We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid steaks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monasterboice inn

Monasterboice inn
Monasterboice, Drogheda, Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 79 Restaurants in Drogheda
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Splendid steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have been stopping at the Monasterboice for more years than I care to remember. They serve the most splendid and often massive steaks. The Scampi is second to none. Generous portions of fish and the menu of the day is superb value. It is a Grill Bar so the side ourders are basically chips or chips or suate potatoes - not a big choice - although I highly recommend their Onion Rings

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    26
    20
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Poor dining experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

So not a great night in Donegans - firstly we were told there would be a 15min wait which was fine but it was over 40mins before we were seated. And despite having placed our order earlier it was another 10 mins before our starter of soup and a salad arrived. ......Not sure who was on kitchen duty but the fritter salad was drowned in oil and the citrus carrot & coriander soup was - well like marmalade.... We let the waitress know who said she had told the owner and that she would be over....... but no sign until she (the owner) came over to clear our main course. Even at that the issue of the starter wasn't even mentioned until we brought it up again. She didn't seem overly apologetic about it although in fairness we weren't charged for either starter.
Still - not great customer service or quality of food.............. Sadly we won't be back.
By the way ...... that was the value menu of €25 for 4 courses..... They need to take a trip to The Red Bank in Skerries who also offer €25 for 4 courses but hands down win on every aspect from food to choice to staff.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“really dissapointed .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

anyone thinking of going here for a nice meal think again FAT FAT FAT. everythin deep Fat fried.
I ordered a steak with vegetables I got 4 small florets of broccolli tinned musrooms and a big fat half tomato warm on the top and cold inside. Awful, the steak was just ok.
I complained re vegetables .
If you want EVERYTHING Deep FAT FRIED. scampi, chips garlic potatoes .french fried onions,
GO HERE CLOG UP YOUR ARTERIES.
I HAVE HAD SALADS here before as a side salad you could go to the deli and buy again FAT potatoe salad half a boiled egg red onion and lettuce. You could bring a lunch box with you and it would be more imaginative.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beware some reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I would be suspicious of some of the reviews below that are overtly negative toward this restaurant. One even mentions a dish he had that I know is not on the menu !
Another mentions the expensive steak - well if you don't want to pay €28 then don't order the 16oz fillet - do they not realise this size is nearly double what you get elsewhere.
This is a really good friendly restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good reliable fare but some dishes on the expensive side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Ate here last night with family. Decor hasn't changed in years but it is a good reliable restaurant. We got there around 5 and had no problem getting a table (we had no reservation). However, when we were leaving, all the tables were taken and there were people waiting to get a table. One had the chicken maryland which was delicious. The childrens menu was good value too. I had the surf and turf - 8oz fillet service with some battered scampi. A choice of potato dish was included. However, I felt this dish was somewhat over priced - there wasn't even a mushroom or onion garnish with the steak - side dishes of these were around the €4 mark which would have made an already expensive dish even more expensive. The food was very tasty indeed but overall a tad expensive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monasterboice inn also viewed

Dunleer, County Louth
Drogheda, County Louth
 
Drogheda, County Louth
 

Been to Monasterboice inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monasterboice inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.