other at our table and all were enjoyed. (I had ribs to start and thai red curry for the main; both were gorgeous.) We were so stuffed that only a couple of us went for dessert, and in a group mostly comprised of women that's an impressive achievement!

Breakfast offered a few different hot food options (e.g. full Irish, scrambled eggs and salmon, etc.) and the standard other foods (cereals, fruit, yogurts, juice, tea/coffee). It was all quite yummy and set us up for the day. Breakfast was available nice and late too, unlike some other hotels that wouldn't serve you if you came down at 10:30am (which some members of my group did).

The staff were lovely from the moment we checked in until our departure. Couldn't have asked for better.

All in all, getting such a great room, brilliant service, and delicious food for only €65 was a delight. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

One caveat: I could hear some noise from the nightclub up in my room on the third floor when I went to bed shortly after midnight. It wasn't very loud and didn't keep me awake. That said, I was extremely tired; maybe if I wasn't so tired it would have kept me from sleep for a while. If complete silence at night is very important to you, either bring earplugs that you know to work well (I have no clue if the free ones available at hotel reception were any good) or settle to give this place a miss. If not, then I cannot recommend this hotel high enough.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    32
    19
    8
    12
See reviews for
21
26
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
southern ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

The Westcourt hotel in Drogheda has recently had a complete make over .It is a hotel slap bang in the middle of west street and is the central hub for most locals and visitors to the town . There brand new west 29 restraunt is superb and amazingly decorated. The rooms are very comfortable clean and fresh. In tge evening times one can enjoy a quiet romantic meal in west 29 or have drinks in the disco lounge / bar. Also The West court hotel is home to the infamouse Earth disco . Google it and you ll get a birds eye peak of whats on offer. Do visit the many heritage attractions in and around this historical town and if you happen to have children with you people regularly feed the swans and use the public play ground down by the ramparts we also have funtasia a huge indoor water park and adventure center you wont be disappointed. The reception staff will be only too happy to point these attractions out to you. Also the famouse Baltray Golf Club is only 6 miles or so west of Drogheda. Enjoy your trip.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Here in the hotel as I write this.! Location good but that's about it. Was greeted with a notice on our bed saying earplugs available at reception if you need to sleep! This isn't a lie . After getting the Ear plugs there is no difference! shocking. They should either decide are they a club or a hotel. No sleep ground vibrating. Don't stay here if you want a sleep

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

As it had had been a long time since I was in Drogheda, I sought the advice of the local fishmonger who recommended the hotel. He recommended the Bijou just off main st too but as it did not have a alcohol licence we decided to try the hotel. It proved to be a super choice for lunch - we opted for the bacon and cabbage ( + turnip) etc. It was really very good & went down well with the Guinness. We were expecting a carvery but found the waiter service so much more civilised & efficient.We will be back. The deserts ( I usually avoid them ) were very good too! E15 for food great value.

Room Tip: As we travelled by train parking was not an issue; as the hotel is in the main street ( largely pede...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here of a Saturday night, good buzz in the hotel and bar, good for a party night,
Lots of noisy stragglers after clubs and pubs, our window was facing main street and witnessed lots of fights and thuggish carry on.
Rooms were small, yet modern.
Loved the bathroom, with turbo showers..

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Was only here one night was disappointed didn't get to try out the bar and club but I still had a great stay! Loved the decor of the hotel, so pretty and looked so nice! Really friendly staff and the hotel is in a great location.

Only downside is there is no stairs, luckily we only had two very small suitcases so it wasn't a problem but I feel sorry for those with a lot of luggage.
I was kept awake most of the night by the room above, they were very noisy all night but this isn't a fault of the hotels and it's not as though there will be noisy guests above you every time you stay!

Would definitely recommend this hotel, a lovely little place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Myself and friends are from the area and dined in West29, the new restaurant in the hotel. I loved it. There were 6 of us in total and we all were very impressed. The menu is fab with choices of tapas to share as well as main meals. Great variety! I did not have a desert but I was very tempted as they all sounded amazing. We got a sharer plate of 3 tapas to start, just to try and they were a great size for the price and were all delicious. The main meals were just as good and the service of beverages and food was to a very high standard. Loved the presentation and the amuse-bouche was a lovely surprise. It was great to see the manager walking around and checking on tables to see if all was good. Rare that is seen on a busy friday night in local restaurants. Even though busy, the restaurant staff remained calm and attentive and you never felt rushed. I will definitely be back if just for some great wine and tapas with friends or a full meal. The versatility and quality of food with a great ambiance makes this place one of my new favourites.

Room Tip: Try the tapas. They are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westcourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcourt Hotel

Address: West Street, Drogheda 041, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Westcourt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 25 minutes from Dublin International Airport in the heart of Drogheda and the historical Boyne Valley, Westcourt Hotel is close to shopping centres, top golf courses, Newgrange and other historical areas, and is central and perfect for weekend getaways, family and business travel. Well connected by road and rail, and featuring modern rooms and high-speed internet access, Westcourt Hotel can accommodate meetings, conventions and weddings.Enjoy the buzz of Barroco Bar and Earth Nightclub ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Westcourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westcourt Hotel Drogheda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westcourt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.