We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.. Great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The d Hotel Drogheda

Save Saved
You added The d Hotel Drogheda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The d Hotel Drogheda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Scotch Hall, Marsh Road, Drogheda, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great location.. Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011 via mobile

Back home after our weekend in Drogheda .... Not that home is too far away but we had a great weekend. Trad irish music festival this weekend with great vibe though out. The hotel, staff and location made everything excellent. Bars restaurant ands scene well with a look and by the sounds of it with their local hero campaign this misidentified a place to visit... Will be back soon. Thanks to all at the d.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    185
    82
    52
    33
See reviews for
128
220
21
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Decent hotel. Very modern, good location, but has definitely seen better days. Looks like it used to be ultra-chic and is now a bit worn. The staff were exceptionally helpful, courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Friendly staff and pleasant hotel. Centrally situated to town which is currently making efforts to improve its image as a tourist destination. A walkers map of the towns sights would help. Hotel can be difficult to find in a car although has free parking for guests. Some rooms have nice views of the Boyne river. The room lighting is quite dull and could do with a brighter light in the room for reading.
Hotel has many packages but its B+B+Dinner at 55euros per person is excellent value. We have availed of this package several times as it is a similar price to a night out in a restaurant except with free bed and breakfast! The food in the restaurant is very good and would recommend the hot chicken wings.
The hotel is attached to Scotch Hall shopping centre although the town's main street "West Street" is more interesting as it is one of the few High Streets left that is still largely small family shops.

Room Tip: Ask for view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Just back from a girlie night away at this hotel . Firstly the staff are super nice and could not have done anymore for us. I really cannot recommend this hotel enough. It is right beside scotch Hall which is great for shopping. Lovely Rooms and food. The most important thing is great rates. A special thank to Kevin Wall for the surprise he gave to my friend for her birthday.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Stayed in the hotel for a weekend break, as it was a sister hotel of the G you can see the crazy decor in the lobby and in the rooms, On arrival our room wasn't ready but there was a wedding the night before so understandable, the shopping center next door kept us occupied while we waited. The front desk staff were polite but need to be a little pro active, all we were told was our room was on the 4th floor, and we had to figure it out from there. The rooms were disappointing for the money, very basic minimal everything, towels, soap, shampoo. The room itself needed a lick of paint and a good deep clean, there was red wine stains on the carpet and curtains that needed to be cleaned, but its not the say the room was unhygienic the bed was very comfy and a good nights sleep can be had rooms are pretty sound proof too from outside noise! The bar was great friendly staff, good prices, great entertainment for a relaxing few drinks! Free parking is available right next door and it ample. I would recommend this hotel, but given how busy the hotel is, it needs to be maintained and freshened up!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Myself and my wife regularly stay in the D hotel for a night away from the kids and a chance to relax. They have an excellent deal of €55 per person B&B and 4 course meal which to me is one of the best deals around for the standard of hotel that is the "D". Its location is right in the middle of everything and yet the quietness of the hotel and the views onto the river are worth their weight in gold.
The cleanliness of the rooms, bars, restaurant etc is outstanding and the level of customer service supplied by the staff is highly commended.
As for the food.....well its very hard to explain something unless you try it for yourself. Its amazing! We have recommended the hotel to friends, family, work collegues and they themselves have either stayed, booked meals, parties etc and all have had nothing bad to say about the hotel. It will be a hotel that I wil personally keep using for functions and breaks for a very very long time to come.
Keep up the good work D hotel you have a wonderful place there in Drogheda.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Stayed here with my wife for a Saturday night getaway. We stayed in a Superior King. The room was spotless. For a hotel of this standard, the price was excellent. They have an excellent selection of beers and wines, and the keenly-priced food was lovely.
What sets this hotel apart however, is the staff. They are exceptionally pleasant and friendly, without being intrusive; and when my wife took ill and missed most of the evening, not only were they sympathetic, but allowed her to sleep off her illness until she was fully recovered. It was almost 3 o'clock when we vacated our room. We stayed on and enjoyed a lovely lunch without having to worry about a hefty parking bill. Parking is free. Nothing was too much trouble for this team. We've stayed in some fabulous hotels only to be disappointed by taciturn service. Not so here. Individually, and as a team they made our stay a pleasure. Many thanks. 10/10

Room Tip: For loads of space and comfort book a Superior King.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The d Hotel Drogheda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The d Hotel Drogheda

Address: Scotch Hall, Marsh Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The d Hotel Drogheda 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning d hotel, a luxury 4 star hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth Ireland is located on the banks of the historic River Boyne. This impressive waterfront location includes the Scotch Hall shopping complex and a purpose built pedestrian bridge to the town centre with its many traditional pubs and restaurants in Drogheda. The d hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth is only 40 minutes from Dublin using the Port Tunnel, only 25 minutes from Dublin airport and only an hour and a half from Belfast; making it the ideal base for a trip to the East Coast of Ireland. The d hotel in Louth Ireland was proud to be the players hotel for the European Tour 3 Irish Open Golf Tournament which was held at the nearby County Louth Golf Course (Baltray) from the 14th to the 17th of May 2009. The d hotel is the perfect hotel for The TLT Theatre Drogheda and the Funtasia Waterpark Drogheda as well as being the Festival Hotel for the Drogheda Arts Festival, the Drogheda Samba Festival, the Drogheda Guitar Festival and the Clogherhead Prawn Festival. Accommodation In Drogheda: Our Drogheda hotel in County Louth Ireland offers 104 superb bedrooms designed for guest comfort and relaxation, many with superb views over the river and town. We have two penthouse suites, the light and dark rooms; luxury at its finest and ideal for special occasions. Please note the d hotel is a non smoking hotel. Hotel Dining: Hotel dining at the d is an experience… Not only will the menus satisfy your taste buds, The Viaduct Bar & Grill opens onto riverside terraces and a promenade with superb views of historic Drogheda. This truly offers a fantastic dining experience at one of the finest restaurants Louth has to offer. Louth Weddings: The d hotel is Drogheda's premier wedding venue, with a capacity for up to 250 guests in our Viaduct Suite, which opens out on to the Riverside Terrace. We specialise in making weddings unique and will create exclusive packages for you at a price that suits you at one of the leading luxury wedding hotels in Ireland. We look forward to welcoming you to the d hotel in Louth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo and Otel so you can book your The d Hotel Drogheda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Hotel Drogheda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The d Hotel Drogheda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.