We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Limerick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Limerick to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Limerick
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Steamboat Quay, Limerick, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Limerick
dublin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Food is fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I can't review the rooms as didn't stay at the hotel but attended the parties there a few times & had lunch there a few time. Food is really nice - curry is a really Curry! And all the options I went for when at the Birthday/ Christening etc. were always nice - chicken/pork. The desserts were also nice. Staff members were all pleasant. Leisure centre is also nice/ I got got membership there a few years ago - area is small but they have everything - swimming pool, steam room, sauna etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    243
    123
    40
    28
See reviews for
98
224
33
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Agadir
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I have stayed at least Three Times.....over the past two years and am Dissapointed, Truly Amazed by the Unfair and Non-Objective Comments submitted by a few reviewers.
On One Occassion...Its True to Say, I did have a short wait at the Reception But this was Soley Due to the Staff being very busy; I was given a Warm, Friendly, Professional welcome and the Booking In Process was completed in a Matter Of Moments.
Throughout my stay, I found the Staff Members at All Levels were Excellent...Even to the Point Where A Porter attended my room and Helped Me with set up my computer.....as I could'nt manage on my own.
The Breakfasts were Exceptional, The Restaurant and Meals Served Therein were Ist Class and because of My Experiances ( overall ) have told my Family and Friends who have Not Only
Stayed....But Had Good Stays...on each occassion.
Liam V.D.Kirken

Room Tip: Rooms on the Upper Levels are Quieter, During Busy Periods.....Best of these that Overlook the River...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bracknell
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stayed here for three nights and found the hotel clean and all the staff friendly and polite, the website for this hotel does not show how good it is but I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is either on business or leisure.

Room Tip: ask for rooms with a view over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clarion Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us before Christmas. A lot of work has recently been done on our website in order to make the site more user friendly, with better information on the hotel itself, our special offers and tourist attractions in the area. Thank you for our lovely comments regarding our staff and hotel, they are very much appreciated.I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Laura McNamara, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My family & I attended Sunday lunch at the Clarion hotel yesterday the 3rd of November and I would like to complement the hotel on the quality of food and service.
We ate in the Synergie Restaurant and enjoyed the Buffet Lunch, which had a great choice that appealed to my parents, parents in law, my husband and I and also our 2 young children aged 7 and 4.
The girl that served us ( I think her name was Magda) was so helpful and accommodating. It was my husbands 40th birthday and I had left a cake in the fridge. Magda did everything to ensure we were looked after and even so far as reserved seating for us in the bar afterwards where our other family members were meeting us.
My father in law is in a wheelchair and we found the hotel very friendly
The kids playroom was very clean and well equipped with toys and games for the kids, this is a fantastic service to the hotel.

I would just like to compliment the hotel on their quality service and I will certainly be recommending it to my friends and family and will certainly return ourselves again soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Paddy in Orlando
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 1 night while on business in Limerick. Big hotel, room was ok but this place is definitely not worth the cost of staying. Carpets a bit ratty, signage very poor. Breakfast was pretty vile - obviously cheap ingredients. They tried to overcharge me when checking out. Room was ok. There's plenty of competition in Limerick so I think this place needs to smarten their act up.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionHotelLimerick, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that you found your breakfast to be of a poor standard and that we tried to overcharge you on checkout. This is certainly not the normal standard in my hotel. Should you be returning to the area, I would appreciate if you could drop me an email directly so that I can make sure that we take very good care of you. Kind regards, Ivan Tuohy General Manager (ituohy@clarionhotellimerick.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

As a regular visit to the Limerick area on business, I decided to change away from my usual hotel and spend a night in the Clarion - something I've long been intending to do. Externally the building is impressive and towers above the city Skyline so naturally I was expecting great things on the inside - boy, was I wrong.

On arrival to the hotel, the first thing to strike me was that there was no receptionist behind the desk. It was at least 5 minutes before one of the girls spotted me, and after that check-in was pretty straightforward.

My room was on the 10th floor and on exiting the lift the first thing I noticed was how run down the corridor was. Scuff marks on the walls, stained carpets etc. On a strange side note, the doors to the rooms would not be out of place in a 1950's council flat, and the lack of lever's on each means they slam hard shut.

The bedroom itself was a good size, clean and the view over the river was truly amazing.

The bathroom was again quite big, with all of the usual facilities you'd expect. However the shower was broken, and hanging our of the wall so when used, water sprayed in every direction.

The bed itself was truly awful - the worst I every slept in. I'd have been more comfortable sleeping on the floor. Add to that the cheap duvet and pillows, and the fact that when I got into the bed, it hadn't been made properly and all of the sheets were bunched in up at the bottom which meant it had to be made again. Finally, the straps that keep the mattress topper on the bed were both broken and that made it worse.

One of the bedside lights had a bulb missing which was strange.

Noise around the hotel at night is minimal, apart from the occasional slamming door, as mentioned above.

I tried to order dinner to the room - so frustrating! When I called room service, it went straight to an unactivated voicemail. I then called reception who transferred me over, and again I got a voicemail. Eventually the receptionist took my order, and when the food arrived, it was cold with no condiments! By that stage I couldn't be bothered calling again.

Next morning, I got up and expected breakfast to arrive at 07.30 as per my instructions left outside, however it didn't get to the room until 08.20. Tried calling room service, but alas it went to the same voicemail as the night before. Once again the food was cold, and this time they didn't even give me a spoon to eat the cereal!

Checkout was also a mess as none of the food I had ordered was on the bill, so she had to chase someone down to get this sorted. Then an €8.50 parking charge was attached to bill.

I didn't get to use the spa/bar facilities so I cannot comment on these.

All in all, a very unpleasant and disappointing experience. The hotel looks fantastic on the outside, but inside there is much work to be done.

There are nicer hotels, costing less not far away!

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking room up high, with a working shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

we booked it because of ratings etc.. I don't know who wrote these reviews...but they are out of their minds..the hotel hallways smell like wet dog and cigarettes..i was on a non smoking floor...the staff was rude and unfriendly, we were on our honeymoon and overjoyed with happiness the front desk guy killed that...there was a stabbing in front of our hotel the next morning and the Garda where outside...the place is an absolute dump...it was listed as a four star hotel on Travelocity...hahaha...maybe a 2 star,,,but that's it and that's not even being tough

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionHotelLimerick, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that you found our corridors to be of a poor standard. This is certainly not the normal standard in my hotel; we work hard to ensure that the hotel is kept very clean and that it is presented well every day of the week. We receive many very positive comments on our hotel and in particular our warm and friendly staff. Regarding your comments on a stabbing in front of the hotel, I can guarantee that this incident did not take place. Kind regards, Ivan Tuohy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Limerick

Address: Steamboat Quay, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#9 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Limerick 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Irelands Tallest Hotel. 4* Hotel with 158 Riverside Bedrooms located in Limerick City Centre. Full leisure centre, 15 minutes from Shannon Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Hotel Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Limerick
Limerick Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Limerick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.