We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“drab” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gasworks - CLOSED

Gasworks
35 O'Connell St, Limerick, Ireland
061 446 424
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
alltech@elivefree.net
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“drab”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Sorry but it is such a badly decorated building that it possibly takes from any enjoyment one may have eating there. The food is ok - went once had a fish cake meal and it was was quite good. went another day had their house salad and at nearly 8euro it consisted of watery lettuce a few sad tomatoes, a few slices of apple and a few pieces of rubbery bacon - not good. no atmosphere and staff seem to feel the gloom

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    5
    3
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nenagh, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Mediocre lunch!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Just ok.. I took my daughter for lunch while shopping in Limerick. Afterwards I regretted wasting part of my €5.40 parking fee on an instantly forgettable lunch & will not be returning.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Awful Restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Its more like a run down cafe than a restaurant. The food is dreadful the pasta was from a bag with a sauce that came out of a jar. Its a disaster and would advise people not to go there. McDonnells would be better.

CARMEL. Clare

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“avoid like the plague”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Nothing positive to report. The waitress brought the wrong wine, and poured it before I could see the bottle, or taste it.. Soup arrived without bread. Over half dishes on menu were not available. My curry was watery and tasteless. It arrived with rice when I had ordered chips. Chips arrived 5 minutes later and were grossly undercooked. We couldn't face desserts, which were billed as home made but looked tired and bought-in. One of the worst restaurants I have ever eaten in any where in the world! Our meals elsewhere in Limerick were excellent.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Lovely Food - Bit Pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We bought this through Groupon. It gave us a meal for two and we bought a voucher too for another couple. It was a Friday night and the place was indeed busy. I had heard of the Gasworks before, nothing bad, just that it was 'another restaurant' in Limerick. I was not expecting much, but I have to say, despite other reviews, our meal was wonderful.

The steak was cooked to perfection it was pink and soft on the inside. The Pork medalions were so tender that they melted in your mouth. The Sri-Lankan curry, I have to say was a little strong and I couldn't taste the coconut milk in it, but it was still very tasty and served beautifully. Finally the Chicken looked lovely too.

We seem to have to wait a while for our glass of wine but after that it was fantastic service. The owner was telling us about her brother who has catered for Paul McCartney, Madonna and other celebs. The skill obviously runs in the family.

I am hoping that the decor (especially downstairs) is work in progress though. There are no signs on the toilet door upstairs for the ladies and it is in fact in the middle of the restaurant. Downstairs, the carpet is grubby and the toilet needs a good clean. I am sure these are things that will be sorted in time though. It is nice to have diversity in O'Connell street, rather than just steak houses and take-a-ways.

In all we enjoyed it and should the voucher come up again we would certainly buy one. I wouldn't actually pay full whack there as I think the prices are a little on the steep side.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gasworks also viewed

Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gasworks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.