We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“appalling.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fables Restaurant at The Unicorn

Fables Restaurant at The Unicorn
St Nessans Road, Limerick, Ireland
+353 61227405
Improve this listing
Ranked #145 of 216 Restaurants in Limerick
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“appalling.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had chicken and it was raw, the presentation is just disgraceful, it was I have to say , SLOP. The children's menu was the usual chicken nuggets and sausages , not good at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    1
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent value, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This friendly restaurant had a really good variety of dishes, lovely food, excellent attentive staff and was great value for money. They had great special offers.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Food almost inedible.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Food mediocre and cold. Cutlery dirty. Service unfriendly. Would not return for free.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theunicornpub, Manager at Fables Restaurant at The Unicorn, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
We are very sorry to hear of your bad experience. This is not the service we endeavor to provide to our customers. Thank you for your feedback, this helps us in improving our service, that our customers receive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great food & Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Really enjoyed our meal at Fables restaurant in the Unicorn in Dooradoyle. We eat there a few times a year and find the food to be exceptional and very reasonably priced. The waitress who is there more often than not is really friendly and adds to the relaxed atmosphere. One other major plus is that you can bring your own wine and there is no corkage. Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theunicornpub, Manager at Fables Restaurant at The Unicorn, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
We are delighted you enjoyed your visit with us at Fables restaurant. Thank you for your custom and for taking the time to give us feedback. It is greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Delighted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012 via mobile

Had a family christening here two weeks ago.food was delicious and service second to none.Lovely choices on menu and although we were a large group everything was fresh tasty and piping hot. Kids were delighted with their dinners too.would highly recommend.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theunicornpub, Manager at Fables Restaurant at The Unicorn, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for choosing our venue for your special occasion. We are delighted you enjoyed your day and the service. Thank you for your feedback it is greatly appreciated and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fables Restaurant at The Unicorn also viewed

 
Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 

Been to Fables Restaurant at The Unicorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fables Restaurant at The Unicorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.