We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulose location and beautifully decorated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westcourt Hotel

Save Saved
You added Westcourt Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westcourt Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Street, Drogheda 041, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€20 off room rate
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Drogheda
southern ireland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“fabulose location and beautifully decorated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

The Westcourt hotel in Drogheda has recently had a complete make over .It is a hotel slap bang in the middle of west street and is the central hub for most locals and visitors to the town . There brand new west 29 restraunt is superb and amazingly decorated. The rooms are very comfortable clean and fresh. In tge evening times one can enjoy a quiet romantic meal in west 29 or have drinks in the disco lounge / bar. Also The West court hotel is home to the infamouse Earth disco . Google it and you ll get a birds eye peak of whats on offer. Do visit the many heritage attractions in and around this historical town and if you happen to have children with you people regularly feed the swans and use the public play ground down by the ramparts we also have funtasia a huge indoor water park and adventure center you wont be disappointed. The reception staff will be only too happy to point these attractions out to you. Also the famouse Baltray Golf Club is only 6 miles or so west of Drogheda. Enjoy your trip.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    21
    12
    6
    12
See reviews for
16
19
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Here in the hotel as I write this.! Location good but that's about it. Was greeted with a notice on our bed saying earplugs available at reception if you need to sleep! This isn't a lie . After getting the Ear plugs there is no difference! shocking. They should either decide are they a club or a hotel. No sleep ground vibrating. Don't stay here if you want a sleep

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

As it had had been a long time since I was in Drogheda, I sought the advice of the local fishmonger who recommended the hotel. He recommended the Bijou just off main st too but as it did not have a alcohol licence we decided to try the hotel. It proved to be a super choice for lunch - we opted for the bacon and cabbage ( + turnip) etc. It was really very good & went down well with the Guinness. We were expecting a carvery but found the waiter service so much more civilised & efficient.We will be back. The deserts ( I usually avoid them ) were very good too! E15 for food great value.

Room Tip: As we travelled by train parking was not an issue; as the hotel is in the main street ( largely pede...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here of a Saturday night, good buzz in the hotel and bar, good for a party night,
Lots of noisy stragglers after clubs and pubs, our window was facing main street and witnessed lots of fights and thuggish carry on.
Rooms were small, yet modern.
Loved the bathroom, with turbo showers..

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Was only here one night was disappointed didn't get to try out the bar and club but I still had a great stay! Loved the decor of the hotel, so pretty and looked so nice! Really friendly staff and the hotel is in a great location.

Only downside is there is no stairs, luckily we only had two very small suitcases so it wasn't a problem but I feel sorry for those with a lot of luggage.
I was kept awake most of the night by the room above, they were very noisy all night but this isn't a fault of the hotels and it's not as though there will be noisy guests above you every time you stay!

Would definitely recommend this hotel, a lovely little place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Myself and friends are from the area and dined in West29, the new restaurant in the hotel. I loved it. There were 6 of us in total and we all were very impressed. The menu is fab with choices of tapas to share as well as main meals. Great variety! I did not have a desert but I was very tempted as they all sounded amazing. We got a sharer plate of 3 tapas to start, just to try and they were a great size for the price and were all delicious. The main meals were just as good and the service of beverages and food was to a very high standard. Loved the presentation and the amuse-bouche was a lovely surprise. It was great to see the manager walking around and checking on tables to see if all was good. Rare that is seen on a busy friday night in local restaurants. Even though busy, the restaurant staff remained calm and attentive and you never felt rushed. I will definitely be back if just for some great wine and tapas with friends or a full meal. The versatility and quality of food with a great ambiance makes this place one of my new favourites.

Room Tip: Try the tapas. They are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Hotel is newly done up with some lovely decor. unusual reception area, furniture & wall paper.We stayed in a double room on the 3rd floor.There is no lift available-but we were offered help with baggage.Room was bright and fresh, spacious and very clean. The bathroom is a wet room with a nice big shower- no bath. Our bedroom faced out onto the street, so there was a bit of noise from passing people,traffic- but once window was shut it was ok.We stayed in the hotel on Dec 26th- the main bar was very busy.We were given complimentary entrance to The Earth nightclub.Again-the club was very busy.We didnt stay there long-too old.By the time we got back to our room, the night club was finishing up- so I cant say whether it would have been noisy in the room. I imagine that some of the bar music/club music may have travelled as far as the bedrooms. For some reason there was no hot water in the room late at night, so shower could not be used.I rang reception and they said it would take about 20 mins for water in room to heat up.Showers were hot straight away first thing in the morning. We ate in the restaraunt- food was typical pub grub, nice and reasonably priced. Westcourt is a central hotel in the heart of Drogheda. There is under ground parking available. Nice place. We will return.

Room Tip: no lift in hotel. but help available for bags,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westcourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcourt Hotel

Address: West Street, Drogheda 041, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Westcourt Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 25 minutes from Dublin International Airport in the heart of Drogheda and the historical Boyne Valley, Westcourt Hotel is close to shopping centres, top golf courses, Newgrange and other historical areas, and is central and perfect for weekend getaways, family and business travel. Well connected by road and rail, and featuring modern rooms and high-speed internet access, Westcourt Hotel can accommodate meetings, conventions and weddings.Enjoy the buzz of Barroco Bar and Earth Nightclub ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Westcourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westcourt Hotel Drogheda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westcourt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.