We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as impressive as reviews imply.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Nostra Limerick - CLOSED

Casa Nostra Limerick
Mount Kennet Place, Limerick, Ireland
061400555
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Casa Nostra Limerick is a relaxed, traditional Italian Restaurant in the heart of Limerick City. The restaurant’s appeal lies in its natural warmth & charm, offering newcomers an atmosphere that would make you feel like you are dining in the heart of Sardinia or Rome. Whether you are dining with a loved one, friends, family, colleagues or entertaining business clients, Casa Nostra offers an intimate & elegant setting with an informal family atmosphere, sumptuous food & excellent service.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not as impressive as reviews imply.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I ate here on a Saturday night. The place was busy and there was a nice buzz in the room. The restaurant was clean, as were the bathrooms. Menu is large but with poor vegetarian options in my opinion. My partner enjoued his steak main and seafood starter. I did not have a starter as nothing enticed me and i also felt limited for my mains - i ordered a salad, it was a very very small portion - akin to a starter. I was not impressed.

We declined dessert as nothing interested us. It was a bit of a "meh" experience overall. Service was a bit all over the place - we were given food before being given cutlery etc. We had to also get up to pay our bill as we could not get the attention of either of the servers for quite some time despite the place not being that busy. We were also left looking at empty plates for quite some time while one of the servers cleared plates from an empty table next to us - logic would dictate you deal with the tables with customers at them first.

I dont feel the need to come back here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antonio g, Owner at Casa Nostra Limerick, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Having read your review, I checked our records and see that you were at Table 20, for 19.30 for 2 people on the 28th September. I am obviously disappointed with your review and will respond to you point by point because I take all criticisms into account in order to imporove our business. I personally welcomed you and your partner that evening, I also took you order and you seemed uncomfortable even then. Your partner asked if you wanted a starter or wine etc and you declined. I also felt uncomfortable at that point but your partner seemed happy to order the Gamberi all'Aglio as a starter and the Steak as a main. You as I recall ordered a salad. You didn't ask me for any advice on potential vegetarian options, of which there are many and in view of the fact that we cook to order I could have made something special for you as I do for many regular clients. I personally served your partner and he was very happy not only with his starter but specifically with his main course. As far as the cutlery is concerned, not having taken a starter you already had cutlery and my partner had also informed you that she was returning immediately with a steak knife for your partner. As I had realised that you were already not happy even when you arrived, I told the staff to let me deal with you personally and I disagree with you entirely as far as service is concerned. Our many reviews in this area speak for themselves. As far as settiling your bill and rushing people from their table by removing plates immediately I never hassle clients as I prefer to let people decide for themselves when they want to leave. When your partner came to pay we had a lovely chat, I asked him if he was happy and he said absolutely. As always I gave 100% but this clearly was not enough in this case. There is nothing constructive in your review and as far as the cleanliness of the restaurant and the bathrooms is concerned I know they are clean as I clean them myself every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    37
    9
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Genoa, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A brillant choice in Limerick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Usually I don't go to italian restaurant when I'm abroad. Last night I did it and... it has been excellent. Delicious meal, nice people, good atmosphere. Recommended, for sure.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
296antoniog, Owner at Casa Nostra Limerick, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We are delighted you did to choose to visit us and enjoyed your meal so much, speriamo che la prossima volta che ti troverai qui a Limerick ti vedremo di nuovo!
Saluti, Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Sardinian sophistication with a rustic edge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Its discreet dark frontage down one of Limerick's less salubrious streets, Mt Kennett, belies the warmth and familiarity - literally, it's a family run joint - of Casa Nostra restaurant. Open for lunch and evening meals, black goth chandeliers hang over plain wood tables that are set pleasingly apart.
It's a big hanger of a room but staff here work it wit and professionalism, creating an atmosphere beyond the aroma of great tuck and fine wines. Salice Salentino for €21? Welcome to Sardinia by way of Treaty City.
Terrific for rustic pizzas, and the baby at €6.50 is an ideal lunch; any bigger and you leave with supper under your oxter.
By night, all sorts of lovelies such as seared seabass, an enormous cheese plate, saltimbocca and steaks, and a chicken/ veal in a marsala rich cream sauce really do the biz.
All told, it's a happy place, this Casa Nostra and packing in the punters by virtue of sheer attraction: build it and they will come.
We have.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
296antoniog, Owner at Casa Nostra Limerick, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Wow! What a review! Grazie mille,
A presto, Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“tasty food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

had a lovely diner in this beeutifull restaurant today,and all i can say,that you wont get it any where els in limerick,sooo tasty,and clean. relaxing atmosphere very welcomeing friendly staff.we will definitely return with more friends,i still have the tast of the food in my mouth.tanx very much to all the staff and the special thanks to gentlemen mr antonio.we will see u very soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
296antoniog, Owner at Casa Nostra Limerick, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
You are very kind Sir and thank you so much. We look forward to seeing you again soon!!
Grazie, Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best TIRAMISU' in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

In Casa Nostra you can find the authentic Italian cuisine. Here there are no attempts of imitation, as the owner is from Sardinia and he knows his business !
You can choose among a diverse menu, including pizza, pasta, fish and meat, and in case ask the always friendly staff to adapt it to your specific needs/taste.
I was especially impressed by the tiramisù, which you surely can't find as good anywhere in Limerick.
Bravo Antonio !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
296antoniog, Owner at Casa Nostra Limerick, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Google Translation
Sei un signore, grazie mille, Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Nostra Limerick also viewed

Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Nostra Limerick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.