We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hen Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Limerick Strand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Limerick Strand Hotel to your Saves list
Limerick Strand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Limerick
banagher
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Brilliant Hen Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed at Limerick Strand Hotel for my sisters Hen weekend, it was the May Bank Holiday weekend and very busy with weddings and other hens. Despite the fact that they were so busy our rooms were ready early, we checked in very quickly. We had a fantastic suite which my sister lovely, comfy beds, great food. Also a great cocktail demonstration which went down very well. All staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel and will be back. Also just want to mention Amy Gribben in reservations who was an excellent help to me in organising our weekend.

Room Tip: Splash out on a suite, really worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    347
    106
    57
    34
See reviews for
287
439
66
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I have stayed at the strand on a few occasions and in the main it has been good. The food is good the rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is fantastic. This weekend however, we paid more than usual for the stay and to be honest it was the least impressive. The hotel was busy understandably, however that is no excuse for the standard in service to drop. The receptionist was abbrupt and bordering on being rude at check in. My husband had the same experience an hour later as he arrived later than I. The bar on the Saturday night was full of tables that hadn't been cleared and not only did we have to clear our own table to sit down so did others. Not the end of the world I know, however you would expect more from a four star hotel. Overall I was disappointed this time round.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We arrived at his hotel, as part of a trip package with rail-tours Ireland. The reception area is beautiful and they welcomed us warmly. We had a beautiful room, so modern with a king bed. we were not expecting this,a s most rooms in Europe are double, single. The rooms was large clean, and very modern. We had a corner room overlooking the Shannon River. The hotel had two restaurants and a fitness center like no other. There was pool, jacuzzi, sauna,,steam room, and we hadn't brought our suits. the staff was helpful. We wanted to find a restaurant we had looked up, and with not a blink of an eye, they pointed us in the right direction.
The breakfast that was included the next morning was a buffet type. Something for everyone.

Room Tip: I think any room here would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel, very clean and staff so helpful. Location is ideal and is right in the city centre just a short walk over the bridge. Room was very clean and spacious. Food was excellent very tasty and room service was very quick if your not in form to dine in the dining room. All in all I had an excellent stay here will return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I totally enjoyed my stay at The Limerick Strand Hotel. The staff at the reception and dining are just great, the rooms very comfortable and the food great. The location is just great. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Limerick. Definitely 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough for their professional services and their planning the great success of my daughters recent 21st Party .I had 40 guests attending and the choice of the menu was excellent and nobody was disappointed . I agreed a Theme with the management and that was Snow White and I ordered a fantastic cake from Zest and this is where the Magic was that made it so special .

Unfortunately I have only one great daughter and had I more I would be planning already my next event .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Varm and friendly atmosphere, excellent location - and the best hotel bed i´ve slept in, in my 40 years of travelling - i really can´t find anything bad to say about ouer stay :-) Highly recomendable.
Claus Severin - Denmark

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Limerick Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limerick Strand Hotel

Address: Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Limerick Strand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Limerick Strand Hotel is an award winning 4*hotel ideally located on O'Callaghan Strand in the heart of Limerick City Centre, Irelands National City of Culture 2014. With stunning vistas of The River Shannon and a birds-eye view of every landmark in the historical city the Limerick Strand Hotel is the ideal venue for both business and pleasure trips. The hotel offers a friendly, inviting atmosphere where guests feel comfortable and well taken care of. Executive Head Chef, Tom Flavin winner of Best Chef Limerick 2013 (Irish Restaurant Awards) and his culinary team pride themselves in serving the finest quality of Irish and international cuisine, with an emphasis on fresh, seasonal produce with all the food traceable and where possible with an emphasis on using locally produced products. With incredible conference and banqueting facilities the hotel was awarded "Best Business Hotel in Ireland 2014, Georgina Campbell, the Limerick Strand is the preferred venue for weddings, events and meetings. The Energize Health Centre is the top spot in Limerick to boost your fitness levels or simply enjoy laid-back leisure. Energize boasts not one but four pools, including a 20 metre swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Limerick Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Limerick Strand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.