We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as impressed this time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
The Savoy Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Henry Street, Limerick, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Limerick
Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not as impressed this time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

We've stayed at this hotel a few times over the last year and this was the first time we were a bit disappointed. As others have said the location, staff, breakfast, beds, gym and price are great.

This time however we had warm, not hot, showers no matter if it was 9am, 4pm or 11pm.

On one of the days there was a mixup in getting our room cleaned. Leaving the room at noon and coming back at 4:30pm, I was surprised to find it still not clean. 5 Minutes later a knock on the door and it's the cleaning staff. Given I'd just got back from the gym, I asked her to come back in an hour. She never showed back up.

We were also disappointed in the restaurant food. Room service sandwiches were ok and our dinner in the restaurant just ok. Given our dinner arrived 5 minutes after ordering, it had obviously been precooked and reheated in the microwave. The fruit at breakfast was fresh on Saturday morning but by Monday it was looking pretty sad.

I think we'll try elsewhere next time we're in Limerick.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    155
    54
    16
    11
See reviews for
96
276
19
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

We just came back from a fantastic, relaxing stay in the Savoy. I adore this little gem of a hotel! Previously, we had always skipped coming here as it used to be a bit on the expensive side when we priced it, but we got a fantastic rate for a bank holiday Saturday so were really looking forward to it. Room was on the 8th floor in a quiet corner as we had requested. Had a beautiful view of the city. The room itself was spotless, complimentary gowns and slippers, lovely Molton Brown shower products, lots of other really nice atttention to detail. The bed itself was so cosy, lots of lovely pillows so we genuinely have had the best sleep ever in a Limerick hotel. It is perfectly located, in the heart of Limerick and we had a great night out in Limerick itself. I have to say one of the nicest things about our stay were the staff. From the receptionist who was so genuinely friendly when she greeted us, to the staff going about their work who said hello with a smile, to the lovely night concierge who let us in at 3 in the morning (soaking wet from the rain!) they were fantastic. They really made us feel so welcome. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and we have stayed in many a hotel in Limerick at this stage. It is fantastic value for money (again trust me, I know from experience). We will definitely go back and maybe avail of the spa and sauna this time round. Thanks for a lovely, relaxing break!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010 via mobile

Had the most perfect weekend here, the staff were very genuine and could not do enough for us, we have stayed in many hotels but this experience was certainly a rare experience. Hamptons restaurant offers a well priced and broad menu, the food is amazing along with the service, could not fault our experience here.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

Wonderful Hotel. Stayed for two night and really enjoyed it. Great location for exploring the city. Staff have to be the best I have ever encountered anywhere, they could not do enough for you. Breakfast was very good as was dinner in Hamptons restaurant. Will be back to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

I'd read on here that the hotel was grubby and the spa not up to much, so I hadn't set my expectations too high. Well, what a load of nonsense. My room was beautiful, really comfortable and very, very clean. There was a view over John's Castle. The spa was utterly brilliant- one of the best massages I've had in years.

The hotel staff were really friendly and we had a beautiful dinner downstairs in the basement restaurant.

I'd absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Limerick.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

This is a lovely hotel and a really good location & value for money. Really comfortable beds, good food, nice but small gym & pool. Rob, Dublin

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

I went for a weekend break to the 5* Savoy. The hotel is perfectly located in the centre of the city. The hotel is lovely, clean, nice rooms, Staff very overly helpful. Breakfast was delicious. The pool is more of a 'big bath'. Hamptons restaurant was devine.
I would not class the rooms 5* they were lovely and I have no problems with them, but having stayed in a few 5* before, there was just no extras to make it a 5*.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Address: Henry Street, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Limerick
#3 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#4 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
#5 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Midwest Ireland, the Limerick Savoy Hotel on Henry Street is located in the centre of Limerick City close to the River Shannon. The Savoy, one of the finest hotels in Limerick, is just 12 miles from Shannon International Airport and 1 mile from the train station. Our guest rooms and suites offer luxurious bedding, high-speed Internet and a spacious work desk for the busy traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Limerick
Limerick Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.