We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Excellent Food and Starched White Linens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zuni

Zuni
26 Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
0567723999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 146 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Service, Excellent Food and Starched White Linens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We ate at Zuni following a disasterous dinner the night before at La Perla at the Lyrath Estate (important to note that Lyrath management did a stellar job in listening and taking care of us following our experience at La Perla) Zuni was a first class experience, well run and dinner was well executed. You must try the "chicken salad" apetizer, like nothing else. If you're from the states, forget your notion of "chicken salad" this is not the same. This starter is tender pieces of grilled chicken cooked in a light, sweet, chili sauce, outstanding! The duck was recommended by our waiter and it did not disappoint, crispy, lean and tender with excellent seasoning. The restaurant has a sophisticated feel, great for a romantic dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    121
    26
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fresh, local ingredients impeccably cooked”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is definitely one of the best meals I have had in a long while and I am a frequent restaurant goer in London. The food was perfectly prepared & presented and the incredible freshness & quality of the ingredients was apparent from the first mouthful. The provenance of the meat, fish & cheese is listed at the bottom of the menu and could not be more local. The staff were all excellent from the barman with his cheerful welcome through the helpful, informed, professional yet friendly waiters to the chefs who can be seen in the semi open kitchen. The decor is simple but effective and the ambience great - a busy, buzz but without being able to eavesdrop on neighbouring tables. I would be tempted to visit Kilkenny again simple to eat here!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great dining experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Had a meal here last night. First time here and the food and service were fantastic. The waiters were very attentive and brought my wife a warm blanket as the evening grew colder.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Return Visit. Second Year Running”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I returned to this Restuarant for the second year. I had a holiday in Ireland last year and returned for a second year. Visited Zuni and it was as good as the previous year. Excellent quisine and the usual friendly staff. No doubt I will go again next year.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Service was impeccable, food lovely & well done. I would certainly dine here again. We enjoyed the early dinner but do suggest reservations as they seem to get quite busy. A hidden gem.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zuni also viewed

Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to Zuni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zuni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.