We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mejana

Mejana
52 Thomas Street, Limerick, Ireland
061278989
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 194 restaurants in Limerick
Price range: $14 - $41
Cuisines: Lebanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: MEJANA RESTAURANT FINE LEBANESE AND INTERNATIONAL CUISINE IN HEART OF LIMERICK , IRELAND
Longford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Something different!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I had a late lunch / early dinner here recently and was pleasantly surprised. Great service, tasty food and remarkably cheap. The restaurant lacks ambiance as others have said and could do with a facelift but it is clean and comfortable. I would definitely return for an evening meal here again and would like to try some of the more unusual dishes!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    39
    27
    8
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Lovely and something different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Went here with some friends who were down from Dublin. Really nice staff. Helpful and non hassling leading to a very relaxed evening. We decided to share starters and main courses and there was no problem. The food was great, well priced and the evening very worthwhile. Recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I was in this restaurant for dinner on two different occassions and really enjoyed the food. The service was great and you do not feel rushed by the staff. My husband and I normally have to ask for a break between the starter and the main course as a lot of Limerick restaurants will give you the main course as soon as the starter plates are cleared. Not in MeJana, it is all about a having a great dinner experience. When my husband and I were in town today, we decided to have lunch here. Again, the food was gorgeous. Great value for money too as the portions were very generous. I highly recommend this restaurant to everyone.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lebanese Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The starters were amazing but all 3 of us were disappointed with the mains. Pity as its the only Lebanese restaurant in Limerick. As a mains they do a 10 starters dish - the table next to us had it, it looked really good

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Interesting but not the wow factor!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

I was really looking forward to a meal here as I had never tasted Lebanese food before and am open to trying different foods! I am so sick of the typical, Indian, Chinese, steak choices in limerick.
Found the food lovely but it took us ages to decide what to order. We missed the early bird so found it expensive if you don't get specials.
I didn't like the fact that the tables are small and squeezed together- no privacy. The venue is very small, hard to get a real buzzy atmosphere here which I like on a night out.
The belly dancing is wonderfully tacky!! But not everyone's cup of tea.
Service was very good and attentive.
I would return to eat for an early bird or special offer. I don't mean to harp on about the negatives but...
It's a pity because this restaurant offers a lot of potential if the venue/decor was changed.
Limerick badly needs more diverse and different restaurants as this is a start.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mejana also viewed

Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 

Been to Mejana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mejana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.