We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food, rude staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bambu

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bambu
O Connell Street, Limerick None, Ireland
0035361 401523
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 194 Restaurants in Limerick
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Msida, Malta
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Average food, rude staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The waiter/manager guy was very rude and curt with not only those in our party but also others in the restaurant. The other waitress in the restaurant was friendly but was inexperienced, and passed dishes from one end of the table to the other instead of going to the other side of the table to serve in the first place.

Food very average. Beef very chewy, and very salty (msg one assumes). Selection of deserts poor. Not terribly cheap either.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    45
    15
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“good food, excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We ate at this restaurant on Friday last. The food is fresh, tasty and served promptly. Service is friendly. In particular this restaurant is incredibly good value for money. Basically 'it does what it says on the tin' - good fresh food served in a friendly and prompt manner at good prices. We would definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumbulgum, Australia
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Thai in Limerick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

After having a drink in a wonderful bar in an alleyway, we asked the barman where we could get good Thai food. He suggested Bambu which was close by. From looking at the reviews it appears there is a more popular Thai restaurant in the city centre called Thai Gourmet. The restaurant was busy, friendly, fast however not that traditional. I did enjoy my meal all the same.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Decent casual/quick dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Ate here late one night - a little before closing, staff didnt mind at all and didnt rush us. Food was good - small starters, generous mains and decent deserts. I feel there was a lot of MSG in the mains though but im not sure there are many similar places that dont use it.

Waitress was really friendly, service was prompt. Lots of veggie options on the menu which is a mix of thai and indian food. I had Pad Thai - it was good and they gave me the higher ratio of veg to noodles that i asked for.

Enjoyable, cheap and casual.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Visited on a Sunday evening without reservation, it was fairly full.
Staff seemed a bit on the Not Bothered side but the girl on the cashdesk was friendly, servers didn't ask if our meal was ok or offered any water.
They have a good offer of 3 course for 2 inc Wine for €40, a pretty extensive menu and I would think the Indian Food is probably better , I personally prefer Thai and had the Chicken with cashew but it was way too salty and I'd recommend asking for it minus the MSG unless you like very salty food.
I had the house white wine which wasn't great , just about drinkable.
They also do a take away service which I've also had and is lovely.
The atmosphere is good , tables can be a little close for comfort and having one toilet in the centre of the restaurant isn't great but overall I would recommend

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bambu also viewed

Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
Annacotty, County Limerick
 

Been to Bambu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bambu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.