We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
The Savoy Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Henry Street, Limerick, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Limerick
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stay here a lot and it never fails us. Centrally located and very well run with one of the best bars in Limerick for cocktails. A small hiccup when we checked in (where we ended up with a room designed for the disabled and not a 6 footer) was quickly remedied. The standards are being maintained in the rooms and bathrooms. I love the sparkling water and he loves the still, provided gratis in the room. Breakfast is very good ....I especially enjoyed the porridge with whiskey. Plenty of cooked choices and a good buffet selection and it runs late. Dinner in Hamptons was not fine dining but a fun satisfying experience with great staff and service. Lunch and afternoon tea in the elegant and classy Liszt lounge are great. The scones are yummy and the seafood chowder is the best in Ireland. Checked In for 2 days...stayed 4. Great location for shopping. Will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    155
    54
    16
    11
See reviews for
96
276
19
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

The Savoy does not aspire to to high standards. The hotel is generally in need of redecoration and our room was very shabby and not particularly clean.
The food in the adjacent Hampton's Restaurant was dreadful on the evening we visited, although the place was packed so maybe we were unfortunate.
Staff were pleasant and helpful which compensated somewhat for an otherwise disappointing experience.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Me and my partner stayed in the Savoy for 1 night, the room was lovely nice size for the 2 of us, very clean etc exactly what you would expect! The bathroom was fab and had a shower and a bath separate both lovely! We parked in the Dunnes carpark across the road and it cost us €7.50 so wasnt too bad. We had food to the room, it was slightly colder than you would get it if you ate in the bar or the restaurant but still it was nice.The staff were very nice! I would definitely recommend a stay at the Savoy and we will definitely be back to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is a welcoming oasis in this not particularly attractive part of Limerick - a lovely space to sit and read the papers on Sunday afternoon to the tinkling of a piano. There is an upstairs restaurant area with a place for just chilling out and having a drink. Service is attentive and unobtrusive. I will return to eat in the near future

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I was really looking forward to staying here and we both arrived to a room with a view of the top of a multi story car park. Ok fair enough but realised the walls in our bedroom were covered with marks- it looked like it needed a paint! The mini fridge was warm! Steam and sauna was out of order- we also booked it to use the health spa facilities! we tried to change rooms but it was reportedly Booked up so we couldn't change rooms! Went to restaurant and had something to eat! Average food & bill came- and they attempted to overcharge us! Not impressed- apologised but we had enough at that stage!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luimneach!!
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

From start to finish our hotel stay was amazing!! From when we checked in with Laurier who was extremely friendly an efficient to our waiter saroj at dinner and breakfast who was extremely friendly and gave us the perfect service, they made out stay one to remember, dinner was fantastic with every course being absolutely delicious and the piano in the background topped it off, breakfast was perfect also. I can honestly say it was the best hotel stay we have experienced and I can't wait to go back and stay again!! Mojitos in the bar were also the best I've tasted. Such a great experience and fantastic value for money!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Address: Henry Street, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Limerick
#3 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#4 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
#5 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Midwest Ireland, the Limerick Savoy Hotel on Henry Street is located in the centre of Limerick City close to the River Shannon. The Savoy, one of the finest hotels in Limerick, is just 12 miles from Shannon International Airport and 1 mile from the train station. Our guest rooms and suites offer luxurious bedding, high-speed Internet and a spacious work desk for the busy traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Limerick
Limerick Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.