We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient hotel in city centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pier Hotel, Limerick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Pier Hotel, Limerick to your Saves list
The Pier Hotel, Limerick
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sarsfield Bridge, Limerick, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Limerick
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very convenient hotel in city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

this is a small, compact hotel right in the centre of Limerick. It suits me fine for overnight business stays. the staff are friendly & efficient. The rooms are compact but very clean & tidy and have all facilities, including free wifi. It is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    71
    62
    20
    8
See reviews for
23
89
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is well worth trying as an alternative to a lot of over priced hotels in Limerick (especially on a rugby weekend). All the staff from the receptionists to the bar staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the car park is a God send. We had requested a river view room but were given a room looking at back walls which I presume were other rooms even though the hotel was not busy. Having said that the room was fine and everywhere in the hotel smelled really fresh and clean (Pery's take note!!). Just the job for a city break if you are not fussy about public space (you have to go into the adjoining lounge bar for a bit of space.

Room Tip: Avoid room 233, lift noise kept us awake all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed as a family of four at this Hotel which is very convenient to Thomond Park Rugby Ground. On arrival we were met by a very friendly receptionist and was given the key to our room. The room was well furnished albeit the bathroom a little dated but it was very clean and presentable. We didn't eat in the restaurant as it was very busy after the match but did use it for breakfast the next day. The breakfast was excellent and the staff very efficient. The hotel is situated on Sarsfield Bridge right on the edge of the main shopping area which has a good number of shops and restaurants etc. Parking is available but we used a nearby multi-storey which offers a reduction in price for residents. I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms 101 is directly above restaurant/bar and is noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I stayed in a triple room with 2 friends for 1 night back in July of this year.

The room was nice, nothing outstanding. Television didn't work but the beds were comfortable.

The shower was not the greatest though. Not much power and the shower gel provided was not that good or soapy.

The food in the bar was very nice and the staff were really lovely.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed here recently and was welcomed by a very friendly receptionist, Christine, who gave us directions to the car park. Our room was fine but in the evening it was cold and we discovered that the heating wasn't working. A different man, who I think was called Andrew, had taken over at reception and he couldn't have been more helpful. We were immediately moved to a bigger room, with two double beds, on a different floor which was lovely and warm and we slept very well. The breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious. Every member of staff we encountered was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The location is perfect, right in the centre of the city. This hotel is under new ownership and is in the process of being upgraded and I noticed that the bathroom in our first room was more modern than the second but both rooms were spotless. We got a very good deal for bed and breakfast and it's great value for money. I would absolutely recommend this hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Having stayed at the Pier Hotel as part of a large group on Saturday night last, we were extremly impressed with the service and value for money we received. The staff were extremely attentive and accommodating, from Casia and Paula at reception to John in the bar and Pamela in the restaurant. All went over and beyond the call of duty to ensure our stay was enjoyable, always pleasant and friendly and professional in all dealings. The hotel was very clean and the rooms were very comfortable. Location is incredibly central and ideal for easy access to the city. The food at both dinner and breakfast was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. We couldnt reccomend the Pier Hotel enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had never been to Limerick so our family booked in to this hotel, based on its central location, for two nights. The room we booked in was very clean, quiet and staff extremely friendly and helpful. The location was perfect excellent for strolls along the Shannon river and minutes to shopping, restaurants and touristy places like King John Castle and Hunt museum. We were extremely happy here, including our kids, that we stayed here for the entire week in Limerick. When we left the city on a day trip the rental car was conveniently located under the hotel, otherwise when we stayed in the city we walked everywhere. We ate here every morning the full Irish breakfast and the kids loved it that we were only a couple minutes walk from their idea of fine Canadian meals including McDonalds, Burger King and pizza.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pier Hotel, Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pier Hotel, Limerick

Address: Sarsfield Bridge, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pier Hotel, Limerick 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Pier Hotel, Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pier Hotel, Limerick Hotel Limerick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pier Hotel, Limerick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.