We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Night Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greenhills Conference and Leisure Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Greenhills Conference and Leisure Hotel to your Saves list
Greenhills Conference and Leisure Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Limerick
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Two Night Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

First time back since a wedding 35 years ago - Given the new competition and recession etc, I am pleased to report this is a very comfortable and clean hotel with a sociable bar. Friendly and helpful staff - pool and fitness centre very good, but best of all ... Breakfast, 10 out 10 :)
Friendly waitress service - proper sausages (not spicy Cumberland rubbish) with all the trimmings freshly cooked and loafs of fresh baked soda bread waiting to be consumed at the self service counter. Excellent value - can't wait to return.

Well done Greenhill's, keep on going ...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    70
    29
    12
    14
See reviews for
55
51
6
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here at the June bank holiday weekend to participate in the Gathering's Limerick Sings Choral festival. We have travelled a lot as a choir (20 of us)and are used to a lengthy procedure on checking in and encountering various problems along the way. I can honestly say that didn't happen at all here.
When we arrived, Pauline had our room keys all ready in envelopes for us-total time 3 minutes.Tickets were bought to facilitate dinner and we all relaxed over a leisurely lunch.Lots of room and friendly staff who couldn't do enough for us.we felt they were glad to have us stay (which can sometimes be the opposite)
Dinner was good with a few choices and I had requested a vegetarian choice which was really nice-brought forward to facilitate our performance.breakfast was really good with lots of extra choices.
I sampled the leisure complex twice and enjoyed a swim in the pool-not for serious swimmers but fine for kids and a bit of a wallow(its quite shallow down one end)all spotlessly clean.

Lots of parking and a lovely paved/planted area at the back.
Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had ground floor which was very handy-good security measure too where you must use room key to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

On arriving at this hotel we were impressed with the ample car park spaces. When we got to reception there was a confirmation party on and guests were taking photos in the reception area. We did not mind this at all and the VERY friendly lady (the brown haired woman...longish) apologised for keeping us waiting. This receptionist gave us a very warm welcome with details about the hotel and as we are a young couple said that if we wanted to head down town later she would give us the number for a local taxi man and also would provide us with the name of some places that were good to go out in. When we returned later she kept her promise and told us about all Limerick has to offer! We went up to the room which we were impressed with it was nice and clean and had a nice view of the garden area!
We went down to the bar where we had some lunch. The majority of the bar staff are friendly however one of the waiters serving the food just threw the food in front of customers (we watched him serve a number of tables) we thought that perhaps he is the exception to the "friendly hotel rule".
After lunch we went to the leisure centre. There was a girl working at the desk and she was very friendly and helpful! She was interacting with people in the gym and overall created a really nice friendly atmosphere! You could see that she had also taken the time to get to know the locals that are regulars in the gym as she was happily chatting away to them! She is also very attentive as she saw that I had long hair and gave me an extra towel! On the Sunday she was cleaning the place good-o and overall the facilities were very clean! We used the leisure centre on the Sunday as well however it was not such as pleasant experience. We nearly choked on the fumes from the Jacuzzi as extra chlorine had been added. Anyone that got into it was coughing and rubbing their eyes....although a sign was put up saying cleaning in progress these fumes could not be good for peoples lungs and perhaps should have been off limits?! There was a young man working in the leisure centre on the Sunday, as well as the girl from the previous day and he was just as friendly and helpful... smiling and chatting away!
We ate in the restaurant both nights as the food was fantastic! There is a nice choice on the menu and they offer some good deals! We also had breakfast there which was very tasty and cooked fresh...the only thing was both mornings my boyfriend had to ask for orange juice as it was gone and not replaced (that is just nit picking though). There was one young girl working in the restaurant on both nights and again on Monday morning she was very helpful and to be honest was running the show and doing a great job! We were very impressed with our experience in the restaurant.
We asked early on Sunday if we could organise late check out on Monday morning as we wanted to go to the leisure centre on Monday morning before heading home. There was a woman with blonde hair on reception. To be honest we didn't find her friendly at all. When we asked about late check out we were told the latest would be 12-half 12 as they were very busy with stock arriving. We were disappointed with this as it is the first hotel that has not looked into our request. We would understand if the rooms were fully booked and more guests were checking in but we didn't understand how stock arriving would effect guests. On Monday morning the reception was not busy at all and we had checked out within a matter of minutes. Again the blonde hair receptionist was on the desk...for a "friendly hotel" it would be expected that we would be asked if we enjoyed our stay however we were not asked. However from numerous encounters with the brown haired lady, we feel that if she had of been on the desk our check-out experience would have been different. We did encounter a slight problem with payment, however once I pointed out the mistake on the bill it was sorted very efficiently and quickly.
Overall we had a very enjoyable stay in the Greenhills hotel and would definitely return/ recommend it to other people.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the garden as it looks out at a nice little water feature!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our team stayed at the Greenhills Hotel on Saturday 25th of May. We needed three rooms and prior to arrival we had arranged with the hotel to have an early check in due to our busy scheduled. Upon arrival all three rooms where made available to us without delay. Breakfast was really nice, good selection and great food, with very fast service and friendly staff. We did not have dinner at the hotel due to our business commitments but on return to the hotel late that evening we had no problem getting severed at the bar. We had no problems checking out the following morning and we plan to return to the hotel again the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Just back from a disappointing stay at the Greenhills hotel with my family. Short staffed and it shows. We had a package deal that included breakfast and dinner where upon ordering our evening meals we were told that our children were included in the deal by the bar staff serving us. We asked them to check it as I did not want to be caught out the next day when settling the bill. We were hit in the bill for the childrens dinner and breakfast upon checking out where the reception desk ADMITTED, yes ADMITTED that this has been an on going problem and that the staff were misleading guests but that they just didn't listen to them when they had told them from the front desk not to tell the guests this. Great management there!!!!
Family room stank of cigarettes even though it was a smoke free room seemingly and the leisure centre had one staff member on duty and we spent an hour in the pool on our own with our kids and not once did we see the staff come in and even check if everything was O.K.
Would not recommend this to anyone with kids.

Room Tip: choose the Radisson blu instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I thought the Greenhills was a great place at a great value. I purchased the bed and breakfast price, and it was well worth it. The breakfast was really excellent. I also requested room service from the restaurant one evening, and they were very accommodating and delivered the food hot and within minutes of me ordering it. The rooms were clean and the courtyard adorable. It could probably use a little updating of some older carpet, etc., but again, I thought it was a great value and I enjoyed my stay very much. Oh, and the staff was excellent, too!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent one night in The Greenhills and were very pleased with all aspects of our stay. Car parking is easy in the large surface car park, check in was efficient and friendly. The room was pretty standard for a hotel of this grade but was clean and comfortable. Our check in was followed with a call from reception to check that all was satisfactory and with an offer of complimentary tea or coffee delivered to the room.
Breakfast the next morning was outstanding both in choice and quality and was served by helpful and friendly staff.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greenhills Conference and Leisure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenhills Conference and Leisure Hotel

Address: Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Greenhills Conference and Leisure Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Greenhills Conference and Leisure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Hills Hotel
Hotel Greenhills Conference And Leisure

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenhills Conference and Leisure Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.