We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Georgian elegance - Irish welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie One

Brasserie One
The Georgian Quarter | Pery Square, Limerick 00000, Ireland
0035361402402
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 216 Restaurants in Limerick
Price range: $18 - $57
Cuisines: French, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Brasserie One is true classic Irish brasserie with strong French influences and the use of Irish artisan produce where possible. We have a special 2 Nights Wine & Dine Escape. Enjoy 2 nights B&B, seasonal a la carte dinner in Brasserie One on one night,a bottle of wine to the value of €30.00, full access to the thermal suite. Package also includes tea & scones on arrival and car parking. A selection of sample dinner menus can be viewed on our website. From €169.00 per person for two nights.
Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Georgian elegance - Irish welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I had an excellent lunch here a few weeks back with a friend. Small glitch on the order but they staff more than made up for it - including an improptu mini birthday cake for friend. Charming service, excellent food and all in one of Limerick's most elegant squares. Have also had dinner here - but delighted with choice and quality of lunch there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Food1wine, General Manager at Brasserie One, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for you lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Limericks historic Georgian quarter. Summer menu starts next Wednesday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    16
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Pity about the extras”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Went to dinner here this week and went for the set menu at 29€ pp. very disappointed to see that 2 of the 6 choices had an extra charge of 5 or 7 € applied. Either the choice is on at the set price or it is not. All veg were also extra. House wine was available in a carafe of 500 mls which is less than the usual bottle size of 750 mls. the restaurant was busy and the dining room is lovely. The staff were excellent and the service was great. My only complaint is you either have a set menu inclusive price or you don't. When you add on veg and the surcharge the meal becomes expensive and that's before you add on the wine. The ambience was lovely and we did have a good night and a good meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Food1wine, Owner at Brasserie One, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback & glad you enjoyed dinner. We provide accompaniments with most dishes but extras are optional. I appreciate your comments on the supplements , 3 of the mains don't carry any supplements but others do to give guests the opportunity to choose from a wider variety of a la carte dishes. All our dishes on the set menu are from our a la carte menu and we feel 3 courses for €29 is of value and hope you do too. Hope to see you soon and thank you again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungarvan, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Lovely decor, great ambience, we went for the value menu. We had The three way beetroot for starter, we both had the steak for main (€7 Supplement) well worth it hugh portion of steak cooked to perfection, we had the carafe of Chardonay with the meal, have to say it was a great meal, not cheap as pointed out in previous posts, but worth it for a special occasion! My husband had a french coffee and said it was the best one he had ever tasted!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Food1wine, Owner at Brasserie One, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Glad you enjoyed dinner so much, hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

25 euro for three courses - really hitting the bar on presentation and taste. Fabulous! Breakfast next morning equally high standard - really makes you feel special. They do brunches too - will deffo go back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Food1wine, Owner at Brasserie One, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for acknowledging the value we offer and look forward to welcoming you back for our summer menu very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Dined here on a Tuesday. Restaurant was fairly quiet with just a dozen or so diners between 8 and 9. The "Winter Menu" option offered "2 courses for €25 or 3 courses for €29 but that was without vegetables (€3.50 extra). In addition there was a supplement on most of the mains of at least €5.

For starters we had one "beet root 3 ways salad" and one roast parsnip soup. The soup was ok but somewhat indifferent, the salad similar but with too much lettuce. My wife had Coq au vin for main which was good although the chicken appeared to have been added at a very late stage of preparation. I had baked cod on crushed potato (€5 supplement). The portion of cod was tiny, less than 3" square, and the bed of crushed potato was almost cold. When I complained a portion of mashed potato was brought to the table but not before I had eaten the small portion of fish. (In fairness the supplement was waived when the bill came).

Neither of us were sufficiently impressed with the starters or mains to bother with desert.

Not likely to return.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Food1wine, Owner at Brasserie One, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
I am sorry to read of your disappointment, the beet & cheese has been a big hit so I am sorry to hear it wasn't for you. Thank you for your comments on the main, delighted your wife enjoyed the chicken and you the fish despite your comments on the size. I do hope you will consider returning and give us the opportunity to look after you both. Feedback is important so thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie One also viewed

Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 

Been to Brasserie One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.