We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return for definite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Oriens

Sol Oriens
Heritage Hotel | Killenard, Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 60 Restaurants in County Laois
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Will return for definite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We ate here over the weekend. It needs to be booked in advance as we have tried to eat here before and it was fully booked. We booked in advance this time and we were delighted with the food, ambience, restaurant and staff. It was a really pleasant experience. We were promptly shown to our table. The joint starter of bruschetta was really tasty and fresh and not soggy. Just right.
The mains were: pizza and cannelloni. Both really yum. Again we both polished off our plates. Best Italian food I've had in Ireland in a long time.
The only thing I don't like is that we had about 4 different waiting staff attend to us on the night and we were asked the same questions a few times by different staff. I would prefer to have a designated waiter/waitress for the table rather than the whole waiting staff coming at various stages.
We will return. As it was previously totally booked out this was our first time to eat sitting in the restaurant. But we have got take away from here in the past when we stayed in a house nearby. Take away was great too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    16
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Relaxing evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Enjoyed an excellent meal here last night. Service excellent- staff friendly efficient and helpful -atmosphere and decor delightful.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“AH-mazing Italian in Ireland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

The BEST pizza and bruschetta
I've ever had! The atmosphere and interior are also amazing and our hockey-fan waiter, Lukas, was the BEST!

Can't wait to go back on our next trip to Ireland.

Go Bruins.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Brendan byrne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

One of the best restaurants I have ever been in for both, food and atmosphere. The staff are excellent and the price is very reasonable for the quality of food you get . Cannot fault restaurant in any way

Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“An excellent choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Came here as part of a package with a nearby hotel. The waiter was extremely helpful explaining the menu. Service was quick and efficient and the food excellent. An error was made with our order that took a little bit to correct and the waiter could not have been more apologetic or helpful in rectifying. I would come here again - always a good sign.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sol Oriens also viewed

Portarlington, County Laois
Killenard, County Laois
 
Portlaoise, County Laois
 

Been to Sol Oriens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Oriens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.