We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Drogheda” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club

Save Saved
You added Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dublin Road, Drogheda, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Drogheda
Mn
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best Western Drogheda”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

There is a lack of hotels and B&B's in the area. We choose a Best Western which was nice but the parking lot was extremely dark due to lack of adequate lighting. Our rental car was broken into and everything was taken!
It was a disappointing end to an otherwise lovely trip!
Sandy

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    74
    59
    32
    29
See reviews for
69
85
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fleming Island, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

My husband and I made reservations with this hotel at the last minute via telephone. Once we arrived, we were struck by how beautiful the property was. There is a winding, tree-lined avenue from the main road. The room was large and comfortable with a lovely bathroom that looked spotless at first glance (but had a little mildew the maids have been missing for a while, upon closer review). The location of the property was convenient and quiet which we very much needed after a long flight and a morning of shopping and sight-seeing.
When we checked in, which was relatively early, the hotel was preparing for a wedding and hosting a 50 year anniversary party. They handled all of this activity very well with little effect on the other guests but it made the bar rather crowded when they all seemed to spill over. We had requested a non-smoking room and had no issues with receiving this. Apparently the wing we were in was all non-smoking since there were doors separating it from other parts of the hotel and signs posted.
The breakfast was buffet style with 2 styles available: continental and Irish. The food was good but not great, really comparable to Holiday Inn Express or Marriott's included breakfast.
The sweet, understanding and helpful girl at the desk gave us excellent restaurant recommendations and sent us to a great Pub for dinner. She was still there, friendly and smiling, the next morning when we checked out.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

I had booked a room with three single beds via hotels.com for this hotel. When we arrived we were allocated a room with a double and a single. On asking to be moved, we were told that the hotel didn't have triple rooms and it was the website's fault! The family room was not great: we were only given one key between three, the door knob was hanging off, the washbasin was cracked, the towels were tiny. Breakfast was a mediocre affair. When one of us asked for brown toast the waitress said they had no brown bread - and yet there was a pile of brown bread sitting by the cereal! The whole atmosphere was one of not really caring less. The only bright spot was the evening meal we had where the food was good and the waiter very friendly and service good.

A relative had arranged for a welcome pack to be delivered to the hotel from the local tourist office for us. The people on reception claimed not to have seen this - and yet when we visited the extremely helpful ladies in the tourist office we discovered that they had actually gone out of their way to see that the package had been sent to us. We suspect the hotel just binned it.

The hotel advertises itself as being in Drogheda - it isn't. It's on the outskirts and would be a very long walk in if you were carless. No doubt that's the fault of the website too....

All in all, not to be recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

We booked online - via the hotel's own website and Best Western booking engine - for two adults and two toddlers, and confirmed a room with one double and two twin beds. On arrival we were told firstly that they didn't have our details on record and secondly that they didn't have any rooms of that type available. But we could pay an extra EUR20 a night to get a double and two twins in interconnecting rooms. As we had booked and confirmed a double and two twins at a lower rate, this doesn't seem right. We were also told that this problem has happened before and is because the booking notification that the hotel receives from Best Western does not include the full room details. It's bad enough that they are aware of a problem and haven't fixed it. But what is completely unacceptable is for them to try to profit from the situation - or maybe its not fixed because they make more money this way? The attitude at reception was very disappointing. A hotel should provide a welcome, and what we got was the opposite of inviting; once we refused to pay the extra EUR20 per night (it was to be a four night stay) it was as if we were being cheapskates for wanting to stay for the price in our original booking contract. If they don't want people at those rates, don't advertise them! They tried to put us in a room with two double beds but it smelled of stale smoke and had an ashtray on the table. As it was late, we agreed to take the next room offered (one double, one single, and then a cot). The single bed had a new mattress but the double was very lumpy. The room itself was only big enough for the beds, the cot had to block the door. Room and bathroom decor very dated, TV was a small 80s style portable with 4 or 5 channels, a world away from the standards set by modern hotels. The only good thing about this hotel is the Country Club with gym and swimming pool. We checked out next morning and spent the next three nights in a fantastic, modern, and very welcoming hotel in the town centre.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

so, I booked this hotel for an overnight stay as they accept dogs. I was quoted 100 euro for the night which was promptly reduced to 69 when I mentioned I can get that rate online. On arrival we were looking forward to staying there as it looks quite nice from the outside. Once we arrived however things rapidly went downhill. Outside is fine but I guess we got the worst room because of the dog - it was dated, faded and had a stained and marked duvet. It was also a smoking room (my fault for not specifying when I booked) The TV was a tiny 14 inch CRT that like the room had seen better days. Shower nozzles and other plastics yellowed with age. The stairs to the room (quickest way according to reception) had dirty marked and stained walls along with a threadbare carpet - not the great first impression. At the bar I asked for a guinness. When it arrived I was told I could swap if for something else if I wished as the guinness was dodgy all week. It was indeed a bit off so I did but why serve dodgy drink? Needless to say, I drank no more there. Only 1 thin pillow per head provided by default. also. Breakfast was interesting. There were different prices for continental and irish breakfasts so I asked did my room rate cover both of these. The waitress looked confused and said she didnt know. No offer to check. I asked her to check and she stormed off to do so. I ordered a side of mushrooms with breakfast - no sign of them. All in all poor service, poor quality room and overpriced for what we got.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

only arrived at 21.30 and left at 08.00 so didnt see alot of the hotel
someone had been smoking in my room mentioned to reception,and they would have moved ,me but i opened the window,and it was fine
Wifi was excellent and free very fast poss because it was sunday night
staff very friendly,breakfast was fine good range of continental items
and would be happy to recomend jthis hotel

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leola, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

I had the pleasure of spending a few days at this hotel. The hotel and grounds were beautiful. The entire staff were first rate, and very friendly. Dining was the high point, the food was delicious. Weekends are very busy with different functions taking place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club

Address: Dublin Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boyne Valley Hotel In Drogheda is a beautiful 19th century country house hotel set at the end of a tree lined avenue and featuring 16 acres of landscaped gardens and woodland. Located just 20 minutes from Dublin Airport, this 3 star county Louth hotel has so much to offer you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boyne Valley Hotel And Country Club
Best Western Hotel Drogheda
Best Western Drogheda
Drogheda Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.