We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Limerick City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Limerick City Hotel to your Saves list
Limerick City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Mallow Street, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Jurys Inn Limerick)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Limerick
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here as part of a stag celebration at the end of October. This is a very nice hotel with a perfect location very close to Limerick town centre. Nice big and comfortable rooms, a great bar with plenty of big screens and lovely pub grub. The location is its big selling point, and it offers great value for money. Would definitely return

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LimerickCityHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Limerick City Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear RonanMcGrath79,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay here with us. We are delighted that your time here was enjoyable and you obviously enjoyed McGettigan's Bar which has greatly enhanced the facilities of the Hotel. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Limerick soon.
Kind Regards,
Anthony Hutchins
Limerick City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    34
    33
    12
    5
See reviews for
15
37
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here as part of a large group at the weekend. Everyone including receptionist bar staff chef and managers where excellent. Room was clean and had everything you need. We booked a large table for sat night and they put on a set menu for us. Excellent food at an excellent price. Nothing was a bother for anyone. Breakfast was lovely. I didn't have that much to eat as not a breakfast person but my 6 year old had cooked breakfast both mornings and it was free for her! Excellent location for city centre and only 15 euro for 8 seater taxi to university as this is where we attending!! 10/10. Grt value for money!! Hope refurb goes well for you's as you staff deserve it. Excellent morale! Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LimerickCityHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Limerick City Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear CatMcGarry,
Thank you for such a positive feedback on the review you kindly posted. All of us here through every department try to make a guest's stay here a good expeirence. All the time we are trying to improve our standards and the service we provide. It is very satisfying when we get compliiments like yours. We would all have great pleasure in hopefully seeing you again in Limerick City Hotel.
Kind Regards,
Anthony Hutchins
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have purposely left it a few months before reviewing this hotel to try and be a bit calmer in what I write. But my thoughts and feelings are very much as they were when I stayed at the hotel. This is a poor hotel staffed by poor employees.
We were only staying at the hotel for one night as part of a driving tour of Ireland. When we arrived there was a family waiting to speak to the manager in reception, the receptionist who dealt with us wasn't very friendly, but I assumed that she had been dealing with the complainers so I gave her the benefit of the doubt. The reception area is very nice, clean and modern.
When we went up to our room there was a strong smell of cigarettes. The room was very dated and scruffy with some nasty looking stains on the carpet. My wife and I decided that she didn’t want to stay there and went back down to reception. The receptionist called the manager and he came out to talk to us. He explained that there were a few more rooms that we could check out and he accompanied us up to them. Both rooms, although not perfect, were better than our initial room and we selected one and unpacked. Credit to the manager, he was very friendly and helpful, he just needs to do something about the rest of the staff. I think he gave me a discount off my parking too, but can’t remember exactly what it was.
We went out for a walk and look around the town, found a nice pub and had dinner and a few drinks. Later we walked back to the hotel to go to bed. We found the room to be very noisy, not the hotel’s fault, but hopefully when they do refurbish they will add a bit of sound insulation. We eventually got off to sleep about 1am. However, somewhere between 1:30am and 2am the barman/ bar manager decided it was a good idea to take all the empty beer barrels out of the hotel. We were on a high floor and I'm a very heavy sleeper so to wake me up this must have been extremely loud. It was absolutely ridiculous; it wound me up so much that even when it did eventually stop (at least half an hour of banging about) I couldn't get back to sleep. To top that off, the dray man arrived at about 6:30am to replace the empties and wake us up again.
Breakfast was ok, staff had bad attitudes, I probably did too by that point.
All in all I would never stay at this hotel again and would even recommend people to sleep in their cars rather than to stay here.

Room Tip: Sleep in your car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fine hotel for staying a night if you are going for a night out . Not a hotel for luxury. Grand for one night as it is cheap. Room a bit dated. Only thing is when my friend wanted to go out the security on that night refused to let him out and ushered him back to the room. A bit much i thought . But other than that fine for a night. Also the girl on front of desk was really lovely and the time previous to that the guy on was also very friendly

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LimerickCityHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Limerick City Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear JacintaW,
Thank you for posting a review. We are delighted that you found our Hotel suitable for your stay in Limerick. We have started a refurbishment of the bedrooms to modern standards. Glad that you found our staff friendly and helpful, as we do pride ourselves in trying to provide good customer service. We hope that we will be given the opportunity to look after you again when you return to Limerick.
Kind Regards,
Anthony Hutchins
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for one night, awoken at 2.30am by men shouting in nearby room,then someone knocked on our door- rang reception, I did hear security speak to them, however, a repeat performance an hour later- again had to get security. We were offered free car parking following morning!!! Kettle not working, windows old& drafty& TV was ancient. So never again!!!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LimerickCityHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Limerick City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Harrys144,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Unfortunately you did not complain to the Hotel directly but we have been able to trace your reservation from the information you posted on 7th November. Our records show that you stayed with us on night of 23rd October. Our Security log shows that you made a complaint about noise from an adjoining room which our Security called to the room in question 5 mins after your complaint. On that night there were many rooms occupied with people attending graduations and there were many celebrations. Apologies for your kettle not working which was logged in our Reception, but we have recorded that pots of tea (2) and coffee (1) was immediately brought to your room from the Restaurant. We are saddened that you would 'never again' stay with us, but I would appreciate if you would take the time to contact me directly so I could further discuss this with you.
Kind regards,
Anthony Hutchins
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Right in the centre of town so no issues with location. Easy check in with freindly staff. Back late so didn't try to shower until the next morning only to find that it was totally siezed. I think that, when we checked out, the guy should have said a bit more than "oh right I'll check it out" Maybe I expect too much.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LimerickCityHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Limerick City Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Graham S,
Thank you very much for your review. Apologies for the problem you had with the shower on the morning of your departure. Issues like this unfortunately happen unexpectedly and are always immediately forwarded to our maintenance department. If you had been staying with us longer we would have found you another room straight away. We appreciate you kind comments about our staff.
Kind regards
Anthony Hutchins
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CENTRAL COAST AUSTRALIA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

great location. stayed here as part of a large tour group even though we were on the 6th floor our room was clean bathroom clean and well appointed. we were here for 2 nights only and went to the bar and ordered room service even though it was quite busy we managed to get our meal in a reasonable time frame.. food was great and topped it all of with an Irish Coffee.... we visited here when it was Jurys Inn and had a stayed with this chain in other parts of the UK too.. breakfast was buffett style and ok.. overall a comfortable stay and the staff were friendly enough..good location and great views from our room... when we return to Ireland will stay at Limerick City Hotel hopefully by then all the refurbs will be completed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LimerickCityHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Limerick City Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear CHELLEBELLE65,
thank you for posting a review. Since you stayed last time this Hotel has changed ownership and is currently undergoing refurbishment. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back here in the future.
Kind regards,
Anthony Hutchins
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Limerick City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limerick City Hotel

Address: Lower Mallow Street, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Jurys Inn Limerick)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Limerick City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Limerick City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Limerick Hotel Limerick
Jurys Hotel Limerick
Limerick Jurys Hotel
Jurys Limerick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Limerick City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.