We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for money for a night in Limerick” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Limerick City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Limerick City Hotel to your Saves list
Limerick City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Mallow Street, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Jurys Inn Limerick)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Limerick
dublin
1 review
“Best value for money for a night in Limerick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is quite central in Limerick city and within walking distance of shops, restaurants and city life. We stay here nearly every time we visit Limerick city and our stay is always very good. The facilities in any rooms we ever stayed in were top class and the rooms are always very clean, too!

Room Tip: The higher the floor, one can hear less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    36
    33
    14
    5
See reviews for
17
37
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Male staff on doors and reception were friendly, as were the cleaners, blond Eastern girl at reception was very cranky.
Nice modern reception.
Old rooms still the same as when they were owned by Jurys, at least Jurys was dirt cheap so you expected the bad state of the rooms.
Rooms always seem too hot or too cold.
Very expensive for what you're getting.
Ordered a triple room, got a double bed and a desperate pull out couch. Also the room only had 2 mugs and glasses with very little milk.
Could hear the loud thumping of music from McGettigans in the middle of the night.
Carpark not included.

Room Tip: Make sure when ordering a triple room it's a double and a single bed you're getting, not a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed here for one night for some christmas shopping with the family in limerick city.We got two triple rooms side by side for exceptional value and felt the rooms and hotel were more then adequate.The hotel is in a good location and a short walk to the city centre.We did eat in the bar and were really impressed with the bar decor,staff and food. When we finished eating our food a member of the bar staff came to my 4yr old daughter with crisps and juice free of charge and totally made her day. Unfortunately we did not get his name so cant give him a mention but it was much appreciated.Check in was a little slow due to a cue but check out took seconds. Parking is 10 euros for 24hrs and located close by .Overall I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

terrible attitude of staff. awful dated rooms. checked bt very unfriendly middle aged women and not even say hello. The room was swful so came back down and asked for another roon. was cross examined as to why!!! what ever happened the customer is always right! Second room a littlr better. Ate in the bar as woulnt trust the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LimerickCityHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Limerick City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Sandra2012202014,
Thank you for your review posted on this website of which we are extremely sorry that you have such a negative view of the hotel and staff. However all feedback is valuable to us.Your statements are very critical of our staff performance and as we have structured policies and procedures for staff training and dealing with complaints, would you be kind enough to help with our investigation into these issues. As you did not report any of these instances to any Management at the Hotel, we are having a problem in carrying out our internal investigation. Therefore, we would be grateful if you could furnish us with more precise details of your stay, in particular date of your arrival. Some of our rooms are dated, but as you might have seen when staying here, the New Owners are investing in refurbishment of bedrooms and only this summer they opened McGettigans Bar.
Kind Regards,
Anthony Hutchins
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here as part of a stag celebration at the end of October. This is a very nice hotel with a perfect location very close to Limerick town centre. Nice big and comfortable rooms, a great bar with plenty of big screens and lovely pub grub. The location is its big selling point, and it offers great value for money. Would definitely return

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LimerickCityHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Limerick City Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear RonanMcGrath79,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay here with us. We are delighted that your time here was enjoyable and you obviously enjoyed McGettigan's Bar which has greatly enhanced the facilities of the Hotel. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Limerick soon.
Kind Regards,
Anthony Hutchins
Limerick City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here as part of a large group at the weekend. Everyone including receptionist bar staff chef and managers where excellent. Room was clean and had everything you need. We booked a large table for sat night and they put on a set menu for us. Excellent food at an excellent price. Nothing was a bother for anyone. Breakfast was lovely. I didn't have that much to eat as not a breakfast person but my 6 year old had cooked breakfast both mornings and it was free for her! Excellent location for city centre and only 15 euro for 8 seater taxi to university as this is where we attending!! 10/10. Grt value for money!! Hope refurb goes well for you's as you staff deserve it. Excellent morale! Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LimerickCityHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Limerick City Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear CatMcGarry,
Thank you for such a positive feedback on the review you kindly posted. All of us here through every department try to make a guest's stay here a good expeirence. All the time we are trying to improve our standards and the service we provide. It is very satisfying when we get compliiments like yours. We would all have great pleasure in hopefully seeing you again in Limerick City Hotel.
Kind Regards,
Anthony Hutchins
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have purposely left it a few months before reviewing this hotel to try and be a bit calmer in what I write. But my thoughts and feelings are very much as they were when I stayed at the hotel. This is a poor hotel staffed by poor employees.
We were only staying at the hotel for one night as part of a driving tour of Ireland. When we arrived there was a family waiting to speak to the manager in reception, the receptionist who dealt with us wasn't very friendly, but I assumed that she had been dealing with the complainers so I gave her the benefit of the doubt. The reception area is very nice, clean and modern.
When we went up to our room there was a strong smell of cigarettes. The room was very dated and scruffy with some nasty looking stains on the carpet. My wife and I decided that she didn’t want to stay there and went back down to reception. The receptionist called the manager and he came out to talk to us. He explained that there were a few more rooms that we could check out and he accompanied us up to them. Both rooms, although not perfect, were better than our initial room and we selected one and unpacked. Credit to the manager, he was very friendly and helpful, he just needs to do something about the rest of the staff. I think he gave me a discount off my parking too, but can’t remember exactly what it was.
We went out for a walk and look around the town, found a nice pub and had dinner and a few drinks. Later we walked back to the hotel to go to bed. We found the room to be very noisy, not the hotel’s fault, but hopefully when they do refurbish they will add a bit of sound insulation. We eventually got off to sleep about 1am. However, somewhere between 1:30am and 2am the barman/ bar manager decided it was a good idea to take all the empty beer barrels out of the hotel. We were on a high floor and I'm a very heavy sleeper so to wake me up this must have been extremely loud. It was absolutely ridiculous; it wound me up so much that even when it did eventually stop (at least half an hour of banging about) I couldn't get back to sleep. To top that off, the dray man arrived at about 6:30am to replace the empties and wake us up again.
Breakfast was ok, staff had bad attitudes, I probably did too by that point.
All in all I would never stay at this hotel again and would even recommend people to sleep in their cars rather than to stay here.

Room Tip: Sleep in your car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Limerick City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limerick City Hotel

Address: Lower Mallow Street, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Jurys Inn Limerick)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Limerick City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Limerick City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Limerick Hotel Limerick
Jurys Hotel Limerick
Limerick Jurys Hotel
Jurys Limerick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Limerick City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.