We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with a great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Limerick City Hotel

Save Saved
You added Limerick City Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Limerick City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Mallow Street, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Jurys Inn Limerick)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Limerick
phillystravels
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great stay with a great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Central location Exceptionally efficient receptionist with such a friendly manner Fantastic view from 6th floor room which had everything we needed Had dinner in McGettigans which was superb served by young again efficient friendly staff Music in the bar was great and we didnt step out of the hotel until it was time to leave after breakfast (served in the downstairs restaurant) the following morning The overall ambiance and decor of the hotel is lovely But I think the staff from reception to the bar to the breakfast restaurant make the difference between a good experience and a great one

Room Tip: We stayed in room 602 which had a fantastic view out over the Shannon and we could also see Thomand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    28
    25
    9
    3
See reviews for
11
35
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed in this hotel on a room-only basis as we were meeting friends. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The bar area is really spacious and has a good atmosphere. The only niggle being that the occupier of the room next to us, on the 6th floor, had the tv on really loud until 1 am. Lucky we were only staying for one night! The hotel is centrally located - ideal for shopping trips.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hard to get to because of roads closed over the weekend for the visit of a Giant French Granny Puppet, you heard me, Puppet. Parked right outside the back door as I had a disabled badge, others would have to pay in the multi storey car park there as well. That aside, the room was enormous with 3 beds (two double). Clean enough but I suspect the floor tiles in the bathroom could do with grout removing and replacing. End of complaints. The staff were friendly especially in the bar (run by McGettigans). The All Day Breakfast was superb and put the Hotel's own breakfast to shame. (It would have put any other breakfast to shame). If you can wait for the bar to open (10.00 a.m. If I remember right) eat here. We went outside first evening and went a short distance down the keys and watched the Granny. Here are 2 urls to give you an idea. They have been checked by AdAware AntiVirus:-

http://www.limerickleader.ie/what-s-on/arts-entertainment/video-limerick-says-goodbye-to-granny-1-6284400

http://www.irishmirror.ie/whats-on/arts-culture-news/giant-granny-stops-limerick-traffic-4172204

We had a great time and found Limerick a very friendly place.
On the Sunday we watched the All Ireland Hurling Final in the Hotel Bar. What an atmosphere. It was full to the gills. 12 huge flat screen TVs. You could see them from anywhere in the room. Brilliant game. Best I have ever seen.

Room Tip: Get one looking over the Shannon river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were referred to the Limerick City Hotel by a regular guest who raved about the hotel. I was skeptical. It was everything as described and more. Our room was spacious, and looked out on the Shannon. The location is fantastic - very close to Limerick shopping and great Limerick restaurants, and if you turn left at the river, you'll soon be at Dolan's Pub. Which was recommended to us by Ashley, a fantastic asset to the hotel. Everyone was cheerful, professional and knowledgeable. Try McGintey's pub for some great cuisine, although the pub is a bit too noisy for us - it seems to be a happening place, and a great spot to hang out and watch Irish sports. Can't say enough good things about this great hotel, and we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Shannon river. Make sure you take advantage of their great breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rooms were of a decent standard expected of a hotel in this price range. We had been travelling all day and were planning to go out in Limerick for dinner and then on to a pub but when the weather took bad decided to stay - what a good call.

The bar was very lively - more like a pub - and we decided to order our evening meal. Very tasty and good size portions - again couldn't be faulted. Icing on the cake was a live band that evening in the bar/restaurant. Could have stayed up most of the night if it wasn't for travelling all day. All in all great night in!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LimerickCityHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Limerick City Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear titterington robin,
Glad you enjoyed the atmosp[here of our Bar. Our aim is to provide high quality food in vibrant surroundings. Also we were pleased that you found our accomodation good value. Shortly, the bedrooms are undergoing a refurbishment, as our aim is to provide good standards and service at an affordable price. Hopefully, we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again to Limerick City Hotel and McGettigans Bar.
Kind regards
Anthony Hutchins
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cento, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I recently stayed 2 nights in the Limerick City Hotel and found it to be very central for shopping, pubs and walks around the city.
The hotel was very easy to reach by car, parking was an extra cost, €7.50 for 24 hrs.
The rooms were very comfortable. the breakfast was also an extra cost and maybe not worth the €10 as the food was mediocre.
Majella - Bologna Italy

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LimerickCityHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Limerick City Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Majella 1952
Thank you for the review of our hotel. Limerick City Hotel is in a wonderful location for visiting the sights of Limerick. I noticed that you availed of the car park discount we have with Henry Street Q-Park. We have found this to be a great advantage to our residents as it offers safe and secure parking. You appear to have enjoyed your stay with us and we greatly appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,
Anthony Hutchins
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed at the Limerick City Hotel on a last-minute break, and really enjoyed our stay. Yes, the rooms are a bit old as mentioned in other reviews, but a major refurbishment is apparently scheduled for year end; for our trip they were all we needed. The staff were very nice and, since we were travelling with a young child and a baby in a cot, kindly gave us one of the largest rooms on our floor.
Location was excellent both for the drive to Clare county (Cliffs of Moher, Bunratty Castle) and to explore Limerick city - the city centre is just a few minutes walk away, we never had to take the car. The view of the Shannon River from our room was very enjoyable.
The only minor inconvenience was parking, since you have to use a separate parking lot that the hotel has an agreement with; it's around the block from the hotel and makes for a long-ish walk with all the luggage (if there was a direct access from parking to hotel, we didn't see it). We did not have breakfast.
Overall, combined with a very good last-minute deal from a booking site, this made for excellent value. We will certainly consider this hotel again for our next visit to Limerick, especially after the renovation.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LimerickCityHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Limerick City Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear JudgeJu,
We thank you for taking the time to post a review . We are delighted that you were satisfied with your stay with us. I must apologise that no-one told you that we have a back entrance to the car park, which saves the walk around the block. Hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind regards,
Anthony Hutchins
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Limerick City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limerick City Hotel

Address: Lower Mallow Street, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Jurys Inn Limerick)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Limerick City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Limerick City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Limerick Hotel Limerick
Jurys Hotel Limerick
Limerick Jurys Hotel
Jurys Limerick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Limerick City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.