We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Richard Harris suite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
The Savoy Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Henry Street, Limerick, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Limerick
Dubai, U.A.E.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“The Richard Harris suite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

My wife & I stayed at this hotel for two nights to celebrate our 50th anniversary. The entire experience could not have been better, thanks to the welcoming staff & the beautiful Richard Harris suite. From our arrival & check-in we were greeted by pleasant,efficient & helpful staff. The owners, Ann & Ronan seem to have their great management style percolate right through all the staff. The suite was really beautiful & the breakfast was as good as I have ever had. Our only regret was that we couldn't have stayed much longer at this fabulous hotel. Being smack in the centre of the city, everything is within walking distance, including the Hunt Museum & the beautifully restored King Johns Castle.

Room Tip: If it's available, try to stay in the Richard Harris suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    155
    54
    16
    11
See reviews for
96
276
19
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Booked the savoy last week for my husband 60 Birthday for a two night break and could not wait to get home. Frist day we arrived we wanted afternoon tea and we're told they were having a function in the dinning room, so they put us in a corner. While we ate they were constantly roiling tables and chairs around in front of us. The following morning we went down to breakfast. We were told they where having another function so they were not able to sevre us in the dinning room. They put us in a room with only ting coffee tables and we have to eat our breakfast off our laps. This is not 5 star standard by any means. On the next night they had a party in the function room that played music till 3 in the morning. And when the party was over they were loud in the hallways and banging doors. Didn't sleep all night. When I complained in the morning they were unapologetic. I cut my stay short it was that disappointed.

Room Tip: Do not book room 313 if you want a night sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We arrived in the Savoy to be greeted by pleasant accommodating staff at the reception desk. Staff on all aspects of the stay were extremely helpful and friendly and added to our stay. Rooms are lovely and spacious and in a prime location in the city centre a stones throw from the shops! I have to comment on our disappointing trip to the Hamptons restaurant, having heard such rave reviews we opted to make reservations in the restaurant. It is a stunning restaurant with fantastic waiters. However our food was ordered and within 3 minutes. (and this is no exaggeration) our food was brought to us. The idea of it being freshly prepared has to be questioned. Not only that but no sooner were we finished plates lifted off the table our main course was served followed by the dessert, tea and coffee we were so rushed we were finished a 4 course meal within the hour. I have dined in many establishments which have been slow with food service but this was too much too fast. Food was ok, not of the quality with which a 4/5 star hotel is associated with. Overall the hotel was beautiful but the restaurant really let our stay down. The breakfast was also of poor standard in my eyes. Overall the hotel is fantastic however food is its only downfall.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying in the Savoy hotel with a group of girls on Sat 30th Nov 2013. What a fantastic time we had. Hotel ambiance great, customer service second to non, facilities amazing. The bedrooms and in particular the beds were really comfortable, a great sleep! We ate in The Hamptons restaurant which is part of the hotel and all I can say is that it was out of this world. Such a good vibe in the place, food soooooo tasty and again fantastic service. I cannot say enough good things about our time in the Savoy Hotel Limerick. The hotel is just around the corner from fantastic shops and we did some retail therapy. Thank you so much and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: While this is a city centre hotel the rooms were quiet but we were on the 6th floor. Be prepared for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed here again with the excellent b&b/dinner offer which is brilliant value for money. Dinner at the
hamptons was again exceptional as was the breakfast. Service was top notch as always. With the brilliant location, service and food on offer I would highly recommend and look forward to our next opportunity to visit and hopefully stay a bit longer on next stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Excellent location right in the heart of town with great Irish hospitality. It's actually posted as a 5 star hotel. Right from the moment you check in, they make you feel right at home. Nice rooms although Henry street is a bit busy. After visiting several pubs, I had absolutely no trouble sleeping!
Superb breakfast.

Room Tip: I only saw the 5th floor but this floor had many suites and great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Perfectly located central city hotel. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. Upon arrival there was a strong smell of smoke in the room. Unfortunately we couldn't move rooms due to full occupancy. Swimming pool is too warm, and the smallest I have ever seen in a hotel.

Breakfast was fantastic and highly recommended. Cooked to order pancakes and omelettes, delicious ! Service lasts till noon, allowing a very late sleep in.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Address: Henry Street, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Limerick
#3 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#4 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
#5 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Midwest Ireland, the Limerick Savoy Hotel on Henry Street is located in the centre of Limerick City close to the River Shannon. The Savoy, one of the finest hotels in Limerick, is just 12 miles from Shannon International Airport and 1 mile from the train station. Our guest rooms and suites offer luxurious bedding, high-speed Internet and a spacious work desk for the busy traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Limerick
Limerick Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.