We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints at all :-)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The d Hotel Drogheda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The d Hotel Drogheda to your Saves list
The d Hotel Drogheda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Scotch Hall, Marsh Road, Drogheda, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Wicklow, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“No complaints at all :-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Had a two night stay and must admit I have only compliments for this hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean and well appointed. The hotel is right in the centre of Drogheda and well within walking distance of local attractions and shopping. So if the management read this - just keep doing what your doing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for your positive feedback received.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the d hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    219
    86
    60
    36
See reviews for
148
269
22
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed here with my husband on the last weekend of November, as we were attending a function in the hotel. I got a good deal online. We checked in late that evening, check in was quick and efficient. Everything was going fine, that was until we arrived at our room (no.504 as far as I can remember). The room was dirty, stains on the carpet & rips through the curtains. Surely, this is not of 4 star standard. The shower water was only lukewarm, and there wasn't enough towels/no bathrobes either. Things went from bad to worst when the hairdryer blew up as I attempted to blow dry my hair.....surely a major health & safety issue! We had already phoned down reception twice( to look for an iron & enquire about the television as it wouldn't work). At this stage, we were in a hurry to attend the party so we hadn't time to ring down again. We did get a good nights sleep & the bed was comfortable, so no complaints there. The next morning, we waited for at least 15 minutes in the queue for breakfast (& not even at peak time). The hotel was busy with guests but they appeared to be under staffed to deal with this. We were shown to our table by a very nice and pleasant member of staff (Grace, I think her name was) Food was average. Also, I except a 4 star hotel to have more than two choices of juice available. At this stage, we were so disappointed we decided to pack our bags and check out immediately. We did fill up a comment card along with an email address but never got any reply. On the positive side, the staff were very nice especially the waiting staff. The hotel is in a very good location, but overall we are were very disappointed with our stay here and will not return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for your feedback received. Please accept our apologies that you were dissatisfied during your stay. Rest assured if we were made aware of this we would have done everything possible to rectify this. We personally respond to all comment cards and reviews posted so it is strange that you did not receive a reply, please accept our apologies for this.
I would appreciate if you could contact me personally so that I can respond to you, my email is rory@thedhotel.com

Thank you for your positive comments about our staff.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to the d hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
424 helpful votes 424 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We were on a 12 day/11 night Independent CIE Tour of Ireland. All hotels were rates a 4 star out of 5 by CIE. So, I based my TA rating on each hotel as being a 4 out of 5 star hotel. We stayed at:

Alexander Hotel in Dublin (2 nights) I gave a 5 rating
The River Lee Hotel in Cork (1 night) I gave a 5 rating
Killarney Plaza Hotel in Killarney (2 nights) I gave a 5 rating
Salthill Hotel in Galway (2 nights) I gave a 3 rating
Derry City Hotel in Derry (2 nights) I gave a 5 rating
Cabra Castle Hotel in Kingscourt (1 night) I gave a 5 rating
The D Hotel in Drogheda (1 night) I am giving a 3 rating

The D Hotel in Drogheda (pronounced Dra-HA-da) was chosen by CIE because it was only a half an hour from the Dublin Airport. We would have however preferred to stay at the Cabra Castle for two nights, even if it had cost us more. Cabra Castle is only an hour away from the airport.

Negatives:
Room & hallways definitely needs updating
1) Rugs & curtains need replacing
2) Scratches to walls & furniture
It was extremely hard to find the hotel, even with an Ireland GPS.
Outdoor parking only (it was raining)
We had a river view room (not the best view and don't open your window - garbage smell)
No ironing board or iron or pants press
European thing - but no washcloth (they consider a washcloth a personal item)
They delivered cupcakes that looked good - but tasted stale.

Positives:
Hotel personnel were very helpful
Hotel is attached to a mall. (great for last minute gifts)
Bathroom had plenty of towels, shampoo & cream.
Very large closet
Small refrigerator in room
Even though we had to leave very early for the airport - they had a continental breakfast for us.

Our room had 1 king platform bed and 1 twin platform bed, one sling back chair and a funky white cotton ball hanging lamp. All looking like it was out of the late 60's. There was also a quirky 3 section wall mirror that opened & closed. The decor definitely need to be updated, but keep the mirror!.

Although they had a large closet , we basically spent a few hours getting our suitcases ready for the airport. So nothing was hung up. All the lovely bath supplies (shampoo, body washes & lotions had to be left behind.

