We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Absolute Hotel

Save Saved
You added Absolute Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Absolute Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sir Harry's Mall, Limerick, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Glass of Wine
Ranked #2 of 19 hotels in Limerick
Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The hotel is good value for money. Very modern, clean, comfortable and well equipped rooms. Some rooms have good views over the river. Free secure parking. The car park is small and gets full quickly. There is a multistorey nearby which requires an overnight fee. Restaurant food is good and reasonably priced. Breakfast is not included in the room price and is 10 euros for the buffet. If you are very hungry and plan on eating a lot, then this is worth it, but there are probably better options outside the hotel. The predominantly Irish staff are extremely pleasant and friendly in a natural way (the best feature of the hotel).

The hotel is modern and open plan. The noise from the bar pervades the whole hotel, but on the occasions I have stayed there it quietens down around 11.30. I was not disturbed by noise in the night. The hotel seems to be a popular party hotel at weekends. . Matresses are on the firm side. I found the hotel very hard to find. I think you really need satnav to locate it easily.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    641
    296
    68
    12
    19
See reviews for
129
503
35
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Hotel ok,bed like a rock,shower cold no matter how high you turned the hot tap on,steem room broken,empty cups left on the floor in the spa, in the hour I was in the spa no attendent came in to see if we were alive or dead.Hot tub, only half the jets were working,Want a in and out hotel in limerick its ok.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnachaGM, General Manager at Absolute Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Wet and cold is certainly not a good experience for a hotel to give. So first off Sorry.
I did investigate and there is nothing structurally wrong with the bed but I accept that it was hard as different people do report back different things. It looks like our hot water demand boiler tripped so there was a shortage of hot water. That is being dealt with, however I accept it is totally unacceptable. The Escape Spa is operated the Escape Spa Group and I have passed these comments onto them to action. I agree that they are indeed poor. I hope that at some stage you might return and we can deliver the experience we should have in the first place.
Regards

Donnacha Hurley
General Manager
Donnacha@absolutehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I travel a lot on business and it is so lovely to visit a hotel where they remember that you have been there before and give you a nice warm welcome. I arrived tired to the Absolute Hotel after a long journey, the staff at reception were just delightful, they remembered that I had visited the hotel before many times and welcomed me back like an old friend! My room was lovely, spacious and luxurious, spotlessly clean. I also attended a BNI breakfast meeting, the meeting room was great, the breakfast choices were extensive! Well worth a visit

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipp
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Took a night off and headed for the Absolute on the recommendation of a friend and it was a very welcome break!. Staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating and I will certainly make a return visit. I took a suite and it was very spacious, well laid out and comfortable, def. worth the slight extra cost. Location is excellent, just a short walk to the city centre, onsite parking available although not obvious on arrival!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Three of us had Sunday lunch in the Absolute Hotel restaurant.
The food was very good, the service was great (the waitress Lorraine was wonderful!) and the ambiance (overlooking Abbey river) was most satisfactory.
I would recommend the Absolute for good eating.

Room Tip: Try to get table near river-view window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stopped here through work for 3 nights. Hotel food ok but glad I wasn't paying! For food try The Oyster House on Georges Quay they do great steaks. On the Saturday night they had a function on and my room was on the 2nd floor and I could here them till 1am not good. Breakfast on Fri,Sun ok Think the chef must have phoned in sick on the Saturday.

Room Tip: Make sure your not above the function room or the same floor as the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnachaGM, General Manager at Absolute Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Sorry we only delivered 2/3. That clearly is not good enough and you have some fair comments. We really try to be careful on room allocations at weekends but I can see that our function disturbed you. I’ll take the feedback on the breakfast but any further clarification would be welcome so I might follow up

Kind regards
Donnacha Hurley
General Manager
Donnacha@absolutehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilkenny
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

just back from weekend in absolute hotel in limerick had a great experience from the time we arrived all staff from reception to bar and restraurant couldnt b more helpful. rooms were fab and spotless. food was wery tasty,very well presented and reasonably priced.location was 10 minutes walk to city centre. when in limerick again we will definitely stay here

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Absolute Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Hotel

Address: Sir Harry's Mall, Limerick, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Limerick
#2 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
#2 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#3 Family Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Absolute Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great rooms, gre­at food and friendly service in a really stunning hotel situated on a bend on the Abbey River in Limerick City.­ Here in the Medieval Quarter of Limerick we are only minutes walk away from King Johns Castle and the Hunt Museum, not to mention the amazing Milk Market with its artisan producers. The Absolute Hotel Limerick is the perfect base from which to get the best out of the city­ be it business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Absolute Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Absolute Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.