We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monasterboice inn

Monasterboice inn
Monasterboice, Drogheda, Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 88 Restaurants in Drogheda
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Essential to book otherwise you could wait sometime for a table. Service can be a little slow but if you say you are in a hurry the staff will make sure you get your order through in good time. Excellent scampi and steak. We have been here many times and have never had a poor meal. Definitely worth the detour.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    34
    23
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Drogheda, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best seafood around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I have been here many times. Never had a bad meal. Just reserve a table if you are planning to eat there on a Weekend. The Seabass and Scampi is to die for

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardee, Ireland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't go!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I have been to this restaurant many times and always enjoyed good food, however today I had the worst food that has ever been served to me in a restaurant. Cattle market comes to mind regarding the wait for a table, finally got our table and had to wait 10 mins before I could get attension of waiter to order drinks. Starters were good, however both fillet steaks which were ordered medium were overcooked to a standard they were almost inedible! Dessert (sherry trifle) dry sponge with raspberry jam and 4 pieces of tinned fruit and drissle of custard!!! Actually laughable at how bad it was!!!service was awful. Gone to the dogs from what I experienced

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Well worth the detour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The best scampi I have had in Ireland. Done in a tempura style batter, the prawns were plump, juicy and flavorsome. The accompanying chips were done perfectly.

The Monasterboice Inn is one of those few places I have taken a long detour to reach and it has never disappointed. This evening, I rang about twenty minutes and twenty miles before the kitchen closed and they were happy to accommodate me.

Roll on the next excuse to call again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Won't return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Disappointing from start to finish, left standing close to entrance door with menus chucked into our hands, coats still on, approached 10 minutes later, we're we ready to order? We eventually were shown to table in conservatory area, full of messy tables, high hairs & toddlers running round.
Before we had time to sit (still with coats on) we were asked would we like to order a drink. The Monasterboice Inn is overpriced, overrated & I can only guess that locals fill it each night & perhaps have become accustomed to the canteen like dining experience it is.
No-one bothered to ask us was everything ok as we left.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monasterboice inn also viewed

Dunleer, County Louth
Drogheda, County Louth
 
Drogheda, County Louth
 

Been to Monasterboice inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monasterboice inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.