We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Standard room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Limerick City Hotel

Save Saved
You added Limerick City Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Limerick City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Mallow Street, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Jurys Inn Limerick)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 23 hotels in Limerick
Dartmouth, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very Standard room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The room we got overlooked a parking lot the bed had a slight leveling issue as you head was a bit lower than your feet but what is a pillow used for . The tub was slippery and my wife had an accident using it and the front desk did not have any headache pills . but we survived . The hotel across the street from a park on the Shannon River we had a great walk including the old bridge .Breakfast was very good and the supper one night was average . For Canadians - there is a Tims across the street at a Spar location .

Room Tip: Ask for room on the river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    15
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
17
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was excellent for the money we paid. The room was spacious and clean and the staff were friendly. Parking however isn't free. There is a service available at the back if the hotel where you can park your car for 7.50 a night and it is safe. Its an ideal location for shopping or going out as its only a 6 minute walk to all the clothes shops etc. We got food in the bar in the hotel and I couldn't find fault with any of it. The portions were big the food was delicious and very reasonably priced and the staff were lovely I would definitely go their for food if I was only on a day trip in limerick. Overall I would definitely recommend to a friend as a getaway or for a hen or stag. Only problem with the hotel is that you can hear traffic from the road at night.

Room Tip: rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LimerickCityHotel, General Manager at Limerick City Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Rachel O,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the service from our staff and happy with the facilities we provide. It will give us pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards'

Callum McBreen
General Manager
The Limerick City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room for me was very spacious, with big sofa and double bed. I'm satisfied enough for the facilities.
The location is supposed to be right at the centre, but there's still some distance from the hustle and bustle of the main street or the beauty of the Shannon River.
Unfortunately I was given a room facing the "back" of the hotel--a really old building as a car park. I don't like this "view" honestly. Get a room facing the river--if there's a chance.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LimerickCityHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Limerick City Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased that you found are facilities
satisfactory. We staff and management always strive to achieve high standards and we
always appreciate feedback from our guests. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Anthony Hutchins
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is very good value for the money. It is a 5 minute walk from the train station and is located within the heart of Limerick City. Myself and my two sisters stayed here for a break away, and we were not disappointed. The rooms are spotless and the beds are comfortable. I can't comment on the breakfast as we didn't get it, but on our second night we went into McGettigan's Bar and got the hot chicken wings and the thick cut chips. The food was lovely. Staff were friendly and efficient. I would definitely come back here the next time I am in Limerick.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LimerickCityHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Limerick City Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Valued Guest.
Thanking you for taking the time to post your review. We fully appreciate your feedback and
our staff will be overjoyed with your comments. We hope that we will have the opportunity to
welcome you to Limerick City Hotel again
Kind Regards
Anthony Hutchins
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Each time we come to Limerick we stay in this hotel and we have stayed a few times .you cannot beat it for value and location..the rooms are big , comfortable airy and spacious and on this occasion we had a room looking over the Shannon which was a lovely sight at sunset and in the morning... sure, to constructively criticise ,the hotel could do with renovation in parts in the public areas (replacement of carpets, maybe updating furniture , maybe brighter decor as other reviewers have commented etc ) but I could not complain about anything in all honesty as it was clean, comfortable, straightforward and efficient and at a great price on every occasion that we have stayed here...staff on reception are efficient , friendly and helpful and I have never found fault in my dealings with staff and cannot fault the hotel in my experience.. you can't beat the location either...practically minutes walking to the city centre..I am for sure staying here once again for my next trip to Limerick which will be soon

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room ..try for quiet room with a view of the Shannon..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LimerickCityHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Limerick City Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Valued Guest.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review as we always greatly appreciate feedback from our guests. I am thrilled that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you were looked after by our team. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back here again
Please keep an eye on our hotel website for upcoming special offers.
Kind regards,
Anthony Hutchins
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very impressed with the new improvements in this hotel. We have stayed here many times wnen it was a Jury Inn hotel but noticed a considerable difference under new management.

We got an really good deal price wise for bed and breakfast in double room.

Check in was prompt despite only one person at check in desk. The reception area has been tastefully redecorated and a new bar opposite the reception desk.

Our room on the fifth floor was freshly painted and spotlessly clean. The colours were neutral but fitting. Crisp white clean sheets on the bed. There was a double and single bed in the room. It wasn't massive but plenty big enough to fit the two beds comfortably. The decor in the bathroom is outdated but again it was spotlessly clean. There were tea/coffee making facilities in the room. The view was of the car park but that didn't bother us. We didn't hear any noise at night once we went to bed.

Breakfast was grand with a choice of hot full Irish and breadrolls, croissants, cereals, juices etc. Breakfast at weekend is served from 7-12 at the weekend which is fantastic.

Nearby car park cost 7.50 for overnight parking and the hotel validated our ticket for us.

All the staff we met were friendly, courteous and professional. Cleaning staff saluted us on the way to and from breakfast and everyone we met seemed welcoming.

We went for a drink in new bar when we returned from to hotel that night and the were plenty of bouncers/security there. The decor is modern and tasteful. While there was a hen and stag party we didn't hear any noise once we left the bar. We were asked to clarify our room number etc when we were going up in the lift which I liked. Prevented just anybody going upstairs.

Location is very convenient to all bars, restaurants.

We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The front desk staff were extremely helpful. I had travelled overnight and receptionist worked to get me checked in early. Great location, clean and light. Construction was going on but didn't interfere with our stay at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Limerick City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limerick City Hotel

Address: Lower Mallow Street, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Jurys Inn Limerick)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 hotels in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Limerick City Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Limerick City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Limerick Hotel Limerick
Jurys Hotel Limerick
Limerick Jurys Hotel
Jurys Limerick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Limerick City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.