We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge room for improvement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Limerick City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Limerick City Hotel to your Saves list
Limerick City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Mallow Street, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Jurys Inn Limerick)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Limerick
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
“Huge room for improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First off parking –you park in the high-rise just opposite the hotel, have your ticket validated on leaving and you pay €7.50 when you pick up your car after an overnight stay. There is free WiFi in this hotel but we didn’t try it out. Check in was a bit messy, with confusion over an error by the hotel in the booking, but it was sorted promptly. There are no in-room safes, but guests may deposits valuables in a safe at reception. The room we got was not great, it was ‘old’ and didn’t smell fresh, carpet was stained and dirty, and the curtain rail was hanging off the window. Bathroom door didn’t lock either (this is a very comment problem unfortunately in hotels now). There were also cigarette burn marks on the bedside locker, and these were not new unfortunately. To be fair to this hotel, they are in the process of undergoing a refurbishment programme, so we will them allow them a bit of time to rectify the problems that undoubtedly exist. Sleep quality wasn’t great, there was fair bit of noise around. Shower was dreadful in the bathroom, and the bathroom fan wasn’t working either. We had booked ‘room only’ but decided to have breakfast in the hotel before we left. It’s €10 per head for a breakfast, which is a bit expensive for a full Irish. However we didn’t have much choice on a Sunday morning in Limerick as we didn’t see any places open for breakfast. Check out was prompt and we hope that next time we visit this hotel there will be a huge and noticeable improvement in the décor and furnishings. One thing that does need to be rectified very quickly and that’s the number of people (guests I assume) who stand outside the door smoking their heads off, blocking the door and necessitating other guests battling their way through a plume of smoke to get into the hotel. It’s disgusting and a huge turn off, and management have the power to do something about it! There were also cigarette butts all over the ground …..I rest my case.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    45
    43
    16
    11
See reviews for
21
52
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I'm not sure where to start, I'm struggling to find a single positive. I have never before left a hotel feeling like I needed to go straight home and wash all my clothes and belongings for fear they were contaminated from the room I had just stayed in. The room was in a word, filthy. The carpets were stained, there was a smell of smoke, the bathroom was grimy, the remote for the very old fashioned TV was revolting with dirt, the light switches were dirty......everything was difficult to touch without feeling like you needed gloves. It was out of desperation we ended up staying here and we were desperate to leave by the following morning. Also, if you happen to be given a room on the 6th floor, be prepared to haul your bags up from the 5th floor, the lift doesn't go that far. Stay away! There are much nicer hotels in Limerick.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hutchinsa11, Guest Relations Manager at Limerick City Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Susand 9433,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. The Hotel is in the middle of a refurbishment investment and admittedly some of our rooms are still in need of updating. Obviously we are concerned when guests are unhappy and we appreciate it when they complain directly to the Front Desk so as the issues can be dealt with straight away. As regards the 6th Floor. It is explained to
all guests that there are stairs from the 5th floor and we would always provide assistance with
luggage if needed. In fact many of our regular guests request rooms on the 6th floor. If you would like to make contact with the hotel directly with details of dates of your stay and the Room in which you stayed, we could discuss this further.
Kind regards,
Anthony Hutchins
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is in dire need of an update. The TV did not work and the walls were a bit thin. The staff was great and the view from or room was spectacular. Close to the castle and an easy walk to most attractions in town.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hutchinsa11, Guest Relations Manager at Limerick City Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Rafael P,
Thank you for your review and your comments. We value all our guests comments, both positive and negative. We are investing in modernising the Hotel, but have already invested in great staff which you kindly commented on. Hope you enjoyed your stay in the City of Limerick.
Kind regards,
Anthony Hutchins
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived in Limerick early one morning and even though our rooms were not ready they found us ones that were. It was great to get some sleep before heading out to explore. We stayed in the old section which was still very nice, I can only guess what the renovated rooms look like! We also had a beautiful view of the River Shannon. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hutchinsa11, Guest Relations Manager at Limerick City Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Shannon L,
Thank you for posting a review on this website. Delighted we were able to facilitate you with an early check-in. It is always the aim of our staff to make every guests stay as pleasurable as possible. When you return please ask for one of our Premier Rooms...I don't think you will be disappointed. Look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Anthony Hutchins
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint augustine
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were on an independent prepaid package; this was our first stop. It was dark, gloomy and in a rough looking spot. Admittedly, we were tired and probably a little too critical. In retrospect though, it was the least desirable of the 5 hotels we stayed in. The staff was very very nice, and the breakfast delicious. We approached from the rear which does not impress. And, Limerick is not a bright spot in all the beautiful places to see in Ireland. Our room was very noisy, which may be expected for a city centre hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olhao, Portugal
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Passing through on a cold wet night, looking for a central affordable hotel near a parking.
Coming from the parking garage we went through a strange backdoor.
Under repairs and it well needs it.
Staff was friendly and the room was OK.
The years haven't been kind to the place, but even so the stay was pretty much in line with what you'd expect once you get to know the gloomy city it's located in.
On the plus side having a pub in the lobby did come in handing to get a pint and some grub at 8 pm.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hutchinsa11, Guest Relations Manager at Limerick City Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Joao L
Unfortunately the Limerick weather was unkind to you and your family. However, I trust that your
stay with us was enjoyable and as you noticed the new Owners are modernising the Hotel and we now have Premier Executive Rooms available. Another feature now is the open-air dining area attached to McGettigans Bar.
Kind regards,
Anthony Hutchins
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Checked in last minute absolutely no problem, very helpful and friendly team, rooms were spacious and very clean, reasonably priced. The hotel is under refurbishment at present and this did not have any affect on our stay. Good atmosphere in the bar. Tea and coffee facilities in room, shop across the road for everything you may have forgot. Great location, secure parking for 7.50 euro around the corner. Lovely view of the river, be sure to ask for a room with a view. We did not have breakfast so I can not comment. Would stay again and thought Limerick looked great! Very welcoming, Thank you.

Room Tip: A room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hutchinsa11, Guest Relations Manager at Limerick City Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear heidim,
Thank you for your positive comments. It is always our aim to provide well-priced accommodation without effecting quality or standards. The Management and Staff are delighted that everything was to your satisfaction during your stay.Hopefully, as you mention in your review you would stay with us again, therefore we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Our new refurbished rooms are now available to be booked with some great special offers.
Kind regards,
Anthony Hutchins
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Limerick City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limerick City Hotel

Address: Lower Mallow Street, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Jurys Inn Limerick)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Limerick City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Limerick City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Limerick Hotel Limerick
Jurys Hotel Limerick
Limerick Jurys Hotel
Jurys Limerick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Limerick City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.