We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Limerick Strand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Limerick Strand Hotel to your Saves list
Limerick Strand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Limerick
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed with my family on Sunday August 4th, 2013. I can not say enough good things about the hotel. Rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean. I have to say I found the staff to be fantastic. They were pleasant and helpful at all times. I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    347
    106
    57
    34
See reviews for
287
439
66
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Killarney, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Me and my wife stayed for one night recently at the Limerick strand hotel & we have to say that it will live long in the memory,from the moment we arrived to our departure it was truly one of the best hotel experiences ever. we met Cliodhna on arrival who was so helpful and cheery, we asked about the cost of a room upgrade and were told that it had been complimentary upgraded(we stayed last year for my wife's birthday and it was around the same date).a small jesture but it is all these little things that make the difference. we stayed in room 116 a junior suite, wow! the room had everything, so much room and comfort and balcony looking out over the city in a glass enclosure, pure class. we later dined in the bar having dined in the restaurant the previous year & all we can say is that the food was simply amazing and the staff in the bar brilliant, courteous and good humoured, you got the feeling that they liked their jobs, again makes a big difference. The following morning the breakfast was exceptional again.
I originally came across the Limerick Strand hotel on business and i guess you could say first impressions last or with regard to this hotel it exceeded expectation.
in closing we would like to thank every one at the hotel from management to staff for the best hotel experience, and we have stayed in quite a few.
We couldn't recommend it highly enough and will be recommending it to all our friends and relations and look forward to our next stay there, it won't come fast enough.
thanks to all!!!!!

Room Tip: go for a junior suite for that little bit of luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here 2 weeks ago and found it to be very clean and comfortable. I was on the fourth floor, which has a lounge with fruit, coffee and snacks, a great idea. Definitely would stay here again. The restaurant was adequate, and the service was very good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here in July and have to say its a fantastic hotel, everything from check in at a busy desk was done with ease and efficiently, rooms are lovely , worth the extra money to upgrade to suites with veranda , bar staff good with good service , especially Peter who was always pleasant, leisure centre very good also, breakfast lovely too, over all no complaints for this lovely well managed hotel !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co wicklow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Secure underground parking was the first plus and a convenient lift to Reception. Check-in speedy and very friendly. The triple room - for three adults - was spacious and spotless. We had a snack in the bar which was very good. Reception ordered a taxi for us - service with a smile again. Later that evening we had drinks in large foyer as there was music in the bar but we wanted to chat in comfort. Breakfast the next morning was very good value with an array of food to please any taste. Would certainly recommend this hotel. It was also amazing value for money!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twokidsmom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel is set up for business travelers. The room was large and clean and the bathroom was quite nice. We were staying as a family and flying out of Shannon which was very convenient. In general there is not a lot to see or do in Limerick and is certainly not a must see while in Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had a decent stay here however my room smelled of stale cigarettes. We ate the hotel restaurant and one of the servers was absolutely horrible. Very rude and not very helpful at all. Otherwise the hotel is converniently located and fine for sleeping.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Limerick Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limerick Strand Hotel

Address: Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Limerick Strand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Limerick Strand Hotel is an award winning 4*hotel ideally located on O'Callaghan Strand in the heart of Limerick City Centre, Irelands National City of Culture 2014. With stunning vistas of The River Shannon and a birds-eye view of every landmark in the historical city the Limerick Strand Hotel is the ideal venue for both business and pleasure trips. The hotel offers a friendly, inviting atmosphere where guests feel comfortable and well taken care of. Executive Head Chef, Tom Flavin winner of Best Chef Limerick 2013 (Irish Restaurant Awards) and his culinary team pride themselves in serving the finest quality of Irish and international cuisine, with an emphasis on fresh, seasonal produce with all the food traceable and where possible with an emphasis on using locally produced products. With incredible conference and banqueting facilities the hotel was awarded "Best Business Hotel in Ireland 2014, Georgina Campbell, the Limerick Strand is the preferred venue for weddings, events and meetings. The Energize Health Centre is the top spot in Limerick to boost your fitness levels or simply enjoy laid-back leisure. Energize boasts not one but four pools, including a 20 metre swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Limerick Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Limerick Strand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.