We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food at good price.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salthouse Brasserie

Salthouse Brasserie
1 North Quay | Drogheda, Drogheda, Ireland (Formerly Salt House)
041 9834426
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 80 Restaurants in Drogheda
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Irish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Drogheda
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food at good price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Great food at good prices. The Eggs Benedict are a great start to a Sunday. On our last visit we had Tempura Lemon Sole for under €10!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    27
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Should never have moved!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Was a big fan of the Salthouse when it was located in the Green Door Hostel, since they moved I've visited twice for lunch and been disappointed both times. On our first visit my mum ordered the crab and crayfish but asked for it without onions, it was entirely tasteless and when I remarked on the to the owner he replied "well she should have kept the onions"...I have worked in the service industry and would not see that as appropriate. We decided to give it another shot and we both ordered the tempura which was to come with a mango salsa, again, my mother asked for no onions, it arrived with no salsa, the waitress never commented on this and offered no alternative! Someone should inform the kitchen that onions are not the only way to add taste! They still boast the nicest coffee beans in town but they should employ a barista who knows how not to burn the milk! All in all, really disappointing! Desserts are still top notch but that's about it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best in Drogheda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Had dinner in the Salt House on Saturday night. Food and service were both excellent. We chose lamb shank and seafood tempura for our mains. Both were excellent but the seafood tempura deserves a special mention for it's freshness and superbly light tempura batter! Never tasted better seafood anywhere!

Service was great, very polite and well paced! Not too fast and not too slow! Couldn't fault it!

On the night, there was entertainment by way of a young lady singer - she was brilliant!! We really liked her choice of music and she sang superbly. It all made for a great evening!

We'll definitely be back here again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Had a lovely lunch. Very reasonably priced and great service. A lot to choose from on the menu. Would highly recommend it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DROGHEDA
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good affordable food in pleasant surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I had lunch and breakfast here several times over the past few weeks. there is a great choice on the menu. If you are having breakfast i can recommend the eggs benedict. At lunchtime you really cant pass the Salthouse club sandwich which is great value at €7.50 including chips. However I concur with others that the chips let down the rest of the food! Desserts are tasty and I love the Impossible pie. I suggested to the waitress on our last visit that perhaps they might consider a medley of desserts which would give the opportunity to tempt those taste buds a little more.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salthouse Brasserie also viewed

Drogheda, County Louth
Drogheda, County Louth
 
Drogheda, County Louth
Drogheda, County Louth
 

Been to Salthouse Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salthouse Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.