We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch, in welcoming surroundings. Homely but slightly posh.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scholars Townhouse Hotel Restaurant

Scholars Townhouse Hotel Restaurant
King Street, Drogheda, Ireland
0419835410
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 74 restaurants in Drogheda
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Scholars Townhouse Hotel is a family run boutique hotel.Winner of 2013 Best Hotel Restaurant County Louth awarded by the Restaurant Association of Ireland. The experience is that of fine dining. Our Executive Head Chef David Kelly and Sous Chef Stewart O' Reilly have a simple philosophy; they source the best seasonal ingredients and then apply simple techniques to enhance and extract the best flavours for each of our dishes. Scholars Townhouse Hotel is renowned by the local population for its excellence in tourism and hospitality.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great lunch, in welcoming surroundings. Homely but slightly posh.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Dropped in for lunch on a recommendation from a local landlady where we had sampled the Guinness. As a group of five, aWe had a range of sandwich/soup mixtures, all freshly made with multiple bread choices. The value was great and service very attentive.
In comparison to a town centre toon this was wonderful. Clearly more than you would pay in a cafe, but lovely surroundings.
Hard to fault.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scholars1867, Owner at Scholars Townhouse Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
I remember serving your table personally, great group of guys. Thank you for making the effort in posting a review for us.

Regards
Mark Mc Gowan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    85
    32
    12
    13
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Birthday Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were invited to join my couisin and her friends to celebrate her birthday with a meal. When we arrived we spent almost 40mins admiring the flower displays at the entrance which were absolutely beautiful and a credit to the grower. We were led to our table and the staff couldn do enough for us, my 12yr old daughter was with me and she is a typical fussy pre teen and they offered any amount of variations to make sure she was satisfied with her choice. Our own meal was mouth watering and left us wanting to lift the plates and lick them! From the attentive staff, the flavoursome food, floral displays and atmosphere this is most definately a top class retaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scholars1867, Owner at Scholars Townhouse Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
I am glad to hear your cousin enjoyed herself, I have passed on your lovely comments to our gardener and he was delighted to get a mention.

Regards
Mark Mc Gowan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely family lunch ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We went to scholars for the first time on bank holiday Monday. We've lived in bettystown for years and have driven by this place many times but Monday was our first experience. And we thoroughly enjoyed it. Very friendly welcoming staff. Warm family atmosphere. Food was yummy and very nicely presented. We had the 3 course Sunday lunch menu for €25 which was great value. Staff were very attentive even though it was busy.

One disappointing thing came at the end - my dessert. The sticky toffee pudding. Described amazingly on the menu - steamed pudding with rum and dates. It was a good pudding but had no toffee sauce at all. It came with cream and icecream but it needed a thick toffee sauce. It was quite dry without it

Otherwise it was great. We really enjoyed it and will definitely be returning. I've already recommended it to two friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scholars1867, Owner at Scholars Townhouse Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your comments, I also agree with the comments in regard to the sticky toffee pudding, a thick toffee sauce would improve the dish. Thank you for your feedback.

Regards
Mark Mc Gowan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Had dinner here for a 50th birthday celebration. From start to finish, the staff went that extra mile to make it a really enjoyable evening. Food, staff and atmosphere all great and lovely cosy bar to finish off the evening - gorgeous!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manaus, AM
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Scholars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

That's a very nice restaurant! Very good drinks, excellent food, excellent wine. Service is terrific! I had a good time with my work colleagues!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scholars1867, Owner at Scholars Townhouse Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your comments in regard to your experience at Scholars. I am delighted that your party had a good time and enjoyed everything that Scholars provided.

Mark Mc Gowan
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scholars Townhouse Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Drogheda, County Louth
Drogheda, County Louth
 
Drogheda, County Louth
Drogheda, County Louth
 

Been to Scholars Townhouse Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scholars Townhouse Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.