We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet again another fantastic stay at the D” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The d Hotel Drogheda

Save Saved
You added The d Hotel Drogheda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The d Hotel Drogheda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Scotch Hall, Marsh Road, Drogheda, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Drogheda
Dublin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yet again another fantastic stay at the D”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is our 4th stay at the D and each time it has been faultless. We booked on a 2 nite B&B and dinner deal and on arrival we were upgraded to one of the suites on the 6th floor. This room was amazing and absolutely massive! Dinner was great and the staff were excellent, especially our waitress but unfortunately I can't remember her name! We also went for a few drinks in the bar after which had a great live band on called The Enemies. When we decided to head on, my wife's wedding braclet had unhooked itself without either of us noticing. As we were leaving one of the waitresses came running over to hand it back to us. We probably wouldn't have noticed until later but it was so great to see such attentive staff! The new adjoining bar, WM Cairnes is a great addition and definitely worth a visit for a few of the house beers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    253
    181
    78
    52
    32
See reviews for
124
214
21
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Good value for money, good staff and excellent hotel. Well located close to the city centre. Rooms are spacious and clean. This was a busy weekend at the hotel but did not effect the quality of staff service. Try Drogheda for a change you will be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Arrived @ hotel no booking made, just arrived on route home with husband and 4 chuildren. We booked 2 rooms next door to each other 1 with cot (which was broke). Rooms are very spacious and clean. There is a fan in each and believe me they are a necessary. Was impressed that by the time we took our luggage in the cot had been made up. Any staf we encountered were friendly. The beds are extremely hard to lie on....

We had a meal in the Gastro pub it was delicious.

Breakfast in the morning was poor. Yoghurt was warm as was the fresh fruit selection they were left at room temp.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed there at the weekend.On check in everything was fine,rooms were ready.
Had a meal in the Gastropub,good selection of beers and the food was good and not to pricey.
Throughout the weekend staff were helpful and friendly,could not fault them at all.Car parking was good once we found it.
The only downsides were ,can be a bit noisy.However its a big hotel and with functions going on a noisy people going to their rooms its hardly the fault of the hotel as to how some people behave after a drink.
We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland Co Down
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Two night stay with my 5yr old, my friend in a different room with her 11yr old. Hotel was nice with pleasent staff and our room was ready on time.Our standard rooms where a good size with modern decor, large lounging chair, hairdryer, kettle etc.. tv had 15 channels, one being cbeebies! Small fridge was a welcome discovery. Quite clean but not immaculate. Arrived on a sunday and there was a kids club on by the bar/food area, which was supervised and very safe, allowed us to enjoy lunch in peace, but not on mon/tue (wed-fri 7-9pm) Hotel is 30 seconds walk to a large shopping complex and few minutes to town centre with lots of shops. Breakfast was good, large selection well run and child friendly. We ate at 9am and it wasnt busy. On the down side my room was unbearably hot and my window only opened a few inches(child safety),we had to keep the fan on full but still we had a terrible nights sleep, made worse by the 10.5 tog winter duvets, which ended up on the floor. I asked to be moved rooms the next morning (as my friend across the hall had a much cooler room, better window and a breeze coming in). I was moved instantly with no problems and it was 100 times better.However my child was able to easily, to my horror, fit through the 'window gap'! She was old enough to understand NOT to do it again, we were on the 4th floor. We still enjoyed our stay and would go back again.

Room Tip: Check how far your window opens. Rooms at the front are cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We arrived at 3pm and were greated, we were informed our room hadnt been cleaned and would take an hour which shocked me. So we decided to look around the shopping centre and have a quick drink in the pub attached. The pub is nothing special but the people were friendly.
Back at the hotel, we went up to our room, heaven knows why it took an hour, there was dust and crumbs on the table. When we booked we were told that we could get a wireless router, unfortunatley there were no available, there was a cable but not good when you have an ipad! Also in the next room were three screaming children and a mother shouting at them. I understand that theyre children but we were there on business and needed some peace.
So my partner went downstairs to ask about a router and then asked if we could change rooms.
They were very accomodating and gave us a quiet room in the penthouse suite. Lovely views, nice and quiet.
Unfortunatley there were windows all around and a door that opened onto the roof, this was the only ventilation point. The room was very hot so we didnt sleep very well.
There were no sockets in the bedroom area which had all the mirrors, so I asked for an extension lead so I could use the hairdryer which was provided.
I didnt try out the gym so couldnt comment on it.
At breakfast we were shown to a dirty table so decided to sit somewhere else. We had cereal. There was an English breakfast available but eggs and beans were to be ordered and we didnt know how long that would take so we didnt order them.
When we left a young gentleman from reception came out and apologised for all the mishaps.
The positive about the hotel, it is in a good location with a lovely view of the river.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed in the D Hotel as part of a Hen party package which was excellent value at €95 including 3 course evening meal and breakfast. We also took part in a cocktail making class as part of the package, and Sam the barman done a good job on this!
Unfortunately no AC in the rooms, and they were stifling hot during the night, fans were provided, if the window was opened it was quite noisy at the front of the hotel. Overall is was a nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The d Hotel Drogheda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The d Hotel Drogheda

Address: Scotch Hall, Marsh Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The d Hotel Drogheda 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning d hotel, a luxury 4 star hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth Ireland is located on the banks of the historic River Boyne. This impressive waterfront location includes the Scotch Hall shopping complex and a purpose built pedestrian bridge to the town centre with its many traditional pubs and restaurants in Drogheda. The d hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth is only 40 minutes from Dublin using the Port Tunnel, only 25 minutes from Dublin airport and only an hour and a half from Belfast; making it the ideal base for a trip to the East Coast of Ireland. The d hotel in Louth Ireland was proud to be the players hotel for the European Tour 3 Irish Open Golf Tournament which was held at the nearby County Louth Golf Course (Baltray) from the 14th to the 17th of May 2009. The d hotel is the perfect hotel for The TLT Theatre Drogheda and the Funtasia Waterpark Drogheda as well as being the Festival Hotel for the Drogheda Arts Festival, the Drogheda Samba Festival, the Drogheda Guitar Festival and the Clogherhead Prawn Festival. Accommodation In Drogheda: Our Drogheda hotel in County Louth Ireland offers 104 superb bedrooms designed for guest comfort and relaxation, many with superb views over the river and town. We have two penthouse suites, the light and dark rooms; luxury at its finest and ideal for special occasions. Please note the d hotel is a non smoking hotel. Hotel Dining: Hotel dining at the d is an experience… Not only will the menus satisfy your taste buds, The Viaduct Bar & Grill opens onto riverside terraces and a promenade with superb views of historic Drogheda. This truly offers a fantastic dining experience at one of the finest restaurants Louth has to offer. Louth Weddings: The d hotel is Drogheda's premier wedding venue, with a capacity for up to 250 guests in our Viaduct Suite, which opens out on to the Riverside Terrace. We specialise in making weddings unique and will create exclusive packages for you at a price that suits you at one of the leading luxury wedding hotels in Ireland. We look forward to welcoming you to the d hotel in Louth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The d Hotel Drogheda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Hotel Drogheda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The d Hotel Drogheda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.