We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pier Hotel, Limerick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Pier Hotel, Limerick to your Saves list
The Pier Hotel, Limerick
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sarsfield Bridge, Limerick, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Limerick
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Small but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here a weekend getaway with my fiance. . Really easy to find the hotel.. parking is very limited but it is secure. Check in was quick which was great.. got the oue room and was very disappointed with the size of it.. should be more of a closet..
good points.
Room was clean
Had good telly.

Bad points
old mattress
Lack of hot water.
very warm rooms as no street facing window.

Overall
Great location for a cheap stay but I wouldnt stay here for more then 1 night again.
Thw staff were very frindly.
didnt like one member of bar staff who laughed in my face when I asked for a drink ye didnt have and just walked away. Fould this very rude.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    85
    66
    25
    12
See reviews for
26
101
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel stands out for the location and the value. The rooms were fine, but nothing too memorable and a bit on the small side. The bathroom was cramped with no counter space. But, everything was within easy walking distance, and the staff were wonderfully helpful and seemed genuinely interested in our trip and making sure we were comfortable during our stay.

One note: you'll need to insert your room key in the card reader near the door, and leave it there, to get any kind of electrical flow in the room ... that took a while to figure out.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Katarzyna was very helpful checking us in and directing me to the underground parking on the back of the building. This hotel is downtown next to the Shannon river and within walking distance of King John's Castle and other historic sites. Also lots of shopping venues on the streets in this area. We took a hop on hop off tour of the city from the Tourist centre (nearby) and a bus tour from the same place to the Cliffs of Moher. Our room was excellent and the breakfast was superb. Served to your table. The bar next door had excellent pub food and excellent service. We really enjoyed our stay in Limerick.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Spent one night in Limerick on my way back from a deployment in the middle east. The Pier Hotel was in a great location on the river and within walking distance to numerous pubs and clubs. The hotel staff was very accommodating and made every effort to insure our stay was pleasant. The bar connected to the lobby serves an amazing seafood chowder and it is complemented well with the Smithwick's on tap.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed there last Nov as part of a christmas party group...I did write a review then but it didn't go through for some reason.....The staff could not do any more for us...we had the best rooms and a fab meal.....great music and we had a brilliant night......I have no complaints whatsoever...Can't wait to stay in this hotel again.......

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, just ask when you book.....they are very accomodating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I'm just back from a night in Limerick with the girls. If you're going to Limerick on a shopping trip or just a night out with the girls/lads, I would highly recommend The Pier Hotel.

The rooms have no frills but are very clean and very reasonably priced but what brought me back to this hotel again was the service. The staff are just lovely. From the time I booked the room until I checked out it was a pleasure to deal with them!

My next night out in Limerick I will certainly be back to the Pier.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

we stayed at this hotel 10th may,when we checked in we noticed how friendly staff were two females and one male we inquired about things to do and they were so helpfull one of them came out to the door with us to direct us to an area we were looking for later when we came back to park our car a staff member called christine was so nice and helpful also a chineise guy working in the bar was extreamely friendly.room was really clean and cosy and for a hotel in the city you could here no noise from the street even though we were on the first floor we will definately stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pier Hotel, Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pier Hotel, Limerick

Address: Sarsfield Bridge, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Limerick
#8 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pier Hotel, Limerick 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Pier Hotel, Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pier Hotel, Limerick Hotel Limerick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pier Hotel, Limerick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.