We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hidde gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wild Duck, Castleconnell

The Wild Duck, Castleconnell
Main street, Castleconnell, Limerick *, Ireland
+(353)61-377766
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 195 restaurants in Limerick
Price range: $14 - $38
Cuisines: European
Good for: Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
ct
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“a hidde gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were staying in O'Briensbridge and needed a place a eat.This was recommended by our B & B. Family owned business with excellent service, wonderful food, and reasonable pricing. Local cuisine made to order. Would highly recommend if you are in the area for dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWildDuck, Owner at The Wild Duck, Castleconnell, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear upsnam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide a review of The Wild Duck Restaurant. We really appreciate your feedback.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. If you are staying in O'Briens Bridge or anywhere nearby again in the future, we would be delighted to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
Eric, Mary & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    4
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cant wait till my next visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a family birthday here of 16 guests. The tables were laid out beautifully and we were in a private area of the restaurant. Every thing from the service,to the food and value for money was fantastic. The homemade breads went down a treat especially with the pea soup. The steaks were cooked to perfection. The homemade sticky toffee pudding was to die for. The staff were very attentive and friendly. A great night was had by all. Looking forward to our next visit. Highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWildDuck, Owner at The Wild Duck, Castleconnell, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Ollymcn,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of The Wild Duck Restaurant. We really appreciate it.
We are delighted that your party enjoyed your evening with us and were happy with all aspects of the service. Our team is always working on new ideas for dishes and were very pleased you enjoyed our homemade breads and sticky toffee pudding. (It's a family favourite!)

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Eric, Mary & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place for Sunday lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Great food & lovely decor. Lots of potential to be a superb local restaurant. Staff are lovely and helpful. Would like to see a more confident service from the lovely staff & more light inside. Overall we enjoyed very much and will return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWildDuck, Owner at The Wild Duck, Castleconnell, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Limerick-local,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of The Wild Duck Restaurant.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your meal and intend on returning to us. We appreciate your feedback and will certainly take on board your comments regarding the confidence of our staff and the light inside the restaurant. Customer feedback is important to us in ensuring we provide a good service to our customers.

Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Eric, Mary & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleconnell, Ireland
1 review
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A little taste of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We feel very lucky this little gem is in Castleconnell.

A family operation, with Eric in the kitchen, his lovely wife, Mary out front and the rest of the family pulling together to make this place truly something special.

There is a fantastic choice on the menu, each dish offering an unusual accompaniment.

I had the Mushroom Risotto to start and I have to say it was the best I've ever had. Risotto can be a very bland dish, but with a fresh pesto and parmesan garnish this dish was far from boring. I followed my starter with the Sea Bass in a Lemon Butter, which was served with fried Asparagus in batter. A really nice take on Fish and Chips. My husband, who does not like fish, unbelievably was very taken with this dish. He had the Chicken Liver Pate, which was light, fluffy and full of flavour, followed by a Rib Eye Steak with Pepper Sauce, which was just perfect.

And the desserts are no disappointment either, fluffy yet chewy Pavlova and a rich, creamy but very lemony cheesecake offer the perfect end to a culinary delight.

You can undoubtably see that Eric has a natural flair, incredible talent and is genuinely interested in food and serving the best food that he can, and in my opinion he does this with great ease.

The only downside I would say is that the premises itself has always struggled to retain atmosphere - but some subtle draping, plants and soft furnishings would dampen this echoey room.

The complimentary homemade treacle brown bread should be sold over the counter to the masses. I am working on it.

I really cannot wait until my next visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWildDuck, Owner at The Wild Duck, Castleconnell, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear TaraDeLH,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of The Wild Duck Restaurant.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and are very pleased that you are looking forward to your next visit.
We also appreciate your feedback regarding the restaurant itself, and are currently working on improving the atmosphere to provide a relaxed and cosy setting.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Eric, Mary & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely Saturday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was very nice I had the most amazing it was parsnip and coconut with fab scones this a new restaurant and worth a trip to I haven't been there in the evening but have heard only good reports

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWildDuck, Owner at The Wild Duck, Castleconnell, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear annemariejl,

Thank you very much for your review of TheWild Duck Restaurant.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. We hope to see you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Eric, Mary & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wild Duck, Castleconnell also viewed

Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 

Been to The Wild Duck, Castleconnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wild Duck, Castleconnell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.