We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woodfield House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Woodfield House Hotel to your Saves list
Woodfield House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodfield House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 23 hotels in Limerick
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect, great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed here for the weekend on a voucher deal, great value. Paid 88 euro for 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast. Was apprehensive but with such a good deal we really didn't expect much. We were, however, delighted with our stay. The hotel appears to be more of a pub with rooms upstairs. Upon entry we were checked in straight away and given a lovely room towards the end of the corridor. Bright spacious room with single and double bed, tea and coffee making facilities, TV, nice bathroom, everything you could need for your short stay. We stayed in the hotel bar that night for drinks and dinner - main course only but substantial. Friendly staff. It's only a 15 minute stroll into Limerick city. Not so much to see in the city centre, the Milk Market is worth a visit, go early though as we only got there about 3pm and it was closing up. Breakfast was perfect, served in a side dining room. Reception staff were lovely as was the girl who served breakfast. All in all I would recommend this hotel for any business/fun you have in Limerick especially if you can get a deal. Bar very popular with locals and it was full both nights were were there. Also Thomond Park is withing walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    13
    6
    10
    11
See reviews for
11
24
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

It is certainly no Ritz hotel, but it was exactly what we wanted.
A great slice of Irish life with nightly singalongs in the pub downstairs, wonderful Irish craic.....the sound of a myriad Irish voices, discussing rugby, hurling and other important issues.
Along with this, fantastic food, great value rooms and good service.
We made great friends with locals we met in the pub, who took us to the hurling at the Gaelic grounds just down the road.
Memorable, hard for the kids and I to leave.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stumbled on this place by accident as we were booked into another B&B but they never answered the door or door bell when we arrived to check in so we wandered down the road to the Woodfield House Hotel. They couldnt be more accommodating - food is awesome, staff fantastic and facilities are great!!
Thoroughly recommend this place u will love it!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed here on a Groupon offer which was exceptional value.We had a lovely meal included in price while watching Euro match.Food was excellent,staff were extremely friendly and welcoming and bar was lively.The bedroom was comfortable and we appreciated the tea making facilities.Breakfast was delicious with very personal service.We would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to returning...can't imagine anybody being disappointed with this service and value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed here for one night as we had gotton a special deal. Although the decor was old fashioned the room was lovely and clean and had everything you would need. We ate in the bar and the food was great, portions were huge and it was great value.The service is what sets this place apart from others as it is excellent- nothing was too much trouble for any member of staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed at Woodfield for two weeks this summer and had a great experience. The hotel is a very nice place to stay and I would recommend. The staff are all very friendly and sociable, and you get to know them pretty easily if youre there for a few nights. Met the owners while I was there, and they are very kind people. The pub is full of locals in the area who are pretty cool to get to know. The food was really good and fresh as well. Of course the hotel is older and no 5 star gloss and shine, but the older style is part of the charm and the rooms are all very clean and cute. Good location as well, very close walk to the city. If I come back to the city, I will definitely stay here again! again, would recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed here for one night. Like previous reviewer we also got fabulous deal on Grabone site. I loved this hotel. Its like stepping back and enjoying true Irish pre Celtic Tiger hospitality.
Room was spotless clean, tea/coffee making facilities included. The bar was great, very homely with great atmosphere. Packed with locals enjoying few drinks and banter. They mixed well with tourists and visitors. Great pint of Guinness. Staff very friendly. Baskets of hot cocktail sausages and potatoe wedges were handed out early evening. We had meal included in our deal and food was really delicious. Breakfast was cooked to order. Hotel is comfortable walk (in flat shoes!) from centre. I would recommend this hotel, not if your looking for modern/ marble/ glass. But if you want clean comfortable friendly place to stay you wont go wrong!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Woodfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodfield House Hotel

Address: Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 hotels in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodfield House Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodfield House Hotel old style family run traditional hotel ideally located within strolling distance of Limerick city centre, Georgian streets, lovely quays, along the Shannon and King John's Castle, St. Mary's Cathedral and The Hunt Museum. Complete your evening in our bistro, where fine cuisine and attentive service create a special dinning experience. Our Landsdowne Bar offers a welcoming retreat for both locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Budget Places, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Tingo so you can book your Woodfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodfield Hotel Limerick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodfield House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.