We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the place i was married” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. John's Cathedral

St. John's Cathedral
Cathedral Place, Limerick, Ireland
353-61-414624
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 55 Attractions in Limerick
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
dublin
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“the place i was married”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

this church is very very big and beautifull it is worth a visit when you visit limerick it has lots and lots of history

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“I love st johns cathedral as I am local to the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

What i like about it is that it is such a beautiful church i had my christening communion and confirmation in this church. The priests and staff are really nice too. I know this as i know them personally. I hope anyone visiting this church thinks the same as I do.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best building Limerick has to offer - St. John's Cathedral”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

A must see for any visitors to Limerick, this Cathedral in the heart of city was built in Built in 1861 and is a Testimonial to just how good our fore fathers where at building. The cathedral has the tallest spire in Ireland and is worth a visit for that alone. Once you enter the cathedral look up at the woodwork on the original ceiling, it's breath taking and will fulfill you with wonderment!

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

This beautiful midieval cathederal will hopefully find the resources to renovate the church but it is wonderful to visit as it is. It is almost like you can feel the people from centuries past passing through the church making sure it is in good hands. It is amazing and check out the 18th century pipe organ. Amazing. Worth the trip. Visit in morning or afternoon on a warm day as the church gives a wonderful coolness inside.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

A most impressive structure with huge high ceilings and the most beautiful decor and painting. A very calm feeling comes over you even though the church itself is really large. A lovely place to sing!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. John's Cathedral also viewed

Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 

Been to St. John's Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. John's Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.