We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two wonderful nights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Limerick Strand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Limerick Strand Hotel to your Saves list
Limerick Strand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Limerick
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Two wonderful nights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Thank you, Limerick Strand Hotel, for two restful and relaxing nights at your place by the Shannon River. We used your location for sightseeing day trips to the beautiful areas nearby: The Cliffs of Moher and Galway, farmland and scenic areas. Wonderful accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    347
    106
    57
    34
See reviews for
287
439
66
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

This is a modern, spacious, comfortable, clean, business type hotel located in central Limerick on the banks of the River Shannon. Staff were very friendly. We (both couples) got upgraded to Jr. Suites overlooking the river which was fantastic, especially at night. The sliding glass doors opened into a glass enclosed balcony which added to the ambience at night. It is walking distance to Georges Quay where many restaurants with outdoor seating along the river are....very convenient. This was a welcomed changed from the smaller, older, non-updated hotels in the various smaller cities (Galway, Kenmare and Dublin) we stayed at. We would have loved to have spent an extra night or two.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a Jr. Suite facing the River Shannon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I have stayed here now and again over some years, even when it was a Hilton. It has all standard facilities, as well as a spa, and the rooms are large and modern. The standard is as good now as it was then although the restaurant food is very disappointing. The service in the restaurant in the evening was terribly slow and it was very cool in there (too cold for me). I went out to eat on the 2nd night and had room service on the third to avoid this. The chowder was good, but the chips were 'chunky' to say the least; the croque monsieur which was the least like a croque monsieur that I have ever had. Still it filled a gap. There are better places to eat in the city - the centre is a short walk over the bridge. The maid didn't leave me any refreshed coffee two days running and inadvertently took my face flannel which I had brought with me. This latter was replaced by the head housekeeper but it shouldn't happen really. The bed.....very squeaky every time I turned over. I think the mattress/bed is not very new. The air conditioning/heating was too cool so I left that off. These are small niggles though and if the food were better this would be first class. I will stay again though as it is convenient and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison Park, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Stayed 3 nights at the Strand, nice large restaurant, comfortable lobby with room for seating, some outdoor seating also. Excellent location in Limerick, walkable to St John's Castle and just across the bridge(short walk) from main street in Limerick. Just out of the hub bub enought to keep it quiet. Clean, comfortable rooms. About a half hour from Shannon airport by taxi.

Room Tip: My room did not have a river view, request if you would want this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

I booked a spa weekend break in the hotel months in advance but to our horror when we arrived on the Friday evening after a long drive we were told at reception that the Spa had actually closed down 4 weeks ago. Nobody had even attempted to get in touch with us once in the 4 weeks to let us know in advance that the Spa had closed. Very poor customer service in this day and age.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Location is great. Rooms are nice with windows that open for fresh air. Internet works fast and good. Beds and pillows were super. Cable is good.

Housekeeping was a little weird as you had to request washclothes. Not real sparing on a extra towel or two even if you ask.

The breakfast Buffett is fantastic. 7-10 weekdays. 7-11 weekends. Fruit, salad, wonderful Irish bacon, black-white pudding ..unbelievably great banana nutbread.....chef for made to order omlets .....a tad hard to get seated as someone is not always there to greet/seat you. Just about anything you could imagine...very reasonable for the quality.. A++

AC was a tad hard to set and it seemed to turn off in the middle of the night. Pretty cool nights there so an open window kept us nice and cool.

Overall, very good for business or personal stay.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are not on the street and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We ended up here after a drive around the wild Atlantic way with my brother and his wife who were visiting from America. To put it briefly, the staff were very polite and accomodating, the meal we had in the bar was very nice and the rooms were very clean, Beds comfortable and overall was very very reasonably priced. Very impressed and will certainly stay again if in the area.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Limerick Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limerick Strand Hotel

Address: Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Limerick Strand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Limerick Strand Hotel is an award winning 4*hotel ideally located on O'Callaghan Strand in the heart of Limerick City Centre, Irelands National City of Culture 2014. With stunning vistas of The River Shannon and a birds-eye view of every landmark in the historical city the Limerick Strand Hotel is the ideal venue for both business and pleasure trips. The hotel offers a friendly, inviting atmosphere where guests feel comfortable and well taken care of. Executive Head Chef, Tom Flavin winner of Best Chef Limerick 2013 (Irish Restaurant Awards) and his culinary team pride themselves in serving the finest quality of Irish and international cuisine, with an emphasis on fresh, seasonal produce with all the food traceable and where possible with an emphasis on using locally produced products. With incredible conference and banqueting facilities the hotel was awarded "Best Business Hotel in Ireland 2014, Georgina Campbell, the Limerick Strand is the preferred venue for weddings, events and meetings. The Energize Health Centre is the top spot in Limerick to boost your fitness levels or simply enjoy laid-back leisure. Energize boasts not one but four pools, including a 20 metre swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Limerick Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Limerick Strand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.