We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club to your Saves list
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dublin Road, Drogheda, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Manchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I was here for a wedding and was here for the full day and stayed the night.
The rooms in the hotel were very nice, the food was great bar breakfast which for an Irish Breakfast wasn't the best and the bar service was very good obviously this could all be down to the wedding. I would say that 10 years ago this hotel was amazing but it is in need of some upgrading it is starting to look a little dated. The location of the hotel is not great if you don't have a car as you will spend a bit on taxis. Service at the hotel again seemed great, we arrived early and the hotel let us check in early so we could get ready for the wedding. Not sure this is a hotel where you would spend 2 weeks but for a short break or business trip I would think it would be great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aogan, General Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the wedding you attended and that you were impressed with the service that you received throughout the hotel.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Aogan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    80
    63
    34
    35
See reviews for
77
91
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We attended a wedding here and stayed for two nights.
This hotel is in an excellent location with lovely gardens and a river.
It is a lovely old house with a wing added.
The wedding was good with very good food and of course not surprising the bar food and restaurant food was excellent. You can get a main course and a drink/glass of wine for €10 (Amazing for a hotel like this). The house wine is a very good choice but I would like to see a little more upmarket wines on the list.
The leisure centre is also very good.
Overall we really enjoyed staying here, it was great value, the food was excellent and the staff were very friendly. We will be coming back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aogan, General Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We have built an excellent reputation locally for good food and I am delighted to receive such public confirmation of this.
We do offer very good value mid-week with our treats for ten offer which allows you to order one of our specials along with a drink of your choice for only €10.
We are currently updating our wine menu so I hope that if you ever have the opportunity to stay with us again that the list will include some wines that will be to your liking.
Again thank you for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed the wedding and the rest of your stay.
Kind Regards,

Aogan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

It's a beautiful old house, decent enough rooms ( don't expect mod cons!) . Bar food is quite simply atrocious , had a chicken wrap and you could tell it was fried in the same oil as fish , not good.
This bar could be a gem if they got their act together and produced good food and service. The staff seem very dis interested, which rubs off on the atmosphere of the place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aogan, General Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy our bar food. We have developed a very good reputation locally for our food and I was surprised and disappointed to read about your experience. Please be assured that I have brought your comments to the attention of the head chef and bar food manager.

Kind Regards,

Aogan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

After reading mixed reviews I wanted to love this hotel but I'm afraid I would be reluctant to recommend it to anyone. It looks beautiful as you approach it from the road, old world charm and elegance in a leafy setting but actually staying there was a whole other ball game.

Contrary to other reviews our room was clean and modern (in the newer part of the hotel) and cleanliness in general wasn't an issue during our stay. Unfortunately most other aspects of our stay were less positive. The bed was like stone and the room was oppressively hot, though we could not find the radiator to try and reduce the heat. On arrival we ordered drinks and bar food - the spirits with mixers neither smelled nor tasted like they had any spirits in them but we were happily charged full price for the beverages by the bar staff. The bar food was disappointing - well presented but lacking any flavour. Undeterred we returned for breakfast next morning which was really poor. We arrived an hour before the end of breakfast to find most of the buffet foods (cereals, breads, pastries etc.) depleted and these were not replenished at all, despite our enquiries. From ordering the hot food it was well over 30 minutes until it arrived and it was not worth the wait - overcooked, greasy and pretty unpleasant. There were some more 'demanding' diners ordering breakfast items not on the menu which may have contributed to the delay, but even so the fact that someone would like pancakes should not mean everyone else has to wait.

The only plus points for this hotel are the staff (all of whom were lovely, breakfast servers included) and the potential it has to be a charming hotel. Sadly it falls way short of this potential and if you're planning a nice getaway in pleasant and comfortable surroundings, this is not the place for you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aogan, General Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I would like to apologise sincerely for our shortcomings during your stay. I would also like to thank you for your kind comments concerning our staff.
We are constantly striving to provide a consistently high standard for all our guests. This was not the case during your stay. Please be assured that I have brought this review to the attention of the management team and corrective actions have been taken to ensure that the issues you mention do not re occur.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your constructive review.

Kind Regards,

Aogan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had booked & paid for a weekend in this hotel but left after the first night. On arrival we were placed in a grubby looking room, no 28. Although we were a family of four, the room was very small with a camp bed in front of the bathroom.....no room to swing a cat. Once I complained we were moved to 35/37 which was okay but had only one double bed between the four of us. Again I went to Reception and was assured this would be sorted. We were told in order to do this, we would need to leave the room, which we did. Once we sat down at the bar, we were once again approached to move our stuff to a different room, no 33. This had the correct bedding, but was very dated with a strong odour. To make the most of our time, we decided to try and enjoy our time...this was very difficult as thesmoking area was under our window. As there was a Wedding on and totally understable on the part of the smokers, it was extremely loud ( not including the music) and kept us all awake the best part of the night. Roll on day 2, we had a lovely breakfast and decided to go for a swim only to be told there were swimming lessons on and that we could not access the pool until after 12.30pm.......very upset children returned to the room!!! Went out for the day and took a dip later on. When we went back down to Reception, there was another Wedding & party on. It was at this point we realised it was a re-run of the previous night and we were better off at home....clean, comfortable & quiet. I would not recommend this hotel EVER!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aogan, General Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I would like to sincerely apologise for the mix up with your room on arrival. This should not have happened and I am very sorry that it did. Please be assured that we have since taken corrective action to ensure this does not re occur.

It is a hotel policy that any guest not associated with a function or wedding are allocated rooms that are not affected by noise from these functions. This did not happen on this occasion and again I apologise for this oversight.

I would appreciate if you could contact me directly so that I can compensate you for our errors during your stay.

Kind Regards,

Aogan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Grand old house with more recent wing of rooms, a bit tired looking. Staff were friendly and the bar food was good and reasonably priced. The fitness facitities were excellent and the swimming pool was free on our midweek break. Room was clean and comfortable. Easy parking - hotel some distance from main road.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aogan, General Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I really appreciate the positive feedback and will ensure that this is passed onto all the staff.

Kind Regards,

Aogan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

we live in enniskillen and were going on to turkey but needed to stay near dublin airport so this is how we found this place.don't no were to start.room ok car park not safe as any one can drive in.the cheff say to me move your van from were you are as it not safe there how do's that make you feel.not safe on hotel grounds.i could go on and on. so called countery club setting as you drive in all you see pot holes so call drive and that's in day light.swimming pool is very poor want a face lift still in the old days and very dark. changing room very poor and no locks on any were. i been a round all over and i can't belive what my eyes was seeing need a good clean up.in the restaurant want go no and on wine warm.at the end we had to go to the reception to pay for our meal as no card machine. i dont have the time to keep writeing.feel sorry for the next couples and familys who go's there.rateing for us is poor poor needs lots of work

Room Tip: don't go better about very poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aogan, General Manager at Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review. I had difficulty understanding some of the points made. I would appreciate if you could contact me directly so that we can discuss your review in more detail.

Kind Regards,

Aogan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club

Address: Dublin Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boyne Valley Hotel In Drogheda is a beautiful 19th century country house hotel set at the end of a tree lined avenue and featuring 16 acres of landscaped gardens and woodland. Located just 20 minutes from Dublin Airport, this 3 star county Louth hotel has so much to offer you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boyne Valley Hotel And Country Club
Best Western Hotel Drogheda
Best Western Drogheda
Drogheda Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.