We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Polo

Marco Polo
O' Connell street, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Luigi Malone's)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 194 Restaurants in Limerick
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Disappointing Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

A party of six of us ate at Marco Polo in January. The other five were happy, but my meal was totally overcooked so I sent it back. By the time a replacement arrived, everyone else had finished. The waiter admitted that mine was overcooked, but didn't really offer any explanation, nor did he offer any reduction on the bill.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    101
    52
    23
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wow or not”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We went out for romantic dinner and we spotted the marco polo . From the outside it looked really nice .As we walked in which was between 5.30 and 6.00p.m ,the so called gentleman came over to us ferely quick .He then proceeded to show us to a table which was not of our choosing. He then went to say that we could only have a table for one hour and would then have to leave.I could have stomached that but the restaurant was certainly not full.The menu could have been a little more inventive .While we seat and pondered ,it was decided that we could no longer stay there . Certainly can not recommend it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Arguments, delays and staff shortages but still reasonable value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Family group of 8 adults and 2 children for Sunday lunch. Service has deteriorated noticeably since our previous visit in December.
Waiter who took our order kept assuring us “No problems” as he went from person to person. But there WERE problems!

Starters were lovely except for the Nachos (1 person) which did not have sufficient dipping salsa. This was not a serious problem but the waiter was informed as a courtesy.

During our lengthy wait for our main courses we were “entertained” by a shouting argument from within the kitchen. I don’t agree with raised voices in the workplace and certainly not within hearing of customers. We were offered no explanation for this.

The main courses were lovely for the most part. However, the barbequed chicken (3 persons) was extremely dry even with the sauce and all three were left unfinished.

There was a further lengthy wait for dessert for the two children and one of us had to leave the table to attract the attention of a waitress (our own waiter having vanished). As she removed the used dinner plates from our table she remarked apologetically that they were extremely busy which we had already noted. She went on to say that a number of staff had failed to report for work that day leaving them short-staffed.

Coffee and tea again required leaving our table to attract the attention of a waiter, this time our original server who had reappeared.

Finally we had again to, once again, leave the table to acquire our bill which was not correct. We were invoiced for two cups of coffee which two of us had chosen in place of the mineral included with the meal. The bill also included a 10% service charge which I would have refused to pay had I been in a smaller party. However, on this occasion, not willing to make a fuss, we paid and left.

All said, I would give them the benefit of the doubt and eat there again as the food really is good value for the money and the restaurant is clean and friendly even if the service, on this occasion was appalling!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“My favourite place to be on Saturdays!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great food, great prices, great atmosphere in the heart of limerick. Great spot especially on Saturdays!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice food...plenty room for improvement though!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

A group of us were in the city & decided to have a quick reasonably priced lunch. We were shown to our table straight away, orders were taken promptly, the food was lovely but there's a staff member that could do with being sent on a customer service course. One of our waitresses was rude, impatient & made a few smart comments to us - paying customers!!! It was shocking! In this day & age there are plenty people unemployed who would be very grateful to have her job. Not at all impressed with that aspect but overall it was nice & I would return.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marco Polo also viewed

Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 

Been to Marco Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Polo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.