This was not a 4 star hotel, more like the 3 rating I gave it. We would have rated it higher if room had been updated. Perhaps next time!

Room Tip: Don't get a river view room. View is very industrial, plus if you open the window -it smells li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for your feedback received. We are delighted to receive such detailed feedback both negative and positive. It is unfortunate we did not get to speak with you personally during your stay with us and please accept our apologies for the poor experience you had at the d hotel.

Hopefully we will refurbish some bedrooms in the hotel this year and we look forward to welcoming you back to experience these new rooms in the future. Also to clarify there is not a garbage smell from the river and these are our most popular and largest rooms.


Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. Amazing customer service. The staff when out of their way to ensure we were well looked after. Beautiful hotel with delicious food. We only stayed one night but looking forward to going back again soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for your feedback received. We are delighted to receive such positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the d hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

The one thing that stands out for this hotel is the excellent customer service which we were offered throughout our stay...from the reservations staff to the reception staff..we were very impressed and will definitely be back

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for your feedback received. We are delighted to receive such positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the d hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Just checked out today after a 3 night stay. I have to say we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and couldn't fault anything about the hotel. We ate on all 3 nights in the adjoining wm cairns bar, we all ate something different each night and it was top class. We had to move room on the second night because of a problem with the toilet but these things happen and a member of staff helped us with the move. All staff were very polite and helpful. Thanks for a lovely stay and will hopefully see you soon again

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for your feedback received. We are delighted to receive such positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the d hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
448 helpful votes 448 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

No doubt this used to be a fine hotel but the glory has long since faded, its well overdue a makeover. Booked an executive room which seemed merely to mean that we got a room with a river view. The room was nicely sized but minimally furnished with a cheap television with few channels, some of which were fuzzy. Paint was flaking off the wall at two separate points and other marks indicated heavy use over the years. Bathroom was better but only shampoo supplied, no conditioner.
On the positive side, staff were very friendly and helpful and there was free car parking.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thedhotel, General Manager at The d Hotel Drogheda, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at the d hotel and for your feedback received. Please accept our apologies that the tv was fuzzy during your stay this was due to the very windy weather affecting the satellite dish, all our TVs are very good quality Phillips and Samsung models.

Please accept our apologies that you were unhappy with your bedroom. We hope to refurbish some of our bedrooms this year and look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to stay in one of our refurbished bedrooms.

Kind regards,

Rory Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The d Hotel Drogheda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The d Hotel Drogheda

Address: Scotch Hall, Marsh Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The d Hotel Drogheda 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning d hotel, a luxury 4 star hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth Ireland is located on the banks of the historic River Boyne. This impressive waterfront location includes the Scotch Hall shopping complex and a purpose built pedestrian bridge to the town centre with its many traditional pubs and restaurants in Drogheda. The d hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth is only 40 minutes from Dublin using the Port Tunnel, only 25 minutes from Dublin airport and only an hour and a half from Belfast; making it the ideal base for a trip to the East Coast of Ireland. The d hotel in Louth Ireland was proud to be the players hotel for the European Tour 3 Irish Open Golf Tournament which was held at the nearby County Louth Golf Course (Baltray) from the 14th to the 17th of May 2009. The d hotel is the perfect hotel for The TLT Theatre Drogheda and the Funtasia Waterpark Drogheda as well as being the Festival Hotel for the Drogheda Arts Festival, the Drogheda Samba Festival, the Drogheda Guitar Festival and the Clogherhead Prawn Festival. Accommodation In Drogheda: Our Drogheda hotel in County Louth Ireland offers 104 superb bedrooms designed for guest comfort and relaxation, many with superb views over the river and town. We have two penthouse suites, the light and dark rooms; luxury at its finest and ideal for special occasions. Please note the d hotel is a non smoking hotel. Hotel Dining: Hotel dining at the d is an experience… Not only will the menus satisfy your taste buds, The Viaduct Bar & Grill opens onto riverside terraces and a promenade with superb views of historic Drogheda. This truly offers a fantastic dining experience at one of the finest restaurants Louth has to offer. Louth Weddings: The d hotel is Drogheda's premier wedding venue, with a capacity for up to 250 guests in our Viaduct Suite, which opens out on to the Riverside Terrace. We specialise in making weddings unique and will create exclusive packages for you at a price that suits you at one of the leading luxury wedding hotels in Ireland. We look forward to welcoming you to the d hotel in Louth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The d Hotel Drogheda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Hotel Drogheda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The d Hotel Drogheda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.