We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay will do so again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenhills Conference and Leisure Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Greenhills Conference and Leisure Hotel to your Saves list
Greenhills Conference and Leisure Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Limerick
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent stay will do so again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed with friends when visiting Thomand Park for the rugby.

Hotel is 15 minute dander to the ground which is ideal but is a fair distance walk into town.

Room was clean and bed very comfortable only issue was the temperature tap in the shower didn't work but as the shower was hot it didn't matter!

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful but when asking to book a taxi however they did seem a little put out by the request. I have seen other reviews mention this so there must be some other secret way of booking taxis in Limerick!

Breakfast in the hotel was excellent and very tasty and the waitresses were fantastic very attentive and bubbly especially for early morning.

Very good price, nice staff will stay again! Good show!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    70
    29
    12
    14
See reviews for
55
51
6
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dolgellau
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed for one night while over for the marathon. On first impressions the hotel was quite pleasant and the room of reasonable size, clean and tidy. The hotel is quite far out of the city center with little around it apart from a large Tesco at the next exit.

Having dined in the bar and really enjoyed the Hawaiian Burger - excellent burger with good thick chips and recommended - we retired early after a long day and with an early start ahead of us. Shortly after, the guests in the room next door returned and talked and laughed in very loud voices for the next hour or so. This was quite intrusive, but the noise when the toilet was used was loud enough to wake us up - we thought they were in our room!

We managed to sleep by using earplugs (having learned never to travel without them) but it was not what we expected from a hotel of this standard.

The final issue came while trying to leave at 5:45 the next morning - all the doors were locked, reception was unmanned and calling the number advised on the desk elicited no response. Finally we tracked down the night porter setting up the restaurant for breakfast and he very grudgingly and grumpily came to reception to unlock the door and let us out.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed here for one night and found it overpriced for what it was. Our rate did not include breakfast and although the room was fairly comfortable it was also a bit wear-worn. The hotel is also out of town and you can find much better deals in the city centre for a nicer room, in my opinion. The lady who greeted us at reception was very pleasant and friendly though unfortunately, the customer care went downhill from there. We entered the bar and enquired with one of the bartenders if they were going to be showing a particular match. He was extremely unhelpful replying that he didn't know and the encounter ended there. Another staff member eventually turned on the game for us but we left the bar area shortly after due to a gaggle of noisy children running around the place unchecked. Fortunately, we could watch the game on the tv in our room. Later, we rang reception to ask if a taxi could be called for us as we wanted to venture into the city for a drink (there is nowhere nearby). The 'gent' at reception seemed incredibly put out to have to perform such a task and was similarly grumpy when we arrived to reception for our taxi. Upon returning, we enquired politely if the residents bar was still open. The same man informed us that it wasn't (even though there were two or three men in the bar already drinking) but that we could take some drinks to the room. We were happy to take the drinks to our room though the man was extremely rude and unpleasant throughout the whole transaction. We had a comfortable enough nights sleep. Upon checkout the receptionist, who was not unpleasant, seemed distracted and disinterested and did not enquire as to how our stay was. The free car park was quite good. However, if you're looking for a night out be aware that it costs about 10euro for a taxi into the city centre (and a bit extra on the way home). I personally, will not be returning to the Greenhills.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

just came back from Easter break at the hotel, we are very happy, very friendly hotel, great food, room very clean, the bathroom was very clean and large with plenty of bath towels, the staff very nice, sure we get back!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This was recommended to us by a tourist office in tralee, we were told it wss an easy walk into town and would be comefortable enough for one night. When we arrived it turned out we were a taxi ride out of town, not the end of the world but it would have meant for the same total cost we could have had a very nice room right in the centre.

In general the public areas around the hotel were nice enough although some bits did look a little tired.

When we got to the room it had a slightly smokey smell and was not particularly clean. We slso found that the bath tap had been leaking, probably for months and had left a green limescale deposit, there were also hairs around the bath. To give the hotel credit when we complained we were quickly moved to a different room however it was a shame that we were given the first room at all; the hotel was not full and we cant have been the first ones to notice the bath.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

After requesting the usual triple room, we were pleasantly surprised to get one of the huge Deluxe rooms, resulting in having 2 full-size double beds along with a double sofa bed. The room was in a quiet area of the hotel and even though a dinner dance was in full swing in the function suite, not a sound was heard. The service in both the bar and restaurant was very pleasant & friendly, with the breakfast being very reasonably priced. The location was perfect both access to the main roads and the stadium and overall, represented excellent value for money.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms from 175 upwards are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stopped here for a night to break up a journey. This is a real old style hotel, nothing fancy in appearance. Had a pool which we always look for with a 6 year old.
the reason i have given it a top rating is for the quality of service. nothing forced, it just felt will we were genuinely welcomed to the hotel by people who enjoyed working there and took pride in their work.

Well done to all.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Greenhills Conference and Leisure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenhills Conference and Leisure Hotel

Address: Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Greenhills Conference and Leisure Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Greenhills Conference and Leisure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Hills Hotel
Hotel Greenhills Conference And Leisure

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenhills Conference and Leisure Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.