We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first time viewing steeplechase” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Limerick Racecourse

Limerick Racecourse
Greenmount Park | Patrickswell, Limerick, Ireland
+353 61 320000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 55 Attractions in Limerick
Type: Horse Tracks, Casinos & Gaming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 18 days of racing each year a mixture of weekend, evening and bank holiday fixtures of both flat and national hunt (jump) racing. Located on the M20 just outside Limerick city with free car parking and public transport options available on racedays. A range of catering and bar facilities to include reserved restaurant, private suites or range of seasonal packages to enjoy with group rates available. Annual race meetings include Family fun days, ladies day, 4 day Christmas racing festival and Twilight Racing during the summer with live bands after racing. Admission prices for adults approx €15 per person with concessions for seniors / students, under 16 years have free admission.
Pennsylvania, USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“My first time viewing steeplechase”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The grandstands of this racecourse are rather small compared to the racecourses in the U.S. that I have visited. Which is not surprising given the relatively small market of potential attendees (Limerick is not a very large city). I have never visited a racecourse in the UK, so this was a new experience for me (steeplechase, races run clockwise). Most surprising to me was the length of the races (2 and 3 miles) and the apparent age of the jockeys (looked much older than U.S. jockeys). I certainly was impressed with the jockey's skill, needing to jump over so many barriers without falling off - only saw 1 rider fall off. My impression was that these types of races are tests of endurance, not speed. The only "racing" done was a sprint after the final barrier and the finish line. By then all the horses were very tired and there were only a couple of horses with any energy left to engage in the sprint. (UK race fans - go ahead and shoot arrows at me for my novice lack of insight into the intricacies of this type of racing :-). A tip for any U.S. residents that will visit this track: take enough Euros with you because there are no ATM machines at this track. You can, however, ask for "cash back" from the restaurant if you purchase something. I'm not sure I would venture to another UK track if the opportunity arises. I guess I am spoiled with the "speed" racing that characterizes U.S. horse races.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerickracecourse, Manager at Limerick Racecourse, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hi Abonda,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your trip to Limerick Racecourse. We host 4 flat race meetings per year here at Limerick Racecourse and 14 National Hunt meetings and by far we find that the NH meetings always attract a larger audience. Thank you for your comments which were interesting to read and I hope to get to visit some US tracks in the future - Many thanks Amy Limerick Races
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    32
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great day out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Having travelled to most racecourses in this country I have to say Limerick Racecourse is a pleasure to go to. From the easy accessible parking to the excellent facilities. The whole place is very well laid out for both the die hard racing fan or the person looking for a good day out. Last Sunday (7th July) was a pleasure to be there with something for everyone. I brought some new members of a syndicate down for their 1st visit and they were so impressed with how clean, well run and well laid out it all was. The food was a good standard and very affordable (which makes a nice change!) . The horse not have run well but an enjoyable day was had by all.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerickracecourse, Manager at Limerick Racecourse, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hi JenOBrien,

Many thanks for writing a review of your trip to Limerick Racecourse. It is great to receive such nice feedback and looking forward to welcoming you to the races again in the future. Kind regards Amy Limerick Races
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Racecourse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We attended Limerick Racescourse on the 7th July American Independence Day and will definetly be going back there again. It is easy to get to, plenty of parking space and the staff are friendly and helpfull. The Stand and the view of the whole course is fantastic, bar and eating facilities also good. There was entertainment for the children and excellent musicans playing in the sunshine. The Parade Ring looked exceptionally good in the beautiful sunshine. We had a brilliant time and even won some money. Well Done Limerick and keep up the good work.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerickracecourse, Manager at Limerick Racecourse, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hi galwaygirl843,

Thank you for writing a review of your trip to Limerick Racecourse, it is great to receive such positive feedback. We aim to provide children's entertainment on the majority of race meetings and the new childrens playground is such an added bonus to the facilities here. 7th July was definitely the hottest race day this year and it was good to see so many people enjoying the music, the racing and the sunshine! Hope to welcome you back to Limerick Racecourse again soon, Kind regards Amy - Limerick Racecourse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Family Fun in the Sun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We attended the Family Race day on the 7th July celebrating American Independence weekend. Amazed at the value of a family ticket with a meal at the Woodland restaurant for 50 euro. Excellent food and very friendly service at the restaurant but was pleasantly surprised that all the kids activities in the grounds were FREE!! Lots for kids to do with bouncy castles, play bus, go karting...9 & 10 year old really enjoyed themselves. (Weather helped... sun splitting the rocks) Great days racing too for us novices, who were helped in placing good value bets by the tote staff. Wonderful day out...we'll definitely be back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerickracecourse, Manager at Limerick Racecourse, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi Tipp Tatler, many thanks for your review of Limerick Racecourse. Delighted that you enjoyed your day at the races on Sunday last. The Woodlands Carvery is extremely popular with our race goers and I will pass your compliments onto the team. We aim to provide an enjoyable family day at great prices and we look forward to welcoming you back to the races again soon.

Many thanks again
Amy - Limerick Races
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dovercourt
1 review
“american raceday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was my second visit to greenmount park and had a great day out ,we took a couple of friends who had never been racing before and both were impressed with the layout and facilities , will certainly be going again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerickracecourse, Manager at Limerick Racecourse, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi Ramon O,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your experience at Limerick Racecourse. It is great to get such positive feedback on our facilities. Great racing and great weather helped to create the perfect mix. The Jazz band on the lawn also created a buzz. Look forward to welcoming you back to Limerick Racecourse soon.

Many thanks

Amy - Limerick Races
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Limerick Racecourse also viewed

Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 

Been to Limerick Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Limerick Racecourse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.