We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and cute” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trebor B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Limerick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trebor B&B
Save
You added Trebor B&B to your Saves list
Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 33 Limerick B&B and Inns
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Welcoming and cute”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Jim and his wife were so welcoming and nice. Such a cute couple that have been long-married but still seem to adore each other.... a good example to my new husband and myself. They ensured we had everything we needed, and suggested a few areas to go....even gave their phone number in case we got lost walking around town :) The walk to town was easy and quick. And breakfast was amazing! Thank you!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Schoten, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had a very nice stay in Limerick.The hosts were very friendly and helpfull. It was an easy walk of 15 minutes to the town center.Jim gave us very good information to look after a tyre center, because we had a flat tyre during our stay.All the guests were sitting at one table to have breakfast, just like one big family. Jim loved to serve us in butlery style.
Luc en Kristin

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Jim introduced himself and we found him to be informative and entertaining. Would not hesitate to return. Close to city easy to walk to places.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishing I was there
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

This is a house, so stairs and rooms not designed for baggage, having said that we managed. The McSweeneys were most welcoming and helpful about what to see in Limerick, and its an easy 15 minutes walk into town. The only small downside was that the bathroom was tiny. A good comfortable and friendly place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We stayed our last night (Sept 12, 2011) in Ireland at Trebor. The room was small but beautifully decorated and it was not too far to walk into town. They were helpful with information; Mrs McSweeny was especially kind. We asked her if there was a common room or lounge for us to make a simple sandwich (ham on a bun) and she showed us the lounge. I said we would be careful not to make a mess and she agreed. We walked into town and got what we needed, came back and the lounge door was locked. My husband knocked on their door; Mr McSweeny came out and told us we were not allowed in there....and who do we think we are eating in there, and that it is unacceptable etc... basically scolding us (my husband and I are decent people in our early 50s). Then we were told to do "that" in our room. It was raining with no shelter outside, so that is what we did. There was no table or chair in the room; we turned a drawer upside down on the bed for our table and used a towel as our table cloth, so not to make a mess on the bed or spill our drink. We skipped breakfast........couldn't imagine Mr McSweeny serving us after being so rude and unwelcoming the evening before. Overall it would have been a nice place to stay, but unfortunately Mr McSweeny's grumpy mood ruined it for us.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Easy walk into city center, great recommendations for dinner. The house and gardens were beautiful and the proprietors were very welcoming and a wealth of knowledge and interesting stories about Irish history and culture.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed at Trebor B&B (1 night) in late July, 2011. It is a townhouse style B&B (tall and narrow; 2 floors). Bedrooms are on the second floor.

Pros: This is an AMAZINGLY BEAUTIFUL townhouse. It is intimate and elegant, with high ceilings, welcoming gardens, a lovely entrance foyer and sitting areas, beautiful grounds and a private, off-street car park for guests. Rooms are decorated tastefully with white painted wood accents. The lovely breakfast was large; we were seated all at one table with other guests, but served individually. Best of all, the breakfast table overlooked the back gardens which made for an enchanting experience. Trebor was close to town, and we got a great recommendation for dinner at a local pub from our host, Jim, who has a dry sense of humor and was just charming! (I had my favorite of all my meals in Ireland at the Locke House.) Even on a main street, Trebor was very quiet; we never heard a peep from other guests, so we thought we were alone 'til we showed up for breakfast (two other couples). Our small, elegant room had a nice, clean ensuite bath with good pressure, though it took me a minute to figure out how to turn on the shower. Tip: be sure to ask for the internet password before leaving for the evening, as it's not in the B&B guide.

Cons: N/A in our case. But, since others will be reading this review, some considerations: our bedroom was very small – a double bed and a twin were in there, leaving only enough room for one person at a time to walk around the beds. (Since we don't carry much luggage, this was not an issue for us, but more than a twosome would be tough.) Older guests may find the rather steep stairs up to the bedrooms hard to manage. We didn’t find a hair dryer in the room, but also I didn’t ask for one as I didn't need one that day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trebor B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trebor B&B

Address: Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Limerick
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trebor B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.