We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel, excellent staff, beautiful bedroom suites, excellent food and Bar. Very trendy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Absolute Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Absolute Hotel to your Saves list
Absolute Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sir Harry's Mall, Limerick, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Upgrade
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Hotel, excellent staff, beautiful bedroom suites, excellent food and Bar. Very trendy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

We stayed for two nights in October at the Hotel, it has secure parking, friendly and professional staff that go above and beyond to ensure we were happy with all facilites. The Bedroom suites were spacious, beautiful, spotlessly clean and had all mod con's. Wow bathroom, dividing wall panels between sitting room area with bedroom with two plasma t.v.'s. (Nice touch). The view was excellent (river views). A short four minute walk to the city centre. Hotel Bar was nice and lively. Evening meals and service excellent. Beautiful Hotel Spa/Hairdressers and new Gym facilities. Vending food/drink/ice machines on each floors near bedrooms. Genuinely very impressed with Hotel. Staff recomended excellent Bars and Night clubs in the City Centre, which were brilliant! Receptionists who checked us in were so obliging even though it was so busy there. Received complimentary 2 for 1 Cocktail vouchers and an excellent deal for 2 nights B & B with an evening meal with complimentary bottle of wine, also Spa Vouchers to relax and use the facilities. Trendy hotel and will definately return for another weekend break.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    350
    78
    16
    20
See reviews for
156
578
41
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

I stayed in Hotel for one night and it was enought. I got an ACN room and it was nice and spacious, i donno why people sometimes are afraid of accessible rooms. There was lots of space in a room. But... as for 4 star hotel breakfast was absolutely joke, i never seen such a small choise of breakfast (no yogurts, no fruit, no selection of jams and juice).
In a evening i tried to get a dinner in a bar, but it was strange that in 25 min. nobody came to the table to ask do i want something (maybe i had to go at the bar by myself, but in 4 star hotel order should be taken by waiter/waitress). So my patience finished and i had my dinner in a nice Indian restaurant in the city.
No WI-FI in a rooms??? Are we living in a 21st century? So had to bring my laptop down to the reception area to check my e-mails.
And the last thing which really surprised me was a deposit was taken from my card and on the check out was giving back as a cash. So after that I had to go back to bank and put my money back on my account. Isnt easier to take a pre-authorisation and then release money on a check out?
Not sure would i choose hotel again...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnachaGM, General Manager at Absolute Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2010
Dear GidoCork
Thanks for your comments but I don’t understand those regarding breakfast. We have locally produced natural yoghurt, fresh fruit salad, marmalade, raspberry jam, strawberry jam, honey in addition to orange and apple juice freely available on the buffet. Even if the buffet was empty at the time the team work hard to refill it.

In the bar we ideally try to deliver table service but during busy periods guests may have to order at the bar as the service becomes primarily drinks focused bur we will happily deliver to your table and look after you.
We have free wi fi in public areas and free wired internet in bedrooms which is still not the norm in many irish hotels. You appear not to have seen the tent card in the room promoting this and maybe the reception did not communicate it clearly.
For guests paying with laser or cash we have a clear deposit policy for bookings. This does not apply to credit card bookings as we can pre-authorise for the stay. It is not possible to pre-authorise laser cards . it is impossible to do.This policy appears not to have been clearly communicated so I will follow up with the desk team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Stayed here for one night and found this modern hotel to be quite nice. The room was large and I loved the shower (no tub to step in and out of). The parking is limited under the hotel but is free. Internet access is free in the common spaces as well.

The rooms were quiet and the beds were very comfortable. We tried out the bar and it was reasonably priced with good service.

This hotel is not hard to find (previous reviews had stated that). It is on the main road to Dublin, on the river and quite well seen from the road - right as the N7/N20 goes over the bridge on to King's Island, the hotel is right there. Not sure what the issue has been in the past.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

I found this through TripAdvisor for a one night stay before catching a flight the next morning out of Shannon. Very modern with reasonably sized rooms and fair price for the accomidations. Walked to the Rugby match Saturday night and several sights in Limerick with no problem.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Let me say straight away the hotel looks nothing spectacular from the outside but is nice inside espicially the rooms. The night I stayed I didnt have any hot water which meant no shower in the morning.(no bathtubs in rooms either) Having no water was a right pain especially when no one at reception knew or seemed interested when it would be back on. I left at 10.30am and it was still off. Heres a warning and a tip about room service, first the warning- €7.50 tray charge for food brought to your room yep €7.50 now the tip- order your food at the bar and take it up youself! The hotel is a 10min amble to the city centre where there are plenty of shops and bars. If you have not been to Ireland before you will discover that food and drink is very expensive, so fill your wallet you`ll need it. To sum up briefly nice hotel but it let me down on having no hot water or any communication from the staf!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnachaGM, General Manager at Absolute Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2010
Dear Alicanteman
Thanks for your comments. We did have a problem with the hot water and please believe that we were very interested in sorting out the problem!. As soon as we got complaints we realised we had a hotel wide issue, our maintainence team got onto it right away. We did send a message to all rooms on the hotel info TV channel but you did not see this. However I see our team at the desk did not convey properly that they understood what was happening or its effect on guests. This was not what should have happened. I will go back and review with the team.

We do have a €7.50 tray charge in place. You have identified a way to avoid it and that perfect with us!. The charge is clearly stated and unlike some other hotels our room service menu is not significantly more expensive than the lounge or restaurant menu. It is the exact same wherever consumed with the delivery charge. I understand it is expensive but we hope that our clear highlighting of it gives guests a choice.

The main thing I will be taking from your comment is ensuring the team communicate better with guests when there is an issue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

This hotel is very nice. The rooms are large, very clean and bright, and modern looking. We got a great deal through hotels.com -- buy two nights get the third for free.
The shower, as other reviews have mentioned, was excellent.
The free wireless internet didn't reach our room, but there was free wired internet, which worked fine.
As far as safety, which has been mentioned by others -- we had no issues, and we walked into town in the evening. If you have been to cities like New York or LA, you won't have any issues here. Just be aware of your surroundings.
It's about a 20 minute drive to the Shannon Airport.
Breakfast is 10 eur if you tell them the night before, and 12.50 eur if your order in the morning.
One issue -- the free underground garage is not big enough to hold every guest's car. There is street parking (for free from 6pm-8:30am and on Sunday) or a pay garage nearby. Get there early, and leave the car there, if possible.
Also, we had no trouble finding the hotel. It's right where the map indicates. It's walking distance from King John's Castle.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Cant fault the place - reasonable rates, large rooms, free cocktails, walking distance to the city.

We stayed in a suite which had a huge bath and a separate luxurious shower. The 'suites' arent huge by other hotel standards, but at the very reasonable prices on offer they are well worth the upgrade!

All the staff were really helpful and polite too. Really liked this hotel will defo go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Absolute Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Hotel

Address: Sir Harry's Mall, Limerick, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
#2 Business Hotel in Limerick
#2 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#4 Family Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Absolute Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great rooms, gre­at food and friendly service in a really stunning hotel situated on a bend on the Abbey River in Limerick City.­ Here in the Medieval Quarter of Limerick we are only minutes walk away from King Johns Castle and the Hunt Museum, not to mention the amazing Milk Market with its artisan producers. The Absolute Hotel Limerick is the perfect base from which to get the best out of the city­ be it business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Absolute Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Absolute Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.