We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast & Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Noir

Cafe Noir
Limerick | 7 Delta Retail Park Ballysimon Road, Limerick, Ireland
+353 61 411 522
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 216 Restaurants in Limerick
Price range: $9 - $21
Cuisines: Bakery, French, Café, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: What we wanted was simple 'to introduce a French Cafe culture but with an Irish twist'. Our ambition is to channel the brilliance of French tradition whilst adding our own touch of Irish inspired artistry. Winner of the 2013 Best Cafe and Coffee Shop at Hotel and Catering Gold Medal Awards. Cafe Noir is an Irish owned company formed in 2008. We offer a classic French Cafe with 100% bespoke products all made in our own kitchens. We provide you with the very best artisanproducts made from ingredients sourced in the communities we operate in. We spend time getting it right, training our staff and this shows
Nenagh, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fast & Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I cant get enough of this place, I am in several times a week for my favourite vanilla latte. They do sugar free syrups which not many places do so its great! The staff are always lovely & chatty too. Their lunch is also amazing, the onion soup is a must for anyone who hasn't tried it, its simply delicious! The atmosphere is always friendly & they have the most gorgeous outdoor seating, this place isn't your average cafe definitely the best coffee shop in Limerick.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeN847, Owner at Cafe Noir, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Jenny M
Thank you for your fabulous review & delighted to see you are a regular customer.
We work hard at providing first class coffee, food & service and its particularly pleasing that as a regular customer you notice the difference.
The French Onion Soup is a signature dish that we specialise in being a French styled Café & the feedback is always wonderful.
You obviously visit our Robert St branch which has a lovely enclosed courtyard at the rear as well as the sun terrace at the front.
I will be sure to pass on your comments to Ellen & the team that their little Café is "the best in Limerick"!!
Best wishes
Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    18
    11
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just don't get it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I have read many excellent reviews of this place as well as great reviews on Georgina Campbell's site, so we were really excited to try this for breakfast on our vacation. An amazing cup of coffee and terrific baked goods were right up our alley for breakfast. Unfortunately we enjoyed neither a great pastry or excellent cup of coffee. The coffee was average at best . We had two scones which were dry and flavorless. The girl at the counter offer to warm them which was nice, but they were only half warm. We let the kids try some other desert type items as we were on vacation. They tried some sort of apple pastry with caramel sauce which looked amazing , but this too was a huge disappointment . They crust was gummy and the apples lacked any kind of seasoning and mushy. Yuck. Despite the many great reviews, I do not recommend Cafe Noir. Perhaps it is a hit and miss experience. For us it was a huge miss.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeN847, Owner at Cafe Noir, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear CJ
Thank you for taking the time to review Café Noir, unfortunately from your review its not clear which outlet you visited but naturally we are always disappointed when our service doesn't meet customer expectations.
You are correct in saying that we have many great reviews on here & as well as being recommended highly by all the major food guides.
You will also have noted that our coffee in particular has come in for high praise so I'm a little surprised that you rate it average at best.
Our scones are baked fresh each night to ensure they are as fresh as possible & its a standard practice in all our Cafes that the server would offer to toast them as many of our customers like them that way.
Our pastries too are made fresh each day by our in-house team of pastry chefs.
However, I take on board all your comments as this is how we continually improve our product & service and we will discuss at our weekly review.
Best wishes
Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cafe Noir, Castletroy, Limerick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

If you are looking to find the best latte in Limerick this is the place to visit. Busy atmosphere, friendly staff and free parking. The food is amazing, always fresh, very tasty and reasonably priced. I would highly recommend this cafe to out of town visitors and indeed anyone living in Limerick that hasn't had the chance to dine there. If you love coffee this is most definitely the place for you. Free wi-fi is also available and it is situated right next door to a Travel Lodge. It opens early each morning 7.30 I think so Perfect really for any early risers. Def worth a visit !!!! :)

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeN847, Manager at Cafe Noir, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear EIDo14
Thank you for your kind review.
Being situated out of town, parking is very important so our customers tend to use us as a meeting point.
We are thankfully very busy from 7.30am in the morning to facilitate breakfast from the hotel next door right through to 9pm for evening diners.
Please try our dinner menu sometime, we have a new menu launching in a week or two.
Best wishes
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“BEST Burger in Limerick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Just in Cafe Noir Castletroy, had the most amazing burger, chip & salad for €11.50! Burger was clearly homemade, beautiful fresh salad with balsamic dressing. Very friendly staff too.. Will spread the word & return soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeN847, Manager at Cafe Noir, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Leonora Q
The Chef is very pleased that you noticed his burgers were homemade. We take great pride in the freshness of our food & we are always delighted when our customers compliment our quality.
Our staff are smiling with all the positive comments.
Thank you & hope to see you soon.
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleconnell, Ireland
1 review
“cafe noir,castletroy limerick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

i visit cafe with my family for a dinner.i was nicely supriced how helpful and friendly staff was.we got excelent food for great price i can say best place to eat in limerick.well done

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeN847, Manager at Cafe Noir, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Thony2
Delighted to see you enjoyed your visit to Café Noir with your family recently & the food and service exceeded expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best wishes
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Noir also viewed

 
Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 

Been to Cafe Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Noir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